We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Greek Delight (if you want relaxation & good walking)”
Review of Galissas Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galissas Studios
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Greek Delight (if you want relaxation & good walking)”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The studios are set back up a small track from the village and less than 5 minutes walk to the beach. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the apartment and the pool area, towels and bed linen were changed frequently and Yiannis cleaned the pool every day while we were there. Our apartment was a mezanine apartment tucked away in the corner and was quite spacious for the 2 of us ,although if there are 4 you may stuggle for clothes storage as the only wardrobe and drawers are upstairs. The cooking facilities were typical of Greek self catering with 2 rings, but we had a kettle. Due to being on 2 floors we had a choice of terraces, but only used the upstairs one which was more private and in the sun all afternoon, we did have to carry everything upstairs, but it was worth it. Although the stairs are quite steep and a handrail would be advisable it didn't really cause us any problems other than having to go downstairs to the loo in the night.The bathroom was small but adequate and there was plenty of Hot Water on an evening, in fact please be careful as it could get too hot, and there was a shower curtain.
It was early May 2012 and very quiet in Galissas with only one small supermarket open with limited supplies, but as we eat out every night adequate for our needs. There is more choice available in the nearby village of Finikas, 5 mins by car or a 30 min walk and in the main town an adundance of shops and lovely fresh fruit and veg. No ATM or money changing facilities in Galissas but plenty of banks and ATM's in Ermopoli which is 20 mins away on the direct bus. The thing I missed most was a bakery, but again 2 good ones in Finikas and loads in Ermopoli.
In Galissas there are a couple of souvenir shops, a coffee shop, a fast food outlet (very good Gyros) and a couple of restaurants open in early season, the number increases later in the season as many Greeks from the mainland holiday here in July and August, there is also a campsite.
Don't worry about the shortage of Restaurants though, the Sunset is open all year round, the last one on the main parade, next to the mini market. Kostas the owner is a superb cook and delighted us most nights with food not even on the menu, Vassili the waiter is really nice and helpful although he doesn't speak any English. We ate here every night except 2.
The village has a spacious friendly bar which is open all year round complete with cable TV, a pool table and various board games as well as outside seating, the fast food outlet is next door and as they are run by two brothers, you can get food in the bar. The bar has a good range of spirits and for beer lovers CRAFT BEER (only bottled available) but the red ale and black lager are both worth a try.
We spent a lot of time walking aroung the area and if you do go walking then please ensure that you take plenty of water with you, on many of our walks there were no supermarkets or Taverna's to stop for a drink. The area is quite hilly and when it is hot there is little shade. Please do not attempt to walk to Agios Stephanos cave when it has been raining, or in the heat of the afternoon and never go alone. It would be so easy to twist an ankle on the later part of the walk down to the cave and no one can hear you.
I could go on & on about this place, I loved it and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SemiRetiredCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have been visiting Galissas Studios several times durind many years and have always been more than satisfied. Fantastic Alexandra and Yiannis - nice and helpful persons - take good care of every visitor. Location peaseful and quiet - not far from the village with pretty nice restaurants and tavernas. Good bus connections to Ermoupoli - the capital of the island. Galissas Studios has also a rent a car service with clean confortable small cars to reasonable prices.
Galissas beach is fine and the studio pool is fantastic. Yiannis controls every day carefully the water quality which is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rainer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have just returned from our trip to Syros, and we stayed in the Galissas Studios room 2.
Firstly the Village is very quiet and very relaxing , only two small market shops, at best 6 or 7 restaurants,there is a fine sandy beach and then to to the left hand side of the beach is steps to a small rocky nudest beach which is very quiet and great for snorkling.Our stay was over two weeks but we went to Santorini for three nights which was wonderfull.The Olympic rep for galissas was Yiannis and his wife Alexanda who were always there to answer and daft tourist type questions they must have been asked for a thousand times ,but Yiannis was wonderfull he could'nt have done more to help us .The room was kep very clean and linnen changed every day and fresh towels .It is set back of the main road that runs through the village and doesnt realy have a view of anything , no sea views.But apart from that down side it was very well kept very quiet and very clean.But my lasting memory will be the friendliness and helpfullness of Yiannis.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EdinburghBoy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My sister, nephew and I stayed here in July 2011.
We were booked for a week but as it happened had to leave after 2 days due to a sudden family bereavment. In hindsight I wish we had asked for another apartment.
Positives- a beautiful location, peaceful gardens and the resort seemed ideal - fairly quiet but with enough activity and facilities.
Our Olympic rep Onya on Mykonos could not be faulted - a lovely person.
Negatives -Our front door and so called 'terrace'was at eye level with the corpulent bodies lying on sun beds in the pool and within splashing distance of the pool. It was tiny and so near the sun beds that we could count the pores on those reclining there.
The apartment consisted of a lower room with 2 beds, table and small kitchen area.
The upper area was accessed by very unsafe tiled, slippery steep stairs, no handrail.
There was a bedroom here and a balacony with pool view, but really unsuitable for eating or drinkinking as everything had to be carried up and down the very difficult stairs.
Just to say we were not decrepit although middle aged, fit and my nephew is 20 years of age.
Sadly we had to leave in an extreme hurry and Onya helped us so much.
However there was a travel agent 'George' to whom my sister read out my credit card number on the way to Athens airport. This was the SKY and SEA agency in Mykonos.
On return and in receipt of my credit card bill it appeared that the kindly 'George' had paid himself £160 for his hard work of booking our flights home.
As up to now I have had no success in receiving an explanation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cinibulk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for two weeks and absolutely loved it. Definitely the best accommodation in Galissas as it was conveniently situated and had a pool. The bouganvillea was a problem for our neighbours as it had taken over the view and sunshine but it harboured delightful little birds at night! We would happily return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We've just got back from a memorable two-week stay at these studios. We had a one bedroom apartment for four people and found the accomodation superb. As others have already commented, the rooms are cleaned and provided with fresh towel and bed linnen every day! There is no noise at night, despite being only 150m from the tavernas and bars, and the air conditioning is provided in the cost of the holiday, so you should be able to get a good night's rest. Yiannis and Alexandra will take care of your requests and enquiries. There is no Olympic rep on the island so Yiannis is the guy to go to for your information. He runs the Galissas Tours office on the corner in the village.
The pool is on the small side at about 12m long, but is very clean, with plenty of shade available, and is a pleasant place to relax. The pool is only for the residents and there is no pool-bar, which means you'll have to go to the supermarket for supplies.
Galissas is a holiday resort with no concessions to the foreign tourists. When we were there, 75% of the holiday-makers were Greek, and Galissas reflects this, The atmosphere is totally Greek. Afternoon siestas, late dining and very late nights in the bars are the order of the day, but there is surprisingly little noise.
The beach is in three sections. The southern end is blue flag, clean and very busy after about mid-day. Two beds and an umbrella will set you back €7.0 for the day, don't sit on the front row. The water at this end is very shallow for about 100m, perfect for the kids to play safely, and the bottom is sandy, no problem getting in and out. The centre section is a little less tidy, but has a small playground and a snack bar at the rear. The northerly end has no facillities and is a bit rockier, but has good shade from stands of Tamarisk trees. Since the beach is composed of fine sand, it can be a trial on a windy day.
There are a lot of motorcyclists about the village, but they are not in organised gangs and there are wild-campers at the nudist beach. There may be only three tavernas, but there are about ten places where you can get a full meal, including bars and grill rooms. Potions szes are generous and prices are reasonable. If you want more variety, you will find it in the town, which is a 15 minute bus ride away. The town is a wonderful place to visit, and is a "must see". For alternative dining, there are about six tavernas in Finikas, a thirty-five minute walk or five minute bus ride away. The nearest Pharmacy is just this side of Finikas, and there are plenty more in the town. The bus service is very good. There are two routes. One goes clock-wise straight to the town and the other goes anti-clockwise round the the coastal villages, ending up in the town. The fare is €1.60 for any length of journey and both services are hourly, with a late return from Ermopoulis.
If you are with Olympic, then you need to know about the transfer. If you are coming from Gatwick and are delayed, or are on the Manchester flight, then the ferry will not go from Mykonos until 9:30 at night. It goes firstly to Tinos and then to Syros and the whole journey takes about one hour. When you disembark in Syros, go to the right, Yannis will be holding up an "Olympic" sign and waiting for you with the coach and should get you to your room before midnight. All this means that you will have several hours to kill in Mykonos while you wait for the ferry. For €3.50 per person, the coach company will take you to their office at the old port, where you can leave your bags in a locked room at a cost of €2.50 per item, they will give you a ticket. You can then take the short walk into town, have a drink and a meal, look round the classy shops and people watch. Be aware that Mykonos is frighteningly expensive, especially in the Little Venice district. Prices on Syros are much more reasonable. Go back to the office one hour before the ferry time, reclaim your luggage and pay your transfer fee. A coach will then take you to catch the ferry at the new port. When you get there, you are on your own, and will have to lug your bags for several hundred yards to the point where the ferry docks, so be aware and don't be afraid to ask the port police where to go.

Room Tip: Go for an up-stairs apartment if given the choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank griffithcelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a family holiday here when I was pregnant... we needed somewhere peaceful, comfy and nice to just chill out. This place was all of those!

Basic but comfy room (much less basic than many greek places I've stayed in!), lots of space and immaculately clean linen. The kitchen had everything we needed. Lovely pool area and really nice to have proper tables and chairs with sunshades to sit and have meals outside. It's all kept really clean.

Restaurants, shops etc are just a short walk away, and nice beach a little further. The location of the studios is great - very peaceful but not far to walk to everything.

For a really relaxing family holiday (or as a couple) these studios and Galissas itself were perfect. We'd definitely go back.

Do take a walk up the hill to the tiny church to see the sunset, and Ermoupolis is well worth a visit - my son (age 6) loved the industrial museum there. Ano Syros is also well worth the walk - we got a taxi as far up as possible then walked... lots. It's really beautiful. Be warned though that pretty much all the shops in Ermoupolis shut in the afternoon (I'm sorry I can't remember at what time! We take our watches off on holiday! 3pm?)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank letsgotothebeachmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galissas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 4 in Galissas
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay Family Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Remvi Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Kythnos Bay Hotel
Kythnos Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kithnos
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peter & Tony Rooms
Peter & Tony Rooms
#7 of 12 in Galissas
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Rooms & Studios
Oasis Rooms & Studios
#4 of 12 in Galissas
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galissas Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galissas Studios

Property: Galissas Studios
Address: Galissas Beach, Galissas 841 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Galissas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Galissas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Galissas Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galissas Studios Hotel Siros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing