We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place 5km from center and next to the beach”
Review of Song Xanh Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Song Xanh Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Duong To B&B and Inns
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet place 5km from center and next to the beach”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Nice bungalow resort:kitchen, fridge, bathroom and big bed.(the bed is hard) extra fee for gas(60000 Dong per kilo).They provide breakfast too. at the reception they speak some english and a little german.we made a online reservation and marked pick up service from the airport, but it
did not work.
All in all a good choice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a quiet hotel with basic rooms arranged like a small village. The room was quite large and very clean, with two fans (no a/c), a bed with a decent mosquito net and a tv which didn't actually work. The bathroom has an open roof but it is bright with plants, some toiletries and a very good hot shower. I didn't eat breakfast, but they have a basic breakfast menu and drinks at very reasonable prices. The hotel is at the far end of Long Beach, which is very quiet, it takes 5 or 10 minutes to walk there - the beach and sea is much quieter at this end, but if you want to walk further along the beach towards the town there are lots of small hotels and restaurants with sunbeds which are free. A taxi to the airport is 150VND and the taxis find the resort easily.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latona7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights and liked it. The price is low for a bungalow. Room was nice and clean with a mosquito net. Only thing was the mattress: very thin, so the bed was a little hard.

Beach is about 200m. It is a few kilometers from the main town, so you need a motorbike or taxi - or you walk along the beach, which I have done a couple of times (about 30 minutes).

Staff is friendly, one of them spoke good English and one a little German. Seemed like a family business to me.

The place is now a little easier to find as they have bigger signs on the main road. Also, most taxi drivers seemed to know where it is.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnieDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice, the bathroom has an open roof. It's also a small kitchen there, but we didn't use it. The service was great. They have no own beachpart, but you can use some chairs of an closed resort or you can go to the neighbour-hotel for 5$/day including a cocktail.
It's 3km away from the nightmarket, it's outside the citycenter, but quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froschi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This place is quite hard to find. Best way to find Song Xanh is look for Safari bar along the main road. If you're coming from the town, it's around 300 meters on your right. You will see a narrow dirt road. There are signs but Song Xanh is quite hard to spot because their sign is not very striking. But if you see Lam Ha, you're on the right street. Go in the narrow rough road then before you reach the end, you will see Song Xanh on the left.

So we finally found the place and met Tiep who was the receptionist. He showed us the rooms and we liked it so decided to rent the place. We stayed there for two months! It was cheap and the nicest place you can get for its price. We have seen some places in Phu Quoc for twice the price but wasn't even close to how nice the rooms are in Song Xanh.

The staff were really nice. Our cleaning lady, the manager and all the other people in the area were friendly. They accommodated us with all our simple needs. They gave us an extra table, a stand fan and they even lent us their grill. We felt really at home. They would even give us fruits/vegetables from their trees/plants. Mangoes were in season during our stay so we had regular supply.

They have bicycles that you can use for free. The motorbike can be rented hourly for VND20k/hour (around 1USD) if you just need to go to the market. You can also leave your important stuff at the reception (with Tiep) if you're going out.

Phu Quoc is very laid back and so are the people. Only thing, you have to have high tolerance for insects. You'll be fine inside the mosquito nets but the insect situation is something not everybody could handle.

I highly recommend Song Xanh RESORT!!

PS. There's easy access to cheap beer in this resort and they allow you to "pay later"
Also, the store across the main street offers snacks, toiletries and other basic stuff. We highly recommend trying their local rum "Chanh Rum". It's cheap (less than a dollar) and pretty good for its price. I miss Phu Quoc....

Room Tip: Get the room with blue walls. They have pink walled rooms which I think would give me a headache in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinaGrimalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel at the end of march 2013. We had a very nice and clean room with mosquito net and private bathroom for 20$. The room was cleaned every day. The staff was very helpful and tried their best to make our stay perfect. The hotel is just next to the big hotel ancient house and about 120m from long beach, which is ok but not as nice as other beaches. The hotel serves a basic but very cheap breakfast (fried eggs and bread for 1$). We rented a motorbike for 130'000 dong per day to visit the beautiful beaches on the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Franziska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Song Xanh is quite new so your driver might not know. It's next to Thai Tan Tien Guesthouse and Lam Ha Resort. All are inside a small road, about 20 meters from main street (Tran Hung Dao St). We missed the signage of Song Xanh as its design is wooden type in dark color. I'll post a photo with this review and you can see the signage. It's near the museum and near the Pearl Factory. The Fearl place has many houses & roofs are painted in blue so you can't miss it.

About 50,000 VND by taxi to night market. 3 km I think.

Follow a small cement road to beach. About 100 meters from Song Xanh. Beach is not great. Dark yellow to brown sands. I didn't bathe at all after visiting Sao Beach.

I booked a room with fan for 25 US$ no breakfast. Was not hot in early March. Slept with mosquito net. It was hung too high and not at the bed center so could not cover the bed well for one side. Bed is too small for 2. Queen size I think. Room is very basic and small so it is difficult to open the minibar under table. Floor tiles are red and rough. They gave 2 free bottles of water and free basic toiletries. The bathroom is big and has 2 long aluminium rails above your head to hang wet swimsuits.

Windows frames are wooden rails fixed horizontally with the space of 20cm in between. A thin child can climb into our room if he likes LOL. I opened them as my room had no air con. 2 windows can be closed tight by proper windows and no one can see you inside.

There's a little garden in front of the room with plants and a timber sofa/bench. Great to sit outside when it is cool in the night in the breeze. But there're mosquito. There's a basin you take water to wash your feet.

The room next door is of another resort and they had a birthday party. They sang & danced loudly at night. I didn't feel disturbed but my husband felt too noisy to sleep. Luckily they stopped around 11pm.

We ate in the restaurant next door. Song Xanh does not have lunch & dinner. Breakfast is served in the Reception room and prices are very low. No kettle in room and I asked for a hot themo pot. The staff are nice. They said if I had needed more hot water, I could always have come to take more.

Room is till new but dirty valves. When I stood to clean my teeth or when I showered, I could see white marks of tooth paste & soap of previous users. The maid did not wipe for quite long, maybe since they opened the resort. Quiet resort. Tiny space between rooms. Nice garden. Suitable for backpackers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wsea3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong To
0.3 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#48 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#9 of 15 in Duong To
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
579 reviews
14.6 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 99 in Phu Quoc Island
426 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercury Phu Quoc Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Xanh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Xanh Resort

Property: Song Xanh Resort
Address: Tran Hung Dao, Cua Lap, Duong To, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Duong To
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Song Xanh Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Long Beach / Duong Dong Town, Song Xanh Resort is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Phu Quoc Island. Situated only 3. Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town’s attractions and activities. With the city’s main attractions such as Long Beach, Coco Dive Center, Vietnam Explorer within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location. Song Xanh Resort also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Phu Quoc Island. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like car park, concierge, Wi-Fi in public areas, family room, laundry service/dry cleaning. Guests can choose from 16 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the garden. Discover an engaging blend of professional service and a wide array of features at Song Xanh Resort.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Song Xanh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Xanh Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing