We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money, Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lien Hiep Thanh Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
Ranked #6 of 88 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for Money, Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

On our recent trip to Phu Quoc, we opted to stay here as most other hotels / resorts had been booked out for the New Years week. The hotel is very well located on the Long Beach and a 20 minute drive from the airport and 10 minutes from the main town. Although this resort was not five star quality, it was simple and decent enough for a 2 nights stay with very basic amenities. Our check-in process took forever, and since we were waiting, we decided to have lunch at their beach front restaurant / cafe, which was equally slow. We waited nearly an hour to be served! We tried a shrimp in coconut cream curry, stir fried noodles with beef and a thai hot pot…the shrimp curry was delicious but the hot pot surprisingly failed to wow us.

The bungalow allotted to us was clean and tidy, but sadly had very little lighting through out and the wifi signal was extremely poor in there. We had to keep going to the reception area to access the wifi, which sometimes, would fail to connect. the bungalow had a cozy patio where we would have coffee in the mornings. It was a nice place to relax and lounge around at the end of the day…that is, if you didn't get eaten by mosquitoes. Make sure you carry some mosquito repellant!

Despite the above, we had a very comfortable stay as we are not very fussy travellers. The resort was value for money, but with a few basic service improvements, could have been better. They had a John Tours desk at the reception, where you could book island tours around Phu Quoc. This was very convenient as we didn't even need to venture outside to find options. As with all resorts on the island, transportation is hard to find on your own…but the reception staff were very helpful in booking a cab whenever we needed one.

Ideal for large groups / families if you're not looking for anything fancy.

Room Tip: Great location, comfortable rooms, basic amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JoannaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    100
    49
    12
    15
See reviews for
28
130
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

(Typed this after arrival, posted a few days later)

Just arrived here, told we had to leave our passports and we wouldnt get it back for 5/6 hours. Just make a copy of it if you cannot do administration right away. 1 guy showed us the room and that was about it for (check in) service. No information about the resort, or island. When we asked for wificode, member of staff just walked away.

Location on the beach is great, but it's a public beach so all facilities can be used by everyone and are not exclusive to guests.

Our "superior" bungalow for 65$ a night barely has lighting, lots of mosquitos because every window was open upon arrival and there is some hot water but it only works after 5 minutes and 5 minutes later there is no water at all. The view from the balcony contains a roof from another bungalow, a blue-white banner and some barbed wire. 2 beds in the room, both rock hard. Only one of them has a mosquito net and only one blanket, so second bed is basically useless but can be used as storage space since there is no lighting around the closet. They charge 8000 dong for a bottle of water. Not a shocking amount, but for 65$ a room a night 1 complementary bottle per person would be appreciated, it's easy to brush your teeth with or as a first sip in the morning and we had free bottles all over Asia, even in much cheaper places.

WiFi didn't work in the room too. There is a bench next to reception, it's filled with tourists with smartphones all the time as it's the best WiFispot on the resort.

Too bad it's new years eve and every half decent room is booked around here. So we had to suck it up. Unbelievable, especially since we booked 7 months ago, and we got absolutely the worst located of the 6 similar bungalows there are. There are bungalows for the same price that are basically on the beach and close to WiFi signal. Bungalows booked through Booking.com or Agoda are priced 5$ extra btw, cause the guy behind the reception explained us the guests need to cover the fee for the websites. Upon check out we were charged 3% extra for paying with creditcard as well. So that's a total fee of 280.000 dong extra to cover the hotels costs.

From what we are told there are 3 types of rooms:
- Fan rooms, 20$
- A/C rooms, 40$
- A/C + hot water rooms, 60$
(All rooms are 5$ extra if booked through websites). Fan rooms are probably best value, and if you have one of 2 60$ on the beach and hot water and WiFi works there, it might be worth it, ours was no value for money at all. We basically paid 20 bucks for A/C which was turned off by housekeeping and another 20 for 5 minutes of low pressure hot water.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank NFD410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A simple but very complete resort. Our basic room had a shower, ac, fan, mosquito net and a comfortable bed. The beach had nice bed and hammocks. Towels are freely available on the beach. The restaurant was a bit below standard, but next door there is rory's for some nice food. And if you really want to indulge yourselve you could go to le verranda next door to rory, but bring your wallet it is pricey. The food there is above standard for anything we have seen sofar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

It's a lovely place. The rooms (at least ours) was really simple but clean and cleaned every day.
The location is good - the wonderful beach is right there and you can easily get yourself to the "city center" by taxi in just few minutes. You can either ask the reception to call the cab to come and pick you up or walk up the street, just few minutes to the main road and you will get a cab from there.

The staff was friendly. The food in the restaurant is good, we usually ate the lunch there and the dinner somewhere else.

A lizard spent the nights in our bathroom (in the bathroom there was a tiny window without the window glass, but as I said the window really tiny) but at least it ate all the insects. ;)

Would come here again and definitely recommend for those who are not searching for luxury but a decent place to stay with great staff and good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meriemilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

All the staff we met during our stay were very sweet, accommodating and humble, they didn't even want to accept a tip as an appreciation.

Phu Qouc is something special and peaceful, we did stay possible during low season (October) and it was a great recharge following time spent in hectic Ho-Chi-Minh. Low season the sea is also not as clear as the wind causes the sediment to be brought in land, as was explained by a local.

The hotel is situated on the beach, so you are able to walk along the beach at a leisurely place and not like on an obstacle course as beach was quiet. We swam in the sea a few times but sea can be changeable so be wary of.

Restaurant food was handy and a good feed, really recommend the spring rolls there!!

We paid $15 dollars for our accommodation which didn't include hot water or air-conditioning, which we managed without and with the use of the fan. We choose this price room, although there are other options available with air-conditioning and hot water. Rooms cleaned daily, mosquito net present.

Nice feel to this place and the little chalet style accommodation. Really sweet, honest people running this place! They can recommend places ,they are happy to help/suggest.

Check out the fish market in Duong dong, might need to grab a taxi from this place to it, can walk it...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpool186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in a the cheaper room option ($15 US, supposedly high season). Room very clean and spacious but bathroom had an awful smell the entire time (maybe the drain?). Room got incredibly hot, just fan and cold water shower. Rooms cleaned everyday. Mosquito net worked well. Great beach loungers and romantic tables at the waters edge. Meals were small but affordable and tasty and the cheapest around from what we saw. Unfortunately big building site next door with loud construction noise from early morning until 10pm or later! So no relaxing island sleep ins. But overall the cheapest place we found on the beach and enjoyed our stay as best we could.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and wish we'd found it sooner, having previously stayed at a shabbier and more expensive option.

It's situated on a beautiful, quiet, white sandy stretch of Long Beach. As well as the restaurant and a neighbouring beachside spa, you can relax on the sunbeds provided too.

Rooms: our beach bungalow was large, with 2 double beds - we only needed the one. Room also included mosquito nets, fridge, AC, large en suite (wt hot water), clean bedding, towels for both the bathroom and beach, as well as a private terrace to enjoy with 2 further sun loungers. Our room was immaculately cleaned daily too, which was a real treat.

For $20, it was by far the best value on Long Beach, I'd definitely recommend to others.

Further tip: only a minute walk from here, is an ATM and moped rental. For a day rental, it was only $6 - an excellent way to enjoy and explore the island if comfortable and familiar with riding a moped on rough terrain!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.1 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#47 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.7 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#18 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#8 of 15 in Duong To
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lien Hiep Thanh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lien Hiep Thanh Resort

Property: Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
Address: 118/12 Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Long Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lien Hiep Thanh Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 km far from the centre of Duong Dong town, Lien Hiep Thanh Resort is set in the long beach - a wonderful destination for those who looking for a romantic and peaceful vacation. At Lien Hiep Thanh Resort, you will enjoy quite and private white sandy beach, turquoise water, gently sea-breeze, lush tropical gardens, colourful flowers and the best services from active and friendly staff. Along with comfortable accommodation and plentiful hotel activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lien Hiep Thanh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lien Hiep Thanh Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing