We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeper stole money, but service was good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langchia Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Duong To
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Housekeeper stole money, but service was good”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

On our first day away the housekeeper took money from a purse in the room. We called management and got the money back but it kind of put a sting on the visit. Staff were very helpful. Rooms were nice but the bathroom was an inferno because it was mostly open to the outside. be pepared for water to go everywhere in the room, from showers or thunderstorms. My suitcase was frequently wet. Very nice pool (but warm) and scenic gardens although the majority of the place seemed to be slapped toegether with loose bricks and cements. They forgot to install a soap holder in the shower so you just had to leave the soap on the floor. Nice breakfast buffet with friendly staff. Nice extra to be ably to use the nicer pool at Famiana Resort. All in All was worth the cheap price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thuong N, Operation Manager at Langchia Village Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Smith806,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor !

I am terribly sorry about the problem from one of my former staff caused you on the first day of your stay at Famiana Village. Upon receiving the information from your partner Ms. Thanh that her 200.000vnd and 06 dollars was stolen. I had tried to trace out that who was the stealer in our housekeeping team, and I do thankful to your information which help us found the weak point that should not be existed at our Famiana Village. As you know, the staff who stolen your money was dismissed and punished right away.

To avoid this happened case again, I would highly remind you and all our guests to keep the value assets in the safety box which is always available in our resort. nevertheless, we will try our best and much more careful to recruit the people who honest for working in service.

Concerning to the rest of your comment about the room that water coming from outside. I do apologize for this happen and everything was fixed right after your departure.

As a new resort which has just opened since November 2013, we really need the positive comment like yours to get improve our services as well as behave of the staffs to serve our guests perfectly.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time leaving your comment about our resort, hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you how improve standard in our resort for the next stay.

Sincerely,
Thuong Nguyen
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    72
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
102
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Who am I: 30-years old Westerner male living in South East Asia.

Hotel Location: The hotel is located within walking distance of the island s main attractions (Night market (~ 2 km), best restaurants (~ 1.4 km)… ). Whether you are up for a walk, a (motor)bike ride, everything is easily accessible.
Note that there are two Famiana hotels. (Famiana Resort and Spa, which has a direct access to the beach and Famiana village, which is 350 meters away from the beach). Regardless, of where you are staying you have access to the full resort (comprising of two restaurants, two pools, the Spa and the gym).

Price, Value: Paid ~ 60 USD per night for two persons, which seemed in line with market prices. (Comparing to what my friends paid).

The room : The room are reasonably sized the AC and the fan work fine. Don’t expect astonishing design.

Other services: Bicycles are available for 2 USD/ day. Travel services and laundry are also available).

Internet: Free but extremely slow.

Breakfast included: Yes / breakfast is average. (the food is extremely “oily”).

Others: Unfortunately, during a 4 days stay, we experimented two major power cuts (first one lasting from 2 pm to 5 pm, the second one from 2 pm to 6 pm). No arrangements were made as a mean to compensation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We spend 3 days 2 nights in Phu Quoc Island and Famiana Village is our right choice. There are 2 resorts which have same name: Famiana Resort (4*) and Famiana Village (3*). They are same owner and same management. The tourists who stay in Famiana Village, they can walk around 50 meters to reach to Famiana Resort to enjoy big swimming pool and nice beach. That's its advantage :)

+ Staff's performances are very friendly and helpful, they always assist any your requests.

+ Location is not too far from Duong Dong Town. Ask receptionists to rent a motorbike (around 8USD per day) then you can reach to everywhere to this beautiful island.

+ The beach is very clean and quiet! I love it!

+ The room is nice with soft bed and pillows! Air-con works well and acceptable bath-room!

Overall, I could enjoy my stay here but I would not come back to stay again because I wanna discover other nice ones!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StevenTruong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Booked for 3 nights and found rooms comfortable and clean. No kettle, tea or coffee provided in room. Seems that they ran out of money before the resort was finished. Bathroom basin had only one industrial cold water tap- no hot water there. Water from shower leaked into bedroom area under the wall as shower is open style. No architraves or glass in bathroom windows, only insect mesh, but still felt safe.
Nice setting but gardens need some TLC. Staff very obliging but not good with English. No covers on quilts, but too hot anyway, so had to request top sheet. Breakfast buffet good but beware extra taxes 15 percent when eating at resort?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katewo255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thuong N, Operation Manager at Langchia Village Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Katewo255100,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at Famiana Village.

I am sorry to read that our room style did not meet your expectation but pleased to note the positive comments about the rooms facilities. The reason we put insect mesh instead of architrave or glass on the bathroom windows just to wish our guests could enjoy the winds from the monsoon on the island. I do hope this issue will not be affected too much to our guests who expect a closed room for the stay.
As the hotel has just completed and opened to welcome guests since November 2013 so that we have to try best to improve from positive comment like yours. However, I am sorry to correct that there are hot and cold water in all bathroom in our resort.

We appreciate your kind comments and hope we have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Thuong Nguyen
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My family and I loved this place! Much cheaper than the resort but you are able to use the facilities of the resort. Rooms are good, nothing amazingly flash however good basic rooms which are clean and more than adequate. Staff were very friendly however their english was not always the best but we always managed to work through it. Food was also great!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TashaAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thuong N, Operation Manager at Langchia Village Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear TashaAnita,

Thank you for choosing Famiana Village as your accommodation choice on Phu Quoc for your recent stay.

It is a pleasure to read that you had such a great time and felt that you experienced value for money. As we are going plants to have an English class in the coming months as well as daily experience communication English practice with our guests which can quickly help our staff improve their English.

Thank you for your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Thuong Nguyen
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have stayed 4d3nts in Famiana Village Hotel in Jan22/2013. We were group of 10 ppl, occupying 5 rooms. (Part of Famiana Resort, lower rank compare to the Famiana Spa Resort, the 5 Professional photo in tripadvisor are actaully taken from Famiana Village. Famiana Spa Hotel is much nicer then Famiana Village! Suggest they update it).
Staff are pretty friendly, I guess due to lack of proper training, they don't know how to serve you. Such as pool towel always run out beside the pool, breakfast buffet always run out of food, plate etc. However, if you ask them, they will bring them to you nicely, with a smile on their faces.

Hotel Hardware, it's not up to our expectation.
First, It was Jan, the room was still so hot! It took a full blast AC and Fan over 1-2 hrs to cool it down. Here come the worst part, You will need to insert card in slot for electricity, it's IC card, you can't replaced with paper or other card. however, you only got 1 key card per room (my friend asked, they refused to give out extra, said it's hotel policy. On the other hand, we got an extra key card, they said because we have infant with us, it's very nice of them :) So, there is no way you can keep your room cool if you are not in the hotel. Everytime my friends went back to the hotel, they were yelling and frustrated due to heat. It just too hot to get rest, even at night! Can't imagine what would happen in Summer time.... Sorry, I like to conserve energy but my comfort is first priority during liesure travel.

Second part come to the sleeping quality. Bed and Shower area is divided by a piece of glass, suppose to be nice but there is one problem. there is no curtain to block out the daylight in the shower or that piece of glass. (I uploaded a photo in Tripadvisor). Every morning, the light will wake you up even you tried to sleep in.... bring your own mask if you want to sleep in at this hotel.
The bed is pretty comfortable beside the sunlight.

Third, you can detect WiFi signal everywhere in the hotel but they hardly work, especially in the morning.... We tried with iDevice, laptop, Android phone, not much of the luck. Suggest you buy a local simcard for internet if you need to stay connected.

Last, the shower floor is not level properly, instead of flew to the drainage, it flow toward the door, glad that is a curb.... the toilet remained a pond and wet for loooong time after each bath. (Happened to few rooms as far as I know. Room A08, B03, B01 etc.)

Resort in Phu Quoc is relatively expensive compare to other tropical escape island. I guess it's as good as it gets for the money we paid. The plus for this hotel is you can use the facilites in the Famiana Spa Resort. Pool, beach etc.

P.S. We been to Famiana Spa Poolside restaurant once. it was the worst meal in this trip. Food is very very expensive, slow, really slow. Food taste blend, the clay pot fish suppose to be dark else where but it wasn't. Fish was not fresh. (1/2 of our group were local travelers, 1/2 were from Canada whoes travel 5-6 times a year, we know what good Vietnamnese food taste like.)

Room Tip: Bring you own sleeping mask to avoid wake up by the sun. Rooms are very hotel even in Jan, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbugbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thuong N, Operation Manager at Langchia Village Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear sbugbug,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding you recent stay with us in January

I am sorry to read that our services did not meet your expectation but pleased to note many positive comments you have made about the room and the services at Famiana Village.

We do understand that the most important for guest who travel with leisure reason is comfortable. Same with other hotels all over the world we expect to keep the environment as good as possible by controlling and using the electricity, water... as a reasonable way, As a new resort, we have very good work Air-conditioner and ceiling Fan which could help you to get fresh quickly within few minutes. We are more than pleased to provide more room key to keep best for the children while they are sleeping in the room and their parents go out for relaxing on the beach. But we do not expect to keep the Air-Conditioner on with no guest in the room even through we understand that your friend has paid for that and we would like asking your please to understand of our environment in this current and future.

You are right, the bed-room and bath-room areas are divided by a glass with purpose to be nice and getting light for the bedroom. However, we were suggested from some reviews to replace the glass by curtain, we are going to fix them and the bathroom within this April.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future!

Sincerely,
Thuong Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong To
11.1 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.1 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 47 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bauhinia Resort
Bauhinia Resort
#4 of 47 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cottage Village
Cottage Village
#15 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langchia Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langchia Village Hotel

Property: Langchia Village Hotel
Address: Tran Hung Dao | Duong To Commune, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duong To
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Langchia Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langchia Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langchia Village Hotel Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing