We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballibrad

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shirt-G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute tranquility”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a gorgeous cottage in a beautiful tranquil location. The peace and quiet is second to none and the facilities in the cottage offer everything you could need. The view from the gable end is spectacular no matter what the weather and the whole area is a joy to visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Chris...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so relaxing, trouble to get going”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

when weather bad make sure you have a good book. TV signal not the best but they is a dvd player. The surrounding area is worth taking a look at.
Ballllibrad itself is lovely the layout is good loads of room,everything you need is there the basic but there. we just really enjoyed the peace and quiet, watching the wild life and walking the hills. The road to the barn is a bit uneven but ok with us as our car is 4x4 and could handle it . our dogs just love it running all over the place, a few ticks but soon sorted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: not having signal at time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika R
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highland taste”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Negative: The farm track is a little annoying between gates to open and close and mud, but we could easily drive with a small car. It is also hard to heat if you are no experienced with stoves. The mattress was not very comfortable and there are no curtains to stop the first lights in the morning above your bed.

Positive: The house is really nice, rebuilt in a old stone house, with large spaces, big kitchen and a lot of windows. It is the only one in the middle of a glen, and you could feel like everything is yours. It is wonderful to wake up and see a breathless view from your bed through the big window. It is also in a good position to reach Campletown, Tarbert, Kennacraig for the ferries, Oban. The sky at night is amazing if no clouds. We really appreciated this stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyson66
2 reviews
“Excellent rural relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We enjoyed our week here. The weather was very kind to us. The track up to Ballibrad is a touch rough but it is only a farm track the walk down to the village is lovely only ten minutes and yet when at the barn it felt that there was nothing for miles. Had a couple of nice meals at the Kilmartin hotel which is also dog friendly. We loved watching the bats at dusk. If you like rural with just a ten minute walk to village I would highly recommend Ballibrad we will certainly return. Thank you :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bid66
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just got back after an amazing weeks stay at ballibrad, and one thing yes the track upto the barn is rough but does state this when you look to book, excellent for dog lovers as tyson enjoyed his time there exploring the garden, we really enjoyed watching and trying to video the bats in the evening, sitting out enjoying a drink admiring the great view even creating a table at the front to place our drinks on (hope this is still standing lol) would advise people to take couple of folding chairs to sit outside and enjoy scenery,overall a great place to stay and visit surrounding areas. The local killmartin hotel serves great food and is dog friendly only 10 minutes walk down the track. My partner would have liked a mirror in the bedroom area (only complaint) other than that would recommend ballibrad as an excellent place to stay.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason F
Aberystwyth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What can I say about this place! It is in a fantastic location, the middle of nowhere with no internet, no phone signal (I did get one bar outside the front door and I'm on Three network) surrounded by breathtaking country, the views during all hours of the day were magnificent and we were blessed with a mix of sun, warmth, rain and cold. The bats were entertaining on the first night too eating up all the flying insects. The property is in great condition, the treatment used on the wooden beams was a little overpowering on the first day I suspect due to the heat and it did permeate everything so we had to wash clothes twice when we arrived home but it's something we just got used to. The track is a good 20 minute trip at a VERY slow speed and while the track is not under the control of the owners of the property as far as I am aware, it is very rough. I have a VW Golf, and it did scrape the underside every now and then. When it rained I left the car at the bottom gate and we walked as I didn't want to risk damage. Just be aware.
We didn't get a chance to explore Kilmartin in depth as we had a pretty full itinerary but it looked like a lovely village and the pub/hotel at the bottom of the drive always seemed full.

I would like to make a comment for future guests. The owner generously provides a detailed list of what to expect during the stay, instructions on setting the fire up, the boiler, where to find the key, leaving tea and coffee provisions for the next guests etc. - the one thing I didn't expect to have to do having arrived after a 9 hour drive was having to empty and clean the bin out. I implore you, please clean up after yourselves and leave things as you found them.

I will give this a 5* rating as I believe it is that. I have also stolen a few ideas for my own property renovation projects. Hope to stay again next year!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogerpeta
Llanfyllin, United Kingdom
1 review
“a fabulous property in idyllic surroundings.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a wonderful holiday in the most peaceful surroundings. The property was a joy to stay in and has with fantastic views from the huge front window..The track to Ballibrad was fine if taken slowly but most of the time we enjoyed walking to the village which only takes about 15 minutes. A great retreat for peace and nature that has been thoughtfully renovated..
One of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Ticks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing