We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A74 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A74 Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Duong Dong
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at the hotel I just had a great egg sandwich and the staff was nice. The hotel was fully booked otherwise we would live there. Close to beach and 10 min walk to city. Fresh and clean restaurant. Im going there again this morning for this lovely sandwich :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
63
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were all well looked after during our stay at the A74 hotel. The hotel manager speaks good English and is happy to help in any way he can. The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms represent good value for money. The beach is only a short walk away (we were able to walk through the resort next door) and it is also only a 10 minute walk to the night market. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We really enjoyed A74. The manager is delightful, speaks good English, and is happy to take care of all your needs. Iced tea is on the house, the banana pancakes for breakfast are delicious, and the in-room internet is decent. Walk to town is about 1 km, and there are a handful of decent restaurants right around A74 if you don't feel like walking to town. The hotel is decently quiet except for construction, but you are going to find that kind of noise almost everywhere on Phu Quoc these days, as development is moving at breakneck speed here. Only drawback is not being on the beach, which is a 10 min. walk away since the resort next door will not let you walk through their property. Phu Quoc is so beautiful, it's a bit of a bummer not to be on the beach. But, the price is right here if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderrlustAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed in the A74 Hotel in November 2013……….having booked 5 nights, I extended my stay for another 3 nights, partly because the weather was so good, but mostly because the location and quality of service at the hotel was so good……….the manager Bao and his girlfriend Hieu who run the hotel are just so remarkably friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble for them, I asked if I could have fresh papaya and mango every morning, because it was not on the breakfast menu, and it was supplied and I was not charged any extra…………the hotel is located very close to the beach, but without beach frontage; however, you can walk through the grounds of the resort next door, and if you buy your drinks from their bar, you will probably be able to use one of their sun-beds, as I did every day……………given the price, location, cleanliness of the rooms and the wonderful service, this little hotel comes highly recommended…...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK- South East
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a total of 5 nights, first 2 in a private room then 3 in dorm room (dorms don't seem to appear online but are $8pp pn, no breakfast).

Private room was a decent size and came with places to store luggage and clothes as well as fridge and tv. Room had brilliant air con as well as a fan. Bathroom was basic but clean. Wifi worked well in room, stopped working once but manager more than happy to sort it out which he did!

Dorm room: to save a bit of money we realised that the dorms are pretty quiet here. There's 3 of them 2 X 8 bed and one 4 bed which is actually only 2 beds as the top 2 bunks aren't used. The room was fine, if 4 people were in there it would have been extremely tight on space, room had a noticeable damp problem and slight smell. Bathroom was ok, more basic than private room and shower pressure wasn't good.

The staff, particularly the general manager make this place. He is so friendly and always goes well over and beyond to help you and make conversation, despite the crazy hours he works!

Location is good, 10 minute to night market. Beach is ok at this time of year, lots of jelly fish.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Not much to add to what's already been written. This is a well-maintained hotel and a good value, especially considering most of the resorts on the island are triple the price. The rooms are small but clean and housekeeping comes every day. Rooms have a small window and don't have much of a view but if all you need is a clean safe room to sleep and bathe in, then this is the place. You can walk to the end of each floor for a common balcony with a view of the sea or head up to the 5th floor roof terrace. The A74 is on the ocean side of the street, and you're a short 2 minute walk to the beach. Room rates include a nice breakfast.

The real standout of the hotel is the staff, especially Bao the manager. He speaks excellent English, is helpful with booking tours and giving tips about traveling the island, and really goes out of his way to make sure you have a pleasant stay on Phu Quoc. If the owner reads these reviews: you should triple his salary.

A tip for budget travelers: A74 hotel has 2 dormitory rooms that sleep up to 8 (four bunk beds) plus a large bathroom. It's $8 per person. The rooms were vacant when I stayed there so there's a good change you could have the room to yourself for a steal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msinwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I spent 4 nights here recently and thought it was great. The locaton is ideal just a short little walk into town. The manger was fantastic!!! very welcoming and ever so helpful. he helped us to arrange Scooters and taxi's around the island if it hadn't been for the fact we had already booked another hotel on the island we would have stayed for the duration. If you can get the seaview room get it! The view is great and you have a little balcony to just chill out on in the evening. 2 things that let it down a little: there were a few rats in evenings that came into the bar area but there was little they could do with this as it was open planned and drilling at 7:30 in the morning for maintenance work. But these things aside are nothing really major and the location room and staff more than made up for it.

Room Tip: Try and get the seaview rooms as you get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.9 mi away
T&T Resort
T&T Resort
#11 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
138.0 mi away
Halona Hotel
Halona Hotel
#45 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Huu Le Hotel
Huu Le Hotel
#58 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#44 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yen Huynh Guest House
Yen Huynh Guest House
#25 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.2 mi away
Khanh Duy Bungalow
Khanh Duy Bungalow
#27 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A74 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A74 Hotel

Property: A74 Hotel
Address: 74 Tran Hung Dao | Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KP7, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A74 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A74 Hotel, on beautiful, tropical Phu Quoc Island, just 35 minutes by "Air Mekong" from Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. The A74 Hotel is “Simply the best” budget hotel on the Island, offering good, clean rooms, excellent friendly service in a creative environment. We love to welcome our guests to our friendly family style hotel, where we take a personal interest in both your comfort and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your A74 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A74 Hotel Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing