We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antique furnishings and haut cuisine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brionne
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Antique furnishings and haut cuisine”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed for one night en-route from Bergerac to the UK. Very conveniently located and quite a revelation when you enter what seems like a fairly ordinary hotel from the outside.
Very comfortable rooms lavished with antique furniture, but with modern TV (no English programmes though) and room fridge. We slept well with no noise from the adjacent road.
The restaurant however was very modern, comfortable and beautifully lit. Two menu's on offer at 32 and 58.5 euros, with exciting ambitious dishes on each. A lovely amuse-bouche and pre starter and even a surprise second desert! The four of us tried almost all the dishes between us, and there were no disappointments throughout. Beautifully cooked and presented dishes, and a knowledgeable and very competent staff. The home baked bread was lovely too and just one example of the effort that the chef went to. A good selection of wine too.
Breakfast was extra, but again showed a high level of loving care in the selection of food and presentation. Good English spoken too - just what I need to my shame.
Overall this was quite a special place to stop. I couldn't afford to stay there too often, but for an anniversary or other occasion it is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
6
38
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Took a stopover en route to South West France. Hotel is in the small town of Brionne situated on a roundabout just outside the centre. Despite the location the double glazing kept out all noise and we had a good nights sleep. Our hotel choice was determined by the Logis guide which gave it a "table of distinction" grading and it did not disappoint. Wonderful quality menu for 32 euros and a superb wine list. If your priority is very good food and you are happy with simple but comfortable accommodation then this is a hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iznajar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

It would appear that my earlier review of this place never got posted, so I feel I have to put this right. We have come to know Joelle and Alain as the consummate professionals they are, living and breathing their business. Unassuming and professional, but friendly. We have stayed there on a few occasions now, and arrange our travels in such a way that we can go and stay, and, more importantly, dine there.
The rooms are very well-appointed and large, with very comfortable beds. It is clean, and we can honestly say that we have never heard any street noise at all.
The restaurant makes the experience complete. Alain is obviously a very accomplished chef, but keeps working to improve his knowledge and surprise his diners. During our last stay we were spoilt with his home-made macaroons with a goose live filling. Orgasmic!
As ever, home-made and freshly-cooked food probably comes at a price, as a fellow chef I know this well enough, but it is absolutely worth paying the few euros extra! Joëlle and Alain we are already looking forward to our visit in November or December!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Over priced,chi chi restaurant,,dull room,hard mattress,no welcome,no offer of help with luggage although I was using a walking stick! would only use if you were desperate.
Our usual stop in this area had a problem and cancelled so this was a last minute replacement.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank speedjspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirtlington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The Good News - La patronne makes great efforts to please and speaks English; the other staff are pleasant; the wine list is good. On the other hand . . . Brionne is a decent little town but not chic or classy. The hotel is on a busy roundabout used by trucks, among all other traffic, from daybreak; rooms facing the road can be noisy. Being charged 90 euros for an ordinary room that would cost 60 in similar places was exorbitant. The Michelin Guide stickers on the front door are no guarantee of a consistent standard. The "cheap" menu is 29 euros, the only others are 55-62 euros, a single main course is 35. The disappointments - a lobster assemblage in which the crustacean was overcooked (twice cooked?), tough and tasteless: rolls more carapaced than crusty: a pig's trotter converted into an egg-free Scotch egg: a vegetable melange containing a baby turnip which had barely time in the pot to get warm, never mind al dente. Some of the food was tasty, none of it worth what was charged. The Logis is much used by commercial travellers who get a better deal than the hapless tourist.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lelogisdebrionne, Propriétaire at Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Google Translation
Encore une fois, je me demande ce qui pousse les clients à de tels écrits alors que :

1/ dès leur arrivée, nous montrons la chambre et le client peut toujours ne pas la prendre, voire demander d’en visiter une autre

2/ alors que tout au long du séjour, on demande si « tout se passe bien » : chambre, à table lors du dîner , etc. : ces clients ne disent rien : dès lors, comment réagir, comment régler un problème s’il y en a vraiment un ???

3/ pour ce qui est du repas, je vous renvoie aux critiques « positives », désolée que le homard breton n’ait pas plu, ni les pieds de porc aux truffes , ni les légumes de notre maraîcher : mais si on ne me dit rien, je ne peux rien faire !!!

4 /pour ce qui est du bruit , il y en a peut-être un peu plus en ce moment car la Mairie de Brionne « decent little town but not chic or classy » rénove le centre ville et la circulation est déviée
Je voudrais noter également que je n'ai pas la date précise du séjour de ces clients, ni leur nom de famille donc je ne peux savoir s'il y a eu quelque chose de particulier à brionne

En tout cas, chaque client est important et nous n’établissons aucune différence entre un commercial et un touriste : preuve en est la quantité de touristes anglais qui descendent régulièrement chez nous, depuis des années !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stopped here with friends on our way to Le Mans 24 hours and were very well looked after by Joelle and her Staff. Comfortable rooms and excellent Restaurant made our stay perfect, one of the best meals we've ever had in France and cetainly the best of the weekend.
Would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat here, not cheap but worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haute-Vienne, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here in April 2011 on our way to the Dordogne.

After checking into our room - which was excellent - we had a few drinks on the terrace. Although the price of the drinks was possibly slightly higher than a local bar, each drink was accompanied by a plate of delicious canapes or petit fours.

The food surpassed all our expectations, and having dined in various Michelin establishments in the UK, I consider this restaurant well worthy of a similar honour. It was one of the most wonderful meals I have ever had, served by knowldgeable and professional staff.

Thank you Joelle and Alain for a fabulous stay. Next time we drive down through France we will certainly make sure we call and see you again.

Phil and Sandra Russell

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brionne
10.7 mi away
Acropole Hotel
Acropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
9.4 mi away
Acadine Hotel
Acadine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Le Neubourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
12.3 mi away
Armony Hotel
Armony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bourg-Achard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
#1 of 1 in Campigny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
9.0 mi away
Le Lion D'or
Le Lion D'or
#2 of 3 in Bernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
17.5 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne

Property: Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne
Address: 1 Place Saint Denis, 27800 Brionne, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Brionne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brionne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Brionne, opposite an old roman church, the logis follows its pleasant life-style. An art in itself, which starts with an enticing table. Discover the elegance of a decidedly contemporary decor and the surprising inventions of the chef Alain Depoix who demands the best seasonal ingredients. His cooking has roots in regional cooking as well as modern french cuisine. 12 rooms fully equipped - lift ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing