We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Catch it while you can....”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Saturnia, Manciano, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Honestver...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Catch it while you can....”
Reviewed 9 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The trouble with Tuscany is that it’s Italy’s Cotswolds - a rural idyll that’s so perfect it has become iconic and the whole world wants to be there.
The immaculate villages and lavishly-restored farmhouses are populated by beautiful people with beautiful cars dining in beautifully expensive local restaurants.
Tuscany has become more of a theme park for wealthy incomers than a place to immerse in anything like a genuine Italian escape.
Which is why Maremma and Fontenuova are such a wonderful discovery.
Maremma is wild Tuscany, a beautiful area in the south west of the region with stunning scenery peppered with delightful medieval hilltop towns and villages - so far untainted by excessive tourism or second-homing.
Fontenuova is an agro-tourism, working farmstead of around 70 acres, hidden down a rough track on a hillside beneath the beautiful thermal village of Saturnia in the heart of Maremma.
It is an absolute delight and a wonderful escape from the stresses of Northern European life.
Based around a tastefully restored and equipped (but not lavishly overdone) farmhouse, it combines local heritage with great style and rustic charm - embellished with an eclectic, if dusty, mix of art and furnishings.
It offers peace, tranquility, gobsmacking views, colourful gardens, private adventures by the riverside - and swimming in clean cool rock pools and its own warm thermal, waterfall-fed lagoon.
Conquer the bumpy track - where the old Roman cobbles still show through in places - and there’s easy access up a short but steep hill to the bars, restaurants, shops, square and cobbled streets of Saturnia village.
Here visitors are very welcome and well catered for - but in early June they were pleasingly in the minority.
I fell in love with Fontenuova - and Maremma - from the moment I arrived.
Across the world I’ve found many amazing places to escape and explore, where you can be comfortable but still enjoy an experience that is different and unspoiled and memorable.
This ranks high in my top ten. It really is very nice - so catch it while you can!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise I
1 review
“Exactly what we imagined! The perfect Tuscan Villa!”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This property has the best of both worlds: Old stone Tuscan villa, but remodeled and expanded to be comfy and has everything you could want in the kitchen, etc. The property includes outdoor eating and cooking space, a pool and the caretakers, Matt & Sara, are the absolutely most warm and hospitable hosts you could ever want. We miss them already! If we could afford it, we'd be back every year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley G
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have traveled to some beautiful places in the world, but none of them can compare to this beautiful place which really is Home from Home, in an idilicic rustic setting, managed by Matt and Sarah, with out their hard work the place would not be the same.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHighla...
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous week”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent 1 week with 2 families in Il Casale - 4 adults and our 7 children between 10 and 18. The house, the garden and the pool area very much lived up to our expectations of finding a completely renovated, charming and fully equipped vacation home. The panoramic views from the house, the patio and the pool area are fantastic, and the pool, table-tennis, badminton court, the lawn and a nearby soccer court (for rent) provide plenty of opportunity to have fun with kids. Also, there are many places to sit or lie down and simply relax in and around the house. All rooms and the kitchen are fully equipped, and cooking and eating with 11 people works well. Airconditioning is available for hot days (which we had) and does its job.
The house is somewhat remote at the end of a gravel road so that we were completely undisturbed and could not disturb anyone. Saturnia is close by - 5 minutes by car, 20 minutes of a somewhat strenuous uphill walk. There are a handful of restaurants and a small store to buy bread, milk etc., but the next supermarket is about 25min away in Manciano, so grocery shopping should be done with some planning.
We were welcomed with the words that "nature is welcome and present in Agriturismo Fontenuova", and we did in fact live with the cats, saw foxes, porcupine, snakes (one being killed by the cats with us watching), and had to accept (unwelcome) wasps when eating outside. We loved the experience, but if you are not ready for this kind of narure, this place probably is not for you. If you are, you can stroll around the farm and even enjoy a private thermal pool down at the river.
Matt and Sarah as our hosts were very responsive and helpful when we asked for support. We had easy access to them as they live on the other side of the gravel road while being completely undisturbed for the rest of the time. They helped us finding a doctor when we needed one and booking the soccer court which had just opened and required some research to make reservations.
All in all a terrific vacation experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
excellent! Thankyou so much for you very detailed review, this is exactly what we like, you didnt tell us about the cats Killing a snake, although we know that they do, well we could say they are doing their job and all the food our guests give them dosent stop them from doing it.
we are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay here and do hope you consider us again maybe,
thanks again
kind regard Sarah and Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing