We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel, servizio e località eccellenti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saturnia
Certificate of Excellence
Torino Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel, servizio e località eccellenti”
Reviewed 21 September 2007

I stayed in this hotel during the first week of september. Normally I choose my room in five-star hotels and this hotel is ... perfect. The Hotel is wonderful with an amazing location. The service is excellent with staff willing to make your stay confortable. in this season it's possible to eat near the natural pool of spa. Rooms are quite spacious. The spa is wonderful too. The relation beetween quality and price is great!. I'll stay the next year.

  • Liked — tutto
  • Disliked — niente
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Simange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    298
    101
    43
    36
See reviews for
176
584
46
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We had the opportunity to be in the Terme di Saturnia Hotel for a complimentary three-days stay, in a junior suite, bed and breakfast.

The hotel is a very nice and big structure, with a golf course (there are still some work in progress...), tennis courses, and, of course, the thermal pools.
The main pool, with a rocky bottom, is really deep, and the water is more than warm (37 degrees celsius).
Starting from the lobby, you can smell sulphur (hey it's a real spa, after all), and this smell is just about everywhere.

There are also complimentary jacuzzis (with thermal water, of course), and smal waterfalls, together with shallower pools.
When you don't feel like bathing, you can relax by the pool, have a drink (not so expensive).

Breakfast is very good (you have also low-cal options), and the two restaurants (one poolside, but U have to consider the smell...) serve good (if not excellent) food for a reasonable price.

Our room (a junior suite) was very spacious, with marble everywhere.

Service was good and professional, and you have a great variety of treatments to choose from (they don't come cheap, though).

All in all, a great experience, if you want to relax, in marvellous Maremma (don't miss to visit the nearby Montemerano, Sovana and Pitigliano, and go wine tasting in Scansano, for a great Morellino)

  • Liked — The pools, beautiful sorroundings, great rooms
  • Disliked — non-free Internet access, very early dinner (for italian standards)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Giobatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2006

Hotel Terme di Saturnia was the last of three stops (Villa Zuccari and Fonte di Medici) on a three week holiday to Italy in September, 2006. Since my husband has MS and is very dependent on a wheelchair, accessibility was an important factor in planning our trip. Having stayed at Hotel Terme di Saturnia previously in 2003 when my husband had greater mobility, we were familiar with the facility and felt confident that it would be wheelchair-friendly. We were not disappointed.
We had a junior suite which had a handicapped bathroom with a wheel in shower and sink and grab bars, as well as a regular bathroom with a tub and separate shower stall. The room was large enough to comfortably maneuver a wheelchair. The dining rooms, bar, lounge areas, gift shops and many of the spa treatment rooms are on the first floor and easily accessible by wheelchair. Prior to our arrival when I contacted the spa to schedule treatments, I explained my husband's physical limitations. They were very helpful in suggesting the appropriate treatments for him and for arranging treatments in ground level rooms. Access to the pool was a bit of a challenge. However, the pool attendants were very attentive and were always available to assist in whatever way they could.
Hotel Terme di Saturnia initially can be a bit intimidating to first time English-speaking only visitors, in as much as it is an European spa and a large number of guests are not speaking English. However, many of the staff, particularly those in key positions, speak English quite well and are extremely courteous and helpful. The exception is the spa where many of those providing treatments have limited English-speaking skills. That really is not a problem, since gestures and a few words can easily facilitate communication.
During this visit and our previous visit at no time did we feel that, as Americans, we were treated any differently than the European guests. In fact, we sensed that there was a genuine interest in attracting more U.S. visitors. A new golf course is in the works.
One changed we noticed since our last visit was that upon arrival guests were given an orientation of the facility. Our orientation was given by Marcella who almost daily inquired as to whether we had questions or any special needs. Another new feature was a singles table in the dining room for any guests who were alone and wished to meet others. Almost every night there was a staff member at the table to assist the guests. It appeared to be quite successful. With regard to the dining room, we were more than pleased with the variety and quality of food at both breakfast and dinner. Desserts were works of art! Overall the service was excellent and dining poolside was a real treat.
Hotel Terme di Saturnia is expensive, however we felt that all things considered, it was worth what we paid for our seven nights stay. We would highly recommend Hotel Terme di Saturnia to anyone who wants a truely relaxing Italian country side experience in a first class setting.

  • Liked — Relaxing environment
  • Disliked — Getting there
  • Tips/Secrets — Book spa treatments in advance
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Hotel Terme di Saturnia is a lovely, yet expensive, spa/resort in the south of Tuscany. It's hard to find as there are no signs to the property as there are for the majority of hotels, B&Bs, etc in Italy.

TIP: Call the hotel and get directions as the roads are slow and winding, travel times are much longer than anticipated. Hotel Terme di Saturnia's main entrance is a gated area with a marble waterfall. The word SATURNIA is behind the water and is very difficult to see in daylight nad impossible to see at night. Arrive during the day.

The majority of the guests at this spa are Italians and are over 50. Don't expect to find a young crowd here. The spa services are good, food is nice and the thermal pools, although sulfur smelling, are quite relaxing.

Our major complaint, other than the very high price, was that the hotel seems to be slightly intolerant of English speaking people, and especially Americans. TIP: Learn plenty of Italian and you will have a better experiance.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beds are much harder than in most luxury hotels. You will find marble everywhere! It's very much what one would expect in Italy.

It this the Fountain of Youth? Based on the age of the clientele, perhaps. But if you are looking for a luxury spa, this is the place. Once you complete your visit here, make sure you visit Pitligiano. It's beautiful.

  • Liked — Relaxing.
  • Disliked — Cost. Hard to find.
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan in advance. Get good directions. Have plenty of money.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barisarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2006

I went to the Spa with my Mum, we had a wonderful 4 Days of girly relaxation, treatments and good food. The rooms were very large and comfortable, there were treatments, pools, showers and relaxation area's for every taste, the staff were very pleasant although spa staff spoke little english. It is a long drive from the airport but it was worth the distance, I would go again either as a girls break or just with my mum, also I would like to return with my husband as next year they open the Golf course and this will make it the perfect short trip. Excellent all round.

  • Liked — Large and luxurious
  • Tips/Secrets — Relaxation rather than excitment
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KerryJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2006

I love this place, although I do know other people who aren't keen on the all-pervading sulphur smell.

It's not cheap, but the staff are charming and the rooms fine - not five star but perfectly comfortable and clean. The basket of goodies in the room was a nice touch, and we were charmed by the fact that even the children were given fluffy white bathrobes to wear.

We enjoyed the food which was fairly light, lots of fresh local produce and well cooked and presented.

The actual spa is extraordinary. Warm, sulferous water in ever permutation imaginable. I can't personally recommend drinking it although many people do. We enjoyed swimming, lolling, standing under the various theraputic fountains. There was a great mix of people there, some older but also plenty of younger couples and enough families with children that we didn't feel out of place.

I haven't been to spas in the US, I imagine it's probably not as luxurious as some but we found it fun and very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nix123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2006

This is one of the most unique places in the world and the management knows it. If you are looking for value, forget it. A stay here should be clasified as an extravagant splurge in your budget. The rooms, staff and spa are true old world european. As such expect to pay. pay and pay. Worth a trip once in your life.

On the down side, the restaurant is mediocre. The club is quaint and the staff incredibly compliant.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saturnia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
1.5 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Complesso il Gorello
Complesso il Gorello
#3 of 5 in Saturnia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bagno Santo Hotel
Bagno Santo Hotel
#5 of 5 in Saturnia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.9 mi away
Saturnia Residence
Saturnia Residence
#15 of 15 in Manciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort
Address: SP Follonata, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Saturnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saturnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort is on the site of a thermal spring gushing constantly at 37°C. An overriding philosophy of seeking harmony with the natural environment is reflected in its award-winning SPA, in the design of the 140 guest rooms, in the 18-hole championship Golf Course and in the the two restaurants offering fine Mediterranean and Gourmet cuisine under the auspices of a celebrated one Michelin-starred chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Terme di Saturnia Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing