We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay - amazing food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schlosshotel Munchhausen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aerzen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

If you're looking for a short break getaway, we can highly recommend the Schlosshotel Munchhausen. The food was amazing, in both the Gourmet Restaurant and in the Cellar Restaurant. We had the four-course menu at the Gourmet Restaurant, and it was outstanding - the staff could not have been more accommodating and went out of their way to provide alternatives when there were things I couldn't eat (food allergy.) We stayed in the Tithebarn rather than the Castle, and we were not disappointed; it was a lovely room with a comfy bed (and a fab shower!) The only downsides to the room were the fact that it was two mattresses put together with two duvets (though this is common in European hotels, even nice ones!) and the fact that there is no room service to rooms in the Tithebarn - apart from that we can't complain. The room itself looked onto a working barn and carpark, but we didn't get much noise from either - had a lovely quiet stay. The pool was nice too, though we didn't get a chance to use the spa. Only a short drive from Hameln, so it was worth going there for the afternoon and coming back to the hotel for dinner at night. We are hoping to visit again next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwierig, General Manager at Schlosshotel Munchhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to learn about your excellent experiences with us. It is our ultimate goal to offer our guests a pleasant and relaxing time at our castle. Therefore we place great value on comfort, quality and a welcoming atmosphere. It is a honor to read that you enjoyed our helpful service and our fine food in both restaurants. We appreciate your kind words which are a wonderful motivation for our entire team.

Our individually equipped rooms offer beds with two mattresses as well as beds with one big mattress. Please let us know your preference in this regard and we will reserve a room according to your request. And maybe you would like to try one of our rooms at the castle?

We enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again for another short break getaway.

Kind regards
Karsten Wierig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

What a stunner! We stayed here for two nights during a trade fair in Hannover and it was well worth the 45 min drive after the craziness of the convention.

The owners have got everything just right within a stunning location and we were upgraded to a wonderful suite.... Amazing good food and wonderful stAff who were not stuffy and were all multi- lingual ..would have loved to try the spa but sadly no time ., have to do that next year. Wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a beautiful hotel which was renovated in 2004 and is still looking as good as the day it was completed. The hotel is extremely attractive from both the outside and the inside and the renovations have been sympathetic. The design of the bedrooms is English/French country style and toile de joie/chintz abounds - overall a very restful feel! We stayed in room 211 which was slightly on the small size as the bathroom had no bath but within the bedroom there was a seating area and a pleasant window view of the garden.

The jewel in the crown has to be the Spa and pool facilities with the added attraction of an outside seating area with sun loungers. Inside there is a sauna and two wet rooms (one which is an aromatherapy wet room as well as showers and plenty of areas to lounge by the pool. We stayed in the hotel for 3 days and during this time the most people that were in the pool did not exceed 4 persons. On the first floor, there is also a small decking area which guests can use.

When you arrive at the hotel you are greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and a complimentary piece of cake awaits you in your room. Every evening, there is a turn down service offered and you are left a weather forecast for the following day.

The food was very nice and cooked to a high standard but if you are fed up with eating 3 course hotel type meals, you can walk across the car park to the golf club and use Mulligans bar which offers the more regular type of fare. Their salads were delicious and the portion sizes were huge.

Breakfast is exceptional. Omelettes are made to order and there is a wide choice of cereals, breads and jams, cheeses, cured salmon, prawns, mueslis, freshly made cakes etc. Guest may make use of a machine which freshly squeezes your orange juice in front of your eyes and there is a wide range of teas and coffees including cappuccino, lattes, hot chocolate. Breakfast is served until mid day.

Slightly irritating is the fact that there is no WIFI in the bedrooms (although if you have a lap top you can attach via a LAN to the internet). The castle walls are so thick that WIFI is only available in the reception area.

We visited the hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and the venue was perfect and made for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: The castle is in its own grounds so the location is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed with my family in this wonderfully renovated medieval castle with great gardens and exceptional SPA and 25 metres indoor pool with sun terrace. Large and beautiful rooms, we had an enormous tub and a large shower stall. Loved the Molton Brown toiletries. Dinner on the terrace was delicious $$$ and we enjoyed an outstanding breakfast buffet in the really lovely breakfast room, very friendly and professional waitress.
Will definitely be back

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel over a weekend. The reason for our stay was that our friends were getting married at the Schlosshotel Münchhausen. The hotel really is in a fairytale setting in the heart of some of the most beautiful german countryside. The spa and swimming pool are simply excellent, the rooms are five stars, and the restaurant servesvery good German food. We stayed in the tithe barn which was a fantastic modern room - but the view faced the administrative side of the golf course. If you stay in the tithe barn, make sure to ask for a castle view room. Also, try driving across the German country side rather than the highway, the views are to die for.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We couldn't believe that in the middle of nowhere there was a beautiful palace build in 1577 which in 2004 was converted into a hotel. We got a room (#108) in the Schloss itself and we were astonished by the size and luxury. The shower was so big that you could play squash inside. The bed was very comfortable and furniture well matched. However, we have made a big mistake. We didn't make sure that there are two restaurants in the hotel - both very high class gourmet food. Unfortunately we did not make a reservation for a one star Michelin's restaurant and couldn't partake of delicious menu. So, if you plan to visit the hotel make sure you won't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aniaandrzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Incredibly beautiful castle near Hameln - city of the Pied Piper. The grounds are magnificent and there is a golf course on the property. There is a beautiful outdoor bar area overlooking the river and a formal garden outside the main entrance. The Schlosskeller restaurant served wonderful regional cuisine and the service is excellent. Our group of 20 had a special dinner downstairs in the wine cellar which is quite beautiful and the food was excellent.

They have an outstanding wine list and a beautiful bar and lounge. The breakfast room is beautiful and the menu is expansive - eggs to order, fresh orange juice, breads, shaved ham, yogurts and cereals, etc!

Don't miss the spa or indoor pool. Beautiful setting and an 18 hole golf course with driving range and club house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcox0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aerzen
5.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel  and Spa - Bad Pyrmont
9.4 mi away
Schaumburger Ritter
Schaumburger Ritter
#3 of 7 in Rinteln
68 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Hameln
Mercure Hotel Hameln
#2 of 12 in Hameln
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Stadt Hameln
Hotel Stadt Hameln
#9 of 12 in Hameln
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Landluft
11.2 mi away
Burghotel Blomberg
Burghotel Blomberg
#1 of 3 in Blomberg
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Munchhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Munchhausen

Address: Schwobber 9, 31855 Aerzen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Aerzen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aerzen
Price Range: £147 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Munchhausen 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schlosshotel Munchhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Munchhausen Hameln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing