We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schlosshotel Munchhausen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aerzen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

45 minutes drive out of Hannover stand this wonderful piece of historic property completely restored with Modern Facilities.
The Gourmet restaurant was closed on Monday, so I did not get to try.
The 36 Holes Hamelner Golf Club next to the hotel is very beautiful with challenging greens.
The Staff of the Hotel were all Friendly and Helpful that is making my stay More enjoyable.

Room Tip: Do Not miss the Breakfast, it was Magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKong1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwierig, General Manager at Schlosshotel Munchhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,

I appreciate your kind comments very much.
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that the combination of the historic atmosphere and our modern facilities have met your expectations and that you keep our varied breakfast as „magical“ in memory. It is always gratifying to receive such praise. I have brought your comments to the attention of our whole team. All of us are looking forward to your next reservation ~ hopefully you will have the chance then to enjoy our fine food in our restaurant.

Kind regards from the Schlosshotel Münchhausen to Hong Kong,

Karsten Wierig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice dinner, excellent wine and greaz atmosphere. Close to Hamelin and close to the local golf course is the perfect choice after a long day out. Friendly staff, nice area, very beautiful, well litt by night. The restaurant was fantastic and lots of history and tradition which made the day much more enjoyable .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecilia1234cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwierig, General Manager at Schlosshotel Munchhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Cecilia,

thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to learn about your excellent experiences with us. It is our ultimate goal to offer our guests a pleasant and relaxing time in an extraordinary atmosphere. It is a honor to read that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and that you liked our fine food and the friendly service. We appreciate your kind words which are a wonderful motivation for our entire team.

We enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Kind regards
Karsten Wierig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a wonderful country retreat. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the swimming pool is divine and the outdoor dining area is gorgeous and the food is delicious. This is a wonderful overnight stop for visiting Hamelin and the city of Celle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwierig, General Manager at Schlosshotel Munchhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Joan,

thank you for your comments following your recent stay at our castle. We are very pleased to know, that you have enjoyed the time with us and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. We appreciate your kind feedback and your support.

We would be thrilled to welcome you again during your next visit to the Weserbergland in the heart of Germany. In the meantime we sent our best wishes to Pennsylvania!

Karsten Wierig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

If you're looking for a short break getaway, we can highly recommend the Schlosshotel Munchhausen. The food was amazing, in both the Gourmet Restaurant and in the Cellar Restaurant. We had the four-course menu at the Gourmet Restaurant, and it was outstanding - the staff could not have been more accommodating and went out of their way to provide alternatives when there were things I couldn't eat (food allergy.) We stayed in the Tithebarn rather than the Castle, and we were not disappointed; it was a lovely room with a comfy bed (and a fab shower!) The only downsides to the room were the fact that it was two mattresses put together with two duvets (though this is common in European hotels, even nice ones!) and the fact that there is no room service to rooms in the Tithebarn - apart from that we can't complain. The room itself looked onto a working barn and carpark, but we didn't get much noise from either - had a lovely quiet stay. The pool was nice too, though we didn't get a chance to use the spa. Only a short drive from Hameln, so it was worth going there for the afternoon and coming back to the hotel for dinner at night. We are hoping to visit again next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwierig, General Manager at Schlosshotel Munchhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to learn about your excellent experiences with us. It is our ultimate goal to offer our guests a pleasant and relaxing time at our castle. Therefore we place great value on comfort, quality and a welcoming atmosphere. It is a honor to read that you enjoyed our helpful service and our fine food in both restaurants. We appreciate your kind words which are a wonderful motivation for our entire team.

Our individually equipped rooms offer beds with two mattresses as well as beds with one big mattress. Please let us know your preference in this regard and we will reserve a room according to your request. And maybe you would like to try one of our rooms at the castle?

We enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again for another short break getaway.

Kind regards
Karsten Wierig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

What a stunner! We stayed here for two nights during a trade fair in Hannover and it was well worth the 45 min drive after the craziness of the convention.

The owners have got everything just right within a stunning location and we were upgraded to a wonderful suite.... Amazing good food and wonderful stAff who were not stuffy and were all multi- lingual ..would have loved to try the spa but sadly no time ., have to do that next year. Wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a beautiful hotel which was renovated in 2004 and is still looking as good as the day it was completed. The hotel is extremely attractive from both the outside and the inside and the renovations have been sympathetic. The design of the bedrooms is English/French country style and toile de joie/chintz abounds - overall a very restful feel! We stayed in room 211 which was slightly on the small size as the bathroom had no bath but within the bedroom there was a seating area and a pleasant window view of the garden.

The jewel in the crown has to be the Spa and pool facilities with the added attraction of an outside seating area with sun loungers. Inside there is a sauna and two wet rooms (one which is an aromatherapy wet room as well as showers and plenty of areas to lounge by the pool. We stayed in the hotel for 3 days and during this time the most people that were in the pool did not exceed 4 persons. On the first floor, there is also a small decking area which guests can use.

When you arrive at the hotel you are greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and a complimentary piece of cake awaits you in your room. Every evening, there is a turn down service offered and you are left a weather forecast for the following day.

The food was very nice and cooked to a high standard but if you are fed up with eating 3 course hotel type meals, you can walk across the car park to the golf club and use Mulligans bar which offers the more regular type of fare. Their salads were delicious and the portion sizes were huge.

Breakfast is exceptional. Omelettes are made to order and there is a wide choice of cereals, breads and jams, cheeses, cured salmon, prawns, mueslis, freshly made cakes etc. Guest may make use of a machine which freshly squeezes your orange juice in front of your eyes and there is a wide range of teas and coffees including cappuccino, lattes, hot chocolate. Breakfast is served until mid day.

Slightly irritating is the fact that there is no WIFI in the bedrooms (although if you have a lap top you can attach via a LAN to the internet). The castle walls are so thick that WIFI is only available in the reception area.

We visited the hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and the venue was perfect and made for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: The castle is in its own grounds so the location is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed with my family in this wonderfully renovated medieval castle with great gardens and exceptional SPA and 25 metres indoor pool with sun terrace. Large and beautiful rooms, we had an enormous tub and a large shower stall. Loved the Molton Brown toiletries. Dinner on the terrace was delicious $$$ and we enjoyed an outstanding breakfast buffet in the really lovely breakfast room, very friendly and professional waitress.
Will definitely be back

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aerzen
5.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel  and Spa - Bad Pyrmont
5.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Hameln
Mercure Hotel Hameln
#2 of 12 in Hameln
302 reviews
9.4 mi away
Schaumburger Ritter
Schaumburger Ritter
#2 of 7 in Rinteln
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Burghotel Blomberg
Burghotel Blomberg
#1 of 3 in Blomberg
72 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Zur Krone
Hotel Zur Krone
#7 of 24 in Bad Pyrmont
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Waldquelle
Hotel Waldquelle
#3 of 4 in Aerzen
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Munchhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Munchhausen

Address: Schwobber 9, 31855 Aerzen, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Aerzen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aerzen
Price Range: £145 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Munchhausen 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schlosshotel Munchhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Munchhausen Hameln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing