We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly holiday resort”
Review of Galissas Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galissas Studios
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly holiday resort”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Had a lovely relaxing two week stay at Galissas studios. The first room we were allocated was looking out onto the pool and was a bit tatty, which I could have lived with, however the air con did not work so we asked Yannis, the owner, if there was another room we could have and after a bit of uming and ahhing he gave us a more modern room around the side of the complex. He was very nice about it in the end and I was very grateful as there were 3 of us and the new room was bigger and more private. Both Yannis and his wife were friendly and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. The resort was quiet, perhaps due to fewer Greeks holidaying there, and there is a limited number of tavernas and bars but we alternated between 3 tavernas and did not get bored with the food. The cost was reasonable (35 - 45 euros food and drink for 3). The sea was beautiful - clear but cold but we did not sit on the beach as its not our thing. I agree with the other favorable reports and would come back here.

Room Tip: Rooms around pool would be less private when the studios were busier however they would be more conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

My hubby an I have just returned fro 2 lovely relaxing weeks at Galissa Studios. The room was well equipped with a/c at no extra cost-the unit didn't work very well so we saw Yanni and it was fixed whilst we were out! Brilliant.
The room was thoroughly cleaned every day with clean sheets and towels every other day. All the staff were really smiley and spoke to us every day. Its a proper family run establishment. We were collected from the port and dropped back again at the end.
The pool is small and really clean, it was also very quiet during the day so felt like our own personal one!
The studios are a 5 min walk from the main street where there's a small selection of taverna and nice bars. Angelina's breakfasts are huge, and Mastrali's do a fine Mojito!
prices are good too, a 2 course dinner for 2 with wine was €25-30.
The well serviced but slightly scruffy beach is just around the corner and gets very busy at weekends. An umbrella and 2 sunbeds costs €7. The sunbeds have seen better days but the beach staff work hard to keep them in as good conditionas poss and there is very little rubbish etc.
There are busses every hour from the main carpatk to take you either to Hermopouli (port) which is buzzing with cafes and tavernas, or lots of other beaches. A change of bus at the port and you can go to trendy Kini, lots of younger people there, bit more crowded. However, if you like waves, here there are some really big ones and we had lots of fun!
From the port you can get the ferry to Mykonos, which is really busy and much more expensive, lots of cruise ships and tourists with huge cameras! We prefer Siros!
We really enjoyed our stay -Galissas Studios were lovely and I would go back again. Siros is a windy island but the breeze keeps you cool. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have been visiting this accomodation for several years now, from the first occaision we have found thw owners Alexander and Yiannis very warm helpful and having the essential sense of humour which I have noted from time to time can get lost in translation with the less experienced in Greek humour....we have always had a one bedroomed apartment which has been spotlessly clean and the sheets and towels changed frequently, the pool is attended to and maintained daily by Yiannis who is up with the lark every morning and Alexander is not far behind in the start of her day, they are both very approachable and attentive to everyones needs,,, Galissas beach and those in the surrounding area are great to visit, Galissas is very safe for children there being shallow water to choose from very little if any currents and protected by Marina breakwater.with
..many good places to eat in the area

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOHNRI3647AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Following a wonderful holiday here in May 2012 we decided to go back. This resort is for those who like the way Greece used to be, unspoilt by tourism. If you want English food then go elsewhere, if you want pubs and nightclubs then you won't like it. if you enjoy Greek hospitality, a place where Greeks go on holiday, a few English people on holiday who love Greece and enjoy a bit walking then it's lovely.
Okay all the rooms are varied in size and shape, some small, some larger, but it's a base not an all inclusive 5 star resort. Alexandra and her assistant keep the rooms immaculately CLEAN and there is a kettle and a shower curtain!
Yiannis cleans the pool every day
The only issue we had this year with Galissas village was the number of cats around and in the main bar. This could be because I hate cats to be around where there is food and/or drink but it won't stop me going back and Michaela the owner of the bar is really friendly.
If you go get a map and explore, jump on the bus and get off at different villages and then walk back.
Finnikas is a pretty bay with a good supermarket and a great bakery.
Kini is a fair trek and a bit hilly but worth the walk. Take water as there are no shops or Taverna's on route.
Ermoupoli is the port and main town, it has wonderful harbour front cafe's, A lovely square and fantastic views from the Catholic Church at the top of the hill. Plenty of pharmacies, fruit shops, banks, butchers etc.
My favourite place to eat is the Sunset, although more a restaurant then a tavern, Kostas the owner and chef will do his best to serve food you like. Not all the food on the menu sounds traditional Greek, but we ate there most nights.
Be aware that the nearest ATM/bank is in Ermoupoli and don't take travellers cheques as they can be only cashed at the National Bank who make a big charge. Credit cards are accepted in most of the Taverna's.
The only problem we had with the package itself was the Olympic welcome in Mykonos. We were not given any information at all when dumped at the port. Luckily we had been before and knew where to go and what to do both at the port and when we arrived in Syros.
Despite being ill for 3 days we had a lovely holiday and hope to see Yiannis and Alexandra again next year if not before.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SemiRetiredCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have just returned from 10th or 11th stay at this wonderful place! We love Galissas and we especially love staying at Galissas Studios with Yiannis and Alexandra, the studios are well maintained, rooms are cleaned daily and sheets/bed linen are changed ever other day. We have made many friends here wit the Greeks as well as with other holidaymakers who also return regularly. For us it is a very special place and as Yiannis always says to us when we go back 'welcome home' it is a second home to us where we can switch off to the rest of the big bad world and relax :) Thank you Yiannis and Alexandra and we will see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FirstLadyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We have been coming to Galissas studios for more years than I care to remember, both as a couple and as a family. We have always felt special and very well looked after by Yiannis and Alexandra who always go out of their way to help you - they are wonderful people. I remember when we turned up with our then baby daughter 11 years ago - we had not told them I was expecting, but they were delighted, as they are with any children that arrive and pay very special attention to them.
We always come to the island independent of any travel agent during October and often at Easter too. You cannot beat the tranquillity and perfect weather then! Great island to cycle around too! An excellent place for a family as it is so safe, and always a total switch off for us. Yiannis and Alexandra keep the apartments, gardens and pool areas immaculate and take great pride in their high standards - so different from many other places in Greece

There is just something about the place that brings you back time after time, and we are not the only ones this applies too - we have made some great friends who feel the same way too!!

Galissas is our little sanctuary of sorts and our favourite holiday of the year. We can't wait to come back in October! A truly wonderful place

Room Tip: we always like the rooms facing out to catcah the early morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ponulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Having been a holiday rep and lived and stayed in many Greek Islands, I have to say this has got to be the baddest I have ever stayed in. Galissas itself is not a bad place but please be so careful when booking this with Olympic of what room you may end up in. Like the other negative reviews, our room was so small we had to leave our suitcases on the floor and boil our kettle on the bin, when I complained to Olympic, they said I had only booked a studio for 2, well so did our neighbours and there room was a lot better, It didn't help matters that when I asked the owner to speak to the Rep, he wouldn't let me use the phone so we had to use our own mobiles - when we did speak to the Rep (Jo) she was most unhelpful which we should have realised as when we arrived in Mykonos, she shoved an Olympic brochure in our hands, told us the wrong coach, then when we did finally get our coach we were basically "dumped" at the Port with nobody to tell us which boat to get and there was a also some poor woman with 2 young children that wasn't even going to Syros - God knows what happened to her. Because we were unhappy, the owner was quite rude to us and seem to only have time for repeat guests - who I must say, must be quite deluded to want to come back to this place. We have used Olympic quite frequently in the past and probably because of the Rep who did nothing to try to resolve the situation we are happier to pay more (as we have done recently with Thomson and had a fab holiday), to get the service that we pay for. The only good thing I can say about these studios is that they are clean and the lady who cleans the rooms is a Gem and we maid sure we tipped her well before we left -please don't forget her as she did her best in such a confined claustrophobic room. Again, please tell Olympic holidays if you do book here that you do not want the tiny studio rooms as there are bigger ones even for 2 people.

Room Tip: Ask for the studios for 2 which are bigger than the smaller ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank peteandmandy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galissas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 4 in Galissas
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Bay Family Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Remvi Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Kythnos Bay Hotel
Kythnos Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kithnos
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peter & Tony Rooms
Peter & Tony Rooms
#7 of 12 in Galissas
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Rooms & Studios
Oasis Rooms & Studios
#4 of 12 in Galissas
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galissas Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galissas Studios

Property: Galissas Studios
Address: Galissas Beach, Galissas 841 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Galissas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Galissas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Galissas Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galissas Studios Hotel Siros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing