We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”
Review of Craignish Cruises

Craignish Cruises
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Ardfern
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided wildlife and Corryvreckan Whirlpool boat trips from Ardfern,Argyll,on our new passenger boat Venturer.Two,three and four hour trips,day trips and private charter.Join 40 years experienced skipper Lindsay Johnston for a memorable trip through the spectacular scenery and abundant wildlife of this special conservation area.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Corryvreckan whirlpool experience is an outstanding and an amazing trip. The sheer power of the tide is awesome and the resulting upsurging of water produces constantly changing whirlpools. This makes the Gulf of Corryvreckan the third largest whirlpool area in the world!
However, you have no need to worry, as you are in the safest hands possible. Lindsey, the Captain of the Sea LeopardII has thirty years experience in these waters and this latest boat is just perfect for the hair raising conditions you will encounter. The other member of the crew(sorry missed his name) was excellent as well and explained all about the causes of the whirlpool and was also quick to point out the wildlife we encounted.
This is a memorable trip, well worth the money and one that will remain vividly in my mind for years to come.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan J, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Corryvreckan is an amazing place and is an experience everyone should have, glad you enjoyed your trip , thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Innerleithen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sea Leopard 2 - Whirlpool Trip”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a wonderful afternoon on the the Sea Leopard, by chance the weather was perfect,which enhanced the whole expeience. The wildlife we saw included Osprey, White Tailed sea Eagle, Porpoise, Seal and Sea Otter. The Sea Leopart is a relatively new boat only 3 years old with a capacity for 60 persons but the trip is limited to 12 so there is plenty of space. Binnoculars are provided for wild Life viewing at no extra cost. The trip to the edge of the whirlpool is not for the faint hearted a real rush, its like surfing but only your on a boat rather than a board.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank AKDunn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan J, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your comments we strive to offer our customers the best experience and are really pleased you enjoyed your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ospreys were the highlight”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The boat is truly excellent and much better than we expected - very fast, very stable and very well designed for seafari trips.

Our family had a great time seeing all sorts of local wildlife with the ospreys at the end proving to be the star turn. Great fun and an excellent mini adventure for the family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobinBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealeopard11, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Just as you think that is it the ospreys appear, they have been coming back for a number of years , one year we had five flying over Sea Leopard ,amazing hopefully they will return again next year for more people to see
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“whirlpools”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This boat trip is one of the best we've been on. The staff were very welcoming. The boat was clean and comfortable. Tea and coffee are available with free shortbread. The live commentry was exlent backed up with charts and pictures. If you only do one boat trip on your holiday it must be this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealeopard11, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your comments Corryvreckan should be on every ones bucket list as it is such an amazing place, glad you enjoyed your trip with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My only regret is that I haven't been able to take a trip on Sea Leopard II before now, but it was definately worth the wait. The trip was well worth the money, infact it is safe to say that I would go again without hesitation, even if just for the whirlpool.
The crew definately know their stuff and are very friendly and welcoming. The wildlife was excellent to experience especially the porpoises.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank metzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealeopard11, Owner at Craignish Cruises, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Seems like you had a good day out , would love to see you again , thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craignish Cruises also viewed

Ellenabeich, Isle of Seil
Isle of Seil, Slate Islands
 
Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Craignish Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing