We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It really depends on what you're looking for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
Ranked #7 of 95 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“It really depends on what you're looking for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very decent and clean in a pretty setting, right on the beach. Individual or duplex brick bungalows. Option for fan $10 or air conditioned $18 rooms...but NO TVs at all.

This is a place for beach lovers (who can turn a blind eye to the rubbish in the waters of Phu Quoc) and those who want to totally unplug!

Restaurant prices are reasonable and there are a few more choices in the same street. Or, catch a taxi (50,000 - 60,000) into town where there are many bars and places to eat. Not a long distance, but too far for us to walk in blistering heat. Taxis are usually lined up out on the main road.

Wifi was non existent to sporadic, both in our bungalow and near reception. Room was equipped with small fridge, hard bed and mosquito net and standard furniture, with a wet bathroom...the sink water emptied straight onto the floor near drain. Each bungalow has its own balcony with chairs and table. No kettle, only bottled water to purchase, complimentary soap, toothbrush and comb. We're not beach goers, so opted to relocate to one of the many hotels in the township, close to the night markets and with cable TV, for the same price. Hotel Thao Van, which is not on TA as yet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapCooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    101
    49
    12
    15
See reviews for
29
131
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Staff speaks English well. There always was hot water in shower (sometimes after a small delay). No mosquitoes or other insects in rooms. Beach has some rocks but 10 meters to the right there are no rocks at all.
Beach restaurant has good food and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here for three days and loved it. The staff are extremely nice and the food (and prices of the food) onsite is really reasonable and much lower than the other surrounding options. I highly recommend their mango smoothies as well as the crunchy egg noodles with seafood (paired with a green Siagon cold one). It's literally on the beach and I got a room/cabin with A/C for $20 USD per night. There was always hot water plus a brand new mosquito net over the bed, a small refrigerator and a nice, powerful fan. There's an adorable little lady who comes by every day to sell fresh fruit and I ate at least one perfect mango each day. You can also arrange tours through the hotel and I recommend the fishing and snorkeling tour with John's Tours. Very enjoyable and extremely chill and relaxing stay with Lien Hiep Thanh. FYI, it's also called The Family Resort around the island, so don't get confused - it's the same place.

Room Tip: The A/C is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britsybruland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugun, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here in March 2014 for three nights with two of my friends. We are aged between 49 and 57. We had a room with a/c, hot water we were in bungalow 15. Towards the back however it was great. The location is fantastic. Our first time to Phu Quoc and we were impressed all round. The staff were friendly especially the lady on the front desk and we found all staff friendly. Yes the room was basic but clean and cleaned everyday. You only sleep there. I loved our little balcony but only used it one morning. The gardens are well kept and made the resort very welcoming. We didn't try the beach bbq but it looked good. Would definitely go back again and stay at this hotel. Thank you again.

Room Tip: The photos are a true reflection of the resort. Not like some hotels that post doctored photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8place2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed here for 1 week in March with a friend and we both loved it. As budget travellers we booked one of the cheaper rooms which was perfectly adequate for our needs. The cold but very powerful shower was amazing and yes, the mattress was hard but we slept well.

Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day and we found all of the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

The food is also great and after trying a few other restaurants along the beach we eventually came to eat at the resort since we regarded the food there better than anywhere else!

By the end of seven days we felt very much at home at Lien Hiep Thanh, if I was ever to return to Phu Quoc I would definitely visit the resort again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprite400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Århus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

It seems really nice being right at the beach and next to a cool restaurant, but the bungalows were dirty and the staff were lazy. We asked them to set up the mosquito nets 4 times in one day, which they forgot to at all times. The aircondition wasnt working, so I asked the staff for another room. He told me I didnt pay for a room with aircondition, so they switched it off. They didnt even ask me if I wanted to pay for it so they could turn it on for me. Because of course I would have. The whole night I was bitten by so many mosquitoes because they set the net up really late and because the humidity in the room. The bed sheets also felt damp, my guess is that the bungalows were prob molded. We left in the morning - two days before planned. They didnt even ask why.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Nminh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

While the location is undoubtedly excellent their are a few issues with this resort that need to be mentioned.
We booked 8 months early and for our trouble we got the worst located rooms in the resort. Right at the back next to the laundry facilities and where we were woken by motorbikes every morning.
The rooms themselves were serviceable although not in any way fantastic. We expected hot showers for nearly $30 a night and were disappointed. Bed was average, the stapled on poles for the mosquito net looked and felt flimsy.
Nothing we haven't dealt with before, but usually the staff make up for this by being friendly and helpful. Not so here. The staff were disinterested and we saw one employee roll her eyes when a customer asked for ice with her drink. Getting their attention was hard work, but in fairness most of our queries were well handled.
The attached restaurant was ok with the seafood bbq being the stand-out, but prices were relatively high compared to the quality and quantity of food we had elsewhere.

TL; DR Expensive for what it is, don't bother booking early as you get shafted. Outstanding location on a nice beach.

Room Tip: Don't book early. Number 16 and 18 are among the worst rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.1 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#44 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#18 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phu Quoc Kim Bungalows On The Beach
0.1 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lien Hiep Thanh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lien Hiep Thanh Resort

Property: Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
Address: 118/12 Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Long Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lien Hiep Thanh Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 km far from the centre of Duong Dong town, Lien Hiep Thanh Resort is set in the long beach - a wonderful destination for those who looking for a romantic and peaceful vacation. At Lien Hiep Thanh Resort, you will enjoy quite and private white sandy beach, turquoise water, gently sea-breeze, lush tropical gardens, colourful flowers and the best services from active and friendly staff. Along with comfortable accommodation and plentiful hotel activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lien Hiep Thanh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lien Hiep Thanh Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing