We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Sheltered from the north and east
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheltered from the north and east
Sleep well
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Sheltered from the north and east
Sleep well
Enjoy the summer scents
The garden in June
Photograph your favourite flowers
Our Garden - available for your use
Enjoy an alfresco cuppa
Walk through the garden
Smell the flowers
See the Medieval  Graveslabs in Kilmartin Churchyard
Listen for tawny owls
Walk amongst the  Standing Stones in Kilmartin Glen
Follow the path to the Chalet
Peruse the wildlife and Scottish magazines
A book case full of wildlife journals and more besides
Just off the track, yet close enough to the village hotel, museum and cafe, and historic church
Study the map for the next adventure
Dining area
One double and one single bed
Check out the Guide book to Kilmartin Glen for walks to historic sites
Stand at the upper entrance to breathe  the morning air.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kirstie C
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic stay in the Chalet. It is comfortable, warm and has all the amenities you need for a relaxing stay, such as a shower that works well, well-functioning kitchen etc. The view out of the sitting-room window is fantastic.

There is plenty to do in the local area during we or dry weather.

In dry weather, we recommend:

Walking through the glen and seeing the historic points of interest,
Walking from Kilmartin to Carnasserie Castle,
Visiting Crarae Gardens,
Visiting Crinan (have a drink in the Crinan Hotel, from their viewing gallery overlooking Crinan Canal and the sea)
Having an ice-cream at Lochgilphead while sitting next to the loch and maybe even having a paddle.

In the wet weather, we recommend:

Visiting the Kilmartin Museum,
Visiting Inveraray Jail
Visiting Inveraray Castle
Visiting Ben Cruachan Hollow Mountain.

Most nights we ate in the Chalet, but if you want to eat locally, the cafe at the Kilmartin Museum serves delicious food (we had longustines and venison burgers) and the Kilmartin Hotel serves pub food and is just a step away from the Chalet.

There is also a village shop nearby that sells rolls, milk, newspapers etc.

Janet is a thoughtful host, very welcoming while at the same time respecting guests' privacy. The Chalet is well-stocked with books and leaflets on the local area as well as basic supplies such as washing-up liquid and coffee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you for reviewing the Chalet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dellulahl...
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cute, Cozy and Comfy.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here in the chalet. A great wee chalet with everything you need. Fantastic array of wildlife books and beautiful photography .books. Very comfortable bed and bedding. Lovely sitting area. Stunning views. We enjoyed using the lovely garden for a bbq one evening. Ice cream sundaes from the pub a short walk along the road were a treat.. Kilmartin museum cafe is a must. Home baking is amazing. A visit to Crinan canal is beautiful and only around 6 miles from Kilmartin. Lots of stunning walks. We really do hope to return to the chalet in the future and would not hesitate to book again. Thankyou once again to the lovely and helpful owner Janet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidaylo...
north east
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Relaxing Place to Stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and it was a lovely relaxing time which was just what we needed to recharge our batteries.
We received a lovely warm welcome from the friendly owner and although she is not from Scotland, it's clear she loves living there as she gave us plenty of information about the area and there is a host of booklets, maps etc. in the chalet for you to read.
The chalet is modern, very comfortable and exceptionally clean with everything you really need. Having the use of the owner's private garden was a great bonus for me and I thoroughly enjoyed my morning coffee in the sun.
The area is beautiful and there are plenty of things to see and do to fill your time. I really wish we had been staying longer to enjoy more of it but we packed a lot in a short space of time.
The Kilmartin Hotel is also a lovely place to enjoy a few drinks and an evening meal and the staff and locals are really friendly.
If we do return to this area of Scotland, I would definitely stay at the Chalet again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful and peaceful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The rain on our second day
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greengeko
Cardiff
1 review
“A great find!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for four nights and this was a great location to tour the area. Janet was extremely helpful and even let us put the motorbike in her garage.
As veggies the local food options were a bit limited but we were able to make use of the chalet kitchen.
Would definitely return again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cabin in Kilmartin - perfect for us”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Chalet turned out to be a perfect spot for our two night stay. A thoughtful host, comfortable bed, frig, a clothes drying rack (it rains a bit in Scotland!), and an extensive library, but most of all a quiet home away from home, with a beautiful garden, which served as a great base for our visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cracking little chalet”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Chalet was perfect for a short break from the city. Wonderfully situated right next to a welcoming country pub with great food and friendly locals. The scenery is breathtaking with lots of lovely walks and sites of historical interest in the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy homely feel and great location
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
644Travel...
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning setting, well located, comfortable”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a warm welcome and introduction to the property.
The chalet was perfect for two with everything we needed. The views from the sitting area were outstanding.
We especially appreciated the library of books on Argyll and the Islands. It was wonderful to relax in the beautiful garden at the end of the day, with views over the Kilmartin valley and up to the glen.
We know the area well and enjoyed visiting the excellent Killmartin museum, Kilmartin church and stones, Kilmartin glen, Kilmichael glen, cup and ring mark rocks at Cairnbaan, Crinan ferry, Duntroon Castle gardens, Moine Mhor etc. There are so many delightful walks from the chalet.
The Kilmartin Hotel serves good beers and meals.
Magic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, set in beautiful gardens, availability for part week
Liked least: No tea pot!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing