We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hosts”
Review of Dunchraigaig House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmartin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunchraigaig House
Ranked #1 of 3 Kilmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a good reasonably priced country B & B, situated about 2 miles South of Kilmartin. If travelling from the South, be careful not to overshoot the entrance ( on the right), as a hedge partially hides it, and the sign is slightly beyond it. There is a well kept garden, with a few seats for enjoying the sunshine.The house throughout is very clean and well cared for, with a small residents lounge, where tea and cake are offered on arrival. Bedroms are fully equipped, some with a shower, and some with a bath.. There is some noise from traffic on the road, but quite acceptable.. Breakfast offered between 8 and 9am is excellent, with a special which changes daily. Two matters stand out. One is the regular appearance of pine-martens, which can be seen at close quarters most days. The other is the outstanding service offered by Cameron and Lynn.. On our arrival, Cameron came out to greet us, and they always seemed to appear l when we were going in and out.. They give the impresion that they are really devoted to being of maximum help to make the visit memorable. One tip; if you are going to look for the nearby beavers, speak to Lynn first, as she knows the best places to go ( which are not in the leaflet),. .

Room Tip: The front ones have the views, but will be slightly noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Lynn and Cameron go out of their way to make your stay at Dunchraigaig a memorable one.
The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The accommodation is 5 star. The food is fantastic. Add to all of this the fact that the entertainment includes red squirrels, pinemartins and some of the finest scenery in all of Scotland and you have a holiday that is second to none.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeegieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. We loved meeting you both and so pleased that you got to see our performing wildlife! We look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We returned again this year for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay once again. It's just impossible to think how it could be any better. Wonderful tranquility, wildlife aplenty and Lynn & Cameron doing everything to make their guests feel welcome and at-home. Cannot recommend highly enough. Many thanks again for looking after us so well

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilAitkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your stay - we loved having you back at Dunchraigaig and hope that your onward journey to Mull was good. Thank you also for sharing your photos of the pine marten on facebook - the first photo of our 2013 pine marten kit! We do hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We couldn't have found anywhere better for our all-too-brief stay in Kilmartin. Dunchraigaig has to be one of the best B & Bs we have ever visited. Beautiful, quiet surroundings, delightful, well-equipped room and breakfasts to die for! Lynn and Cameron couldn't have made us more welcome - and even took the trouble to call us when the pine marten decided to make an appearance in the garden. Lynn is an amazing cook and each afternoon a plateful of different flavoured cup-cakes appeared in the guests' sitting room for visitors to enjoy.
No wonder so many of our fellow guests told us that they have returned to Dunchraigaig time and time again. We'll certainly be booking next time we travel through Argyll!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is good to hear that you enjoyed the cupcakes - I am always experimenting in the kitchen and love getting guests feedback! We do hope that you will visit again - we would love to see you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Second time stayed at Dunchraigaig House both visits felt very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Location and surroundings perfect. Ideal for exploring the area Local attraction and not to far away from Beavers in Knapdale Forest

Room Tip: Lynn and Cameron make you feel very welcome on arrival tea and cake available, both very helpful wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. It was lovely to see you all again and hope that you enjoyed your onward trip to Mull. We do hope that you will come back again next year and give the pine marten a chance to redeem herself - I still cannot believe that your patience wasn't rewarded! She does now have a kit which she is bringing into the garden so we hope this will increase next years chance of a sighting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lovely holiday in lovely house with so many thoughtful extras...tea and cake on arrival, breakfast specials (scrambled egg with smoked salmon, kippers etc) different each day and home made muffins to be eaten at breakfast or taken away. We enjoyed biscuits or cake in the sitting room after visiting the beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: Lilac was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. We are pleased that you have some happy memories of your stay and hope that the history of the glen will tempt you back to explore further. Although that weekend was especially active because of the St Columba celebrations at the museum, there is always something to discover in the Kilmartin Glen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed for three nights. The welcome and advice given on all things about the locality including - history, wildlife and restaurants was excellent. Attention to details to make your whole stay as enjoyable as possible were part of the service offered. The breakfasts were also outstanding. The house makes an excellent choice for those wishing to explore the area. Seeing the pine marten, a beaver and nesting Ospreys was a joy too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. You certainly had some great 'wildlife watching experiences' during your stay. We loved seeing your photos of the beaver - proving that a little patience can reap great rewards! We do hope that all of the wildlife (and history) will tempt you to make a return visit to Dunchraigaig House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dunchraigaig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunchraigaig House

Address: Kilmartin Glen, Kilmartin PA31 8RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmartin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmartin
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunchraigaig House provides comfortable B&B accommodation from which to explore Argyll. Conveniently situated in the heart of the Kilmartin Glen, a mile south of Kilmartin Village and 7 miles from Lochgilphead. We have views across to the Ballymeanoch Standing Stones, the bay at Crinan and some rare wildlife that likes to visit our garden. You are sure of a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunchraigaig House Kilmartin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing