We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ardfern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My son and his new wife had their reception at Galley of Lorne last weekend (3rd May) and it was a wonderful weekend from start to finish. We arrived on Friday afternoon and found the rooms to be very good, with a lovely view over the loch. We had dinner in the hotel on Friday night and could not fault the quality of the food. Saturday morning breakfast was also very good and then the wedding reception was excellent. The food was first class and the staff were very helpful. We stayed until Monday 5th and the whole weekend was an enjoyable experience. The manager, Andrew and his staff were very attentive and made sure that we were happy and well looked after. We would certainly visit again for a nice relaxing break.

Room Tip: Skye and Arran suites have lovely views over the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    136
    32
    20
    7
See reviews for
74
478
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staff very friendly, hotel very nice and clean, room and bed comfortable, bathroom very spacious and very clean. The hotel had wifi but we never managed to get it. Breakfast will keep you going till dinner it's a large cooked breakfast, The bar was great it showed the football, staff went out there way to meet all our needs, I was very impressed. The restaurant had sufficient choices of meals fish and chips. We're very nice, if you eat in the bar you pay restaurant prices I thought expensive, but then you are a captive audience. The marina is close by the hotel and there are some beautiful walks, this is a place to recharge your batteries. Scenery amazing.

Margaret and Ronnie Edinburgh

Room Tip: Can't remember room name and number
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galley_of_Lorne, Owner at The Galley of Lorne Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Margaret and Ronnie,

Many thanks for your review. As you are aware several weeks ago I emailed yourselves highlighting our confusion with respect to your review. Unfortunately, we have not received a response and thus must highlight our confusion via a management response.

As detailed in your review, we not only provided the high level of service we constantly strive to provide our guests, but also went above and beyond the usual call of duty in one particular request.

Our confusion (and I'm sure anyone reading the review and our response) centres around the fact that whilst the review reads like a 4 or 5 star review, we had only been awarded a 3 star review. This is further confused by the fact that in the individual ratings we were awarded 4 stars for value, 5 stars for location, 5 stars for sleep quality, 5 stars for rooms, 5 stars for cleanliness and 5 stars for service. These ratings of course would more than qualify for a 5 star overall review rating.

Finally I would just like to further address the comment re pricing. I can assure you that whilst we have not sought for accolades such as Rosettes, our standard of food (as is fed back the vast majority of the time) is of Rosette standard. We do not charge for this privilege. Our main courses average no more than £15.00 and yet we know that for equivalent fare from our competitors who have such accolades an average cost of a main course would be nearer £25.00 for the same standard of food. This is why quite often we have diners who were unable to secure rooms at The Galley, but still dine in our restaurant instead of at the higher priced restaurants attached to the hotels they are staying in.

Given that we are most reasonable in price compared to all other establishments in the Mid Argyll area (either on a par or cheaper than all of our competitors), I can assure that we do not charge restaurant prices in the bar. In reality we do not charge our diners a premium for dining in our panoramic lochside restaurant with stunning views and all the additional costs and service that goes with managing a restaurant. As you will be aware, we have the same menu throughout the establishment regardless of where our diners wish to sit, so that they can sample our high quality fare in whichever ambience most suits them.

I hope this clarifies a few points made and clearly explains our confusion with respect to our overall rating in this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is only a small hotel (~6 rooms) so don't expect the sort of facilities you'd get at a bigger place. But the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the food is good (both breakfast and dinner). You can have dinner in the main restaurant with a great view of the loch or in the bar, no view but a chance to meet the locals and watch the football on the telly! Good real ale, well kept. Our room was fairly small, but quite adequate for three nights, and the bathroom was fine.
The location is quiet, in a small village beside Loch Craignish, and the countryside around is a lovely area for touring, walking and sailing.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a loch view, ask when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights late April.
Owners and staff friendly.
Beautiful location by the Loch.
Had a room overlooking the Loch
Stayed for dinner one evening ate in the bar. Fish was delicious not too keen on the chips!
Breakfast was very good.
Room clean and reasonable size.
Decor and furniture looking a little dated!
Large spacious bathroom which was light and beautifully clean.
My only real criticism would be the bed which was rather small, and not particularly comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StephR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were gift a night in this lovely wee hotel and were not sure what to expect. Our stay was truly excellent! Friendly welcoming staff, immaculate room with stunning view over the loch and delicious food! We are already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: The Arran Suite is beautiful with a great view over the loch and a bathtub to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Milrine_To_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were staying in craobh haven and the pub there promised good food but didn't deliver. We tried this restaurant at lunchtime and were expecting pub grub but we had fish and chips and it was an excellent plate of food that we didn't expect. We then went there to have dinner, we were taken into a lovely bright room with a fantastic view of the loch, the food was amazing, the staff were brilliant and we are even thinking of getting married there!! a hidden gem that i would defiantly recommend. We did not stay here but I'm sure its top notch

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemgem814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Natural, genuine, welcoming staff (including the owner) and a really nice room and en-suite - we stayed in Arran. The restaurant had a fabulous view over the loch but the bar was busier on the night we stayed and had agreat atmosphere so we ate in there instead. The veggi meal was somewhat smaller than the non-veggi meal, but I'm in no doubt that something would have been done about it should I have said something. The quality of the food, nonetheless, was ace and the mushroom soup was heavenly. Also, If you're interested in ancient monuments, this is a perfect base for the all the yummy archaeology around the Kilmatin area.
Go on, stay here, you know you want to!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walnut_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardfern
8.5 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
281 reviews
18.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,453 reviews
20.5 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
443 reviews
3.9 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
6.7 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 7 in Lochgilphead
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galley of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galley of Lorne Inn

Property: The Galley of Lorne Inn
Address: Ardfern by Lochgilphead, Ardfern PA31 8QN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardfern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ardfern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Galley of Lorne Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galley of Lorne Inn is a 17th Century Drover's Inn and country retreat situated in the picturesque village of Ardfern which nestles among the hills beside Loch Craignish. This beautiful corner of Argyll has long been a favourite for yachtsmen, artists and those who appreciate beauty, wildness plus the good things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Galley of Lorne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galley Of Lorne Hotel Ardfern
The Galley Of Lorne Inn Ardfern, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing