We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whirlpool experience”
Review of Craignish Cruises

Craignish Cruises
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ardfern
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided wildlife and Corryvreckan Whirlpool boat trips from Ardfern,Argyll,on our new passenger boat Venturer.Two,three and four hour trips,day trips and private charter.Join 40 years experienced skipper Lindsay Johnston for a memorable trip through the spectacular scenery and abundant wildlife of this special conservation area.
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a fantastic trip on the Sea Leopard II to visit the Correyvreken Whirlpool. The crew were excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly. They took us close to the Whirlpool so that we could get some classic photos. The wildlife that we saw included porpoises, sea eagles and seals. You could not have asked for anything better. Superb value for money

Thank Sebastian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealeopard11, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for coming out with us on one of our trips, always good to hear feedback.
The sea eagles are amazing birds, due to the loss of the chick this year we have not had as many sightings , so extra special when we do so you were one of the lucky ones.
Once again thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild goats"
in 8 reviews
"red deer"
in 11 reviews
"sea eagles"
in 22 reviews
"hour trip"
in 9 reviews
"great trip"
in 10 reviews
"corryvreckan whirlpool"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 3 reviews
"captain lindsay"
in 2 reviews
"powerful boat"
in 2 reviews
"nest"
in 9 reviews
"porpoises"
in 28 reviews
"binoculars"
in 8 reviews
"tides"
in 8 reviews
"wildlife"
in 36 reviews
"scenery"
in 8 reviews
"waves"
in 6 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have wanted to visit the Corryvreckan Whirlpools for a long time and this cruise did not disappoint. We decided to make a day of it and booked the 4 hour wildlife cruise as we are keen nature fans too. I have to say that this experience was one of the best days I have ever had. We spent a magical time with dolphins playing in the bow wave so close that we could have reached out to touch them. That memory will stay with us forever. We also saw seals, red deer and loads of fantastic wildlife.
The crew were friendly, knowledgeable and very professional throughout the cruise, sharing their expertise when needed. The Sea Leopard ll was comfortable and felt safe and, although the Corryvreckan was not as active as it would have been had we sailed on a spring tide, I would recommend this cruise to everyone. 100% worth it, thank you guys for a brilliant cruise - we will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealeopard11, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dolphins can make the trip even more memorable, to see them in their natural habitat is an amazing sight as whatever we do is on their terms, sounds like you had a really good day, would love to welcome you back again, thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

excellent trip,great crew who looked after us well and treated us to shortbread and tablet with our coffee. Weather great so saw plenty wildlife.Would recommend these guys

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealeopard11, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review , we are always looking for ways to improve, especially after being in business for a long time.Always helps when the sun shines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We signed up for the whale watching tour while on holiday in the area and I have to say the whole experience was absolutely fantastic! The boat, the Sea Leopard II, is modern, spacious and safe and the crew were cheery, polite, professional, and very knowledgeable. Even if you never saw a living thing while out to sea, the scenery as you along is absolutely stunning. On our particular trip we didn't actually see any whales - oh well, I fully realise there are no guarantees and these creatures can't just appear on demand. To compensate though, we saw so many porpoises close-up that we didn't know where to look first! Amazing! Add to this, fantastic close-up views of a white-tailed sea eagle, as well as a magnificent osprey and its chick - again, as close-up as we could possibly get without causing them distress. Guillemots, gannets, puffins, shearwaters, cormorants, shags all made an appearance close-by too. Worth every penny, trust me, and I'll be back on board soon, I hope.

Thank colfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealeopard11, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your review and comments, sounds like you had a wonderful day, we have seen more puffins this year which is not the normal bird for our area, mother nature can do strange things sometimes.
Seeing a whale is always a bonus, Cassie the whale has been in our area this year but seems to be avoiding us up to now.
We are always on the look out and exchanging sightings with other boat operators in the area
Anything unusual or spectacular we post on our facebook page, once again thank you for taking a trip and we hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Excellent day out, really great experience. It was a present for my friends birthday and she had a wonderful day, loved it, would definitely recommend it

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Wilpour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealeopard11, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

A lovely birthday present and I am sure your friend appreciated it, something to remember,highlighted by our wonderful scenery and excellent weather, thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craignish Cruises also viewed

Ellenabeich, Isle of Seil
Argyll and Bute, Scotland
 
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute
Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Craignish Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing