We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week-end getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schlosshotel Munchhausen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aerzen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We just got back from a week-end at Schlosshotel Munschhausen, and enjoyed it very much! Our room (111), in the castle itself, was just above the Knights Room and near the breakfast room, but we never heard any noise. The decor and attention to details are delightful. Turn-down service is very attentive, including weather (and pollen) forecast for the next day, opening the TV programme at the right page, etc... We had a sofa and a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was very modern and sleek, the rain showerhead a real pleasure! Water pressure strong, bathtub deep and comfortable. Amenities, bathrobe and fluffy towels of course. A nice touch is also the basket with spa towels which you can use when going to the pool/sauna area. The pool area was busy on a Saturday afternoon, and not particularly well looked after. Glasses and cups for tea, towels were out for over an hour before someone came to check. We think the ladies of the Spa (wonderful by the way) are in charge, and come over between clients, but that may not be enough imo. Breakfast was wonderful, we sat in the smaller breakfast room and it was very cozy. The castle kitchen where the breakfast buffet is displayed is amazing. We had massages and facials at the spa, and they were wonderful. We had dinner at the Schlosskeller, the $$ of the two restaurant (the other one is the Michelin * Gourmet Restaurant (Menu 110,- Euros and up). Staff is very friendly and efficient, not stiff. The castle is about 15km from the historical city of Hameln, which is worth a walk around. A very relaxing week-end in a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FAMLANGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Schlosshotel Munchhausen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed as a guest of a company on way to a factory nearby.

Very elegant but subdued even
When in a castle. Great grounds.

Suites are very large and comfortable. Great bathrooms and nice soaps etc. Shower a little small.

Great $$$ gourmet restaurant with great friendly service.

Fantastic breakfast buffet.


Golf course looks nice.

A good weekend stay. About anchor from
Hanover airport

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Schlosshotel Münchhausen is a 17th century castle completely renovated and rebuilt into a hotel. It's in a quiet area about 10km from Hameln or 60 km from Hannover, adjacent to a gold course. The castle is set in an extremely beautiful park, ideal for a morning walk or jogging.

The rooms in the hotel are nicely furnished and beautifully decorated, modern with a few touches of antiques. Staff are friendly and service is excellent, as you would expect in a classy place like that.

The breakfast buffet is huge and extremely tasty, not completely surprising, as the hotel houses a Michelin star restaurant. The only issue we had with service was that they forgot our egg order. After my reminder, I got my omelette and along with it 2 glasses of Prosecco as an apology. Not bad...

A real highlight of the hotel is the Gourmet restaurant (also covered in a separate review). It's got 1 star in Guide Michelin and 17 points in Gault Millau, which I found underrated. We had a superb dinner there, with extremely friendly and competent service. Even our 8 year old loved the place.

And that was another surprise of our visit. Very often in upmarket places like that you feel uncomfortable when visiting with kids. Not so at Schlosshotel Muenchhausen. The place is kids friendly and tries to cater to the needs of families too.

All in all highly recommended as a weekend getaway. We will surely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here for a friend's wedding a few weeks ago and it was wonderful. The hotel is very beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very good value for money. The food was to-die-for. Both the food we had in the evening, and the salmon salad that I ordered when we were recovering in the spa the next day were absolutely delicious (albeit a little pricey). The spa is lovely, fabulous pool and steam room and sauna areas. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I found myself here on business, sight unseen, as it is the only game in town. After one look, I knew I wanted to come back. The area is beautiful, the castle spectacular. Dinner in the restaurant (a two course Christmas goose & local German beer) was sensational. The buffet breakfast was unbelievable. Even though we stayed in "The Barn" (my house should be as nice as this barn!) and not the castle itself, my room was large, clean, and had loads of amenities. In case you don't get it, Schlosshotel Munchhausen is one very special hotel. Unfortunately I did not have time to play golf or enjoy the spa. Next Time!!!!!

Room Tip: 511 down the end of the hall in the barn is LOVELY & HUGE, but a bit of a hike (only relative to...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pretzellogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is a very beautifully restored castle set in lovely gardens. The rooms were large well appointed. A large indoor pool as well. Quite child friendly which was a welcome surprise - across the way is a golf range which the kids really enjoyed. The restaurant ( Keller) had excellent food and service. My only feedback would be that on check in it would be nice to be offered a tour around the castle as we were located in a side wing and didnt know how much we could explore inside. The other are was room service. We were advised that the restaurant would try and make something for the kids but it wasnt to be and they had to have quite large adult meals - something small for kids would be welcome. That said the breakfast was delightful and varied. This would be a great get away for the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

A 5***** not only due to its spa, size of rooms or elegance. The staff is excellent and invisible if you do not need them! A Michel stars restaurant adds to the gourmet weekend stay. You can walk around in the quiet village, play golf or simply read a book having your private castle in the background... free internet connects you to the world!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bartkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aerzen
5.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel  and Spa - Bad Pyrmont
5.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Hameln
Mercure Hotel Hameln
#2 of 12 in Hameln
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Landluft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Christinenhof
Hotel Christinenhof
#1 of 12 in Hameln
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Waldquelle
Hotel Waldquelle
#3 of 4 in Aerzen
12 reviews
21.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Bad Oeynhausen City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Munchhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Munchhausen

Address: Schwobber 9, 31855 Aerzen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Aerzen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aerzen
Price Range: £139 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Munchhausen 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schlosshotel Munchhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Munchhausen Hameln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing