We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From bad to worse”
Review of A74 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A74 Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“From bad to worse”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has some good points and initially didn't seem too bad. The price is okay for Phu Quoc which is generally quite expensive and the location is good and the manager seems hardworking. However, many things made this an unacceptable hotel to stay at.
- On multiple occasions the power went out, sometimes staying out for hours.
- The WiFi repeatedly failed even when there was power.
- At one point the water shut off, and my partner who was mid shower was forced to rinse soap off with bottled water.
- Staff kept entering our room without knocking using a key whilst the door was locked, once before 7am, waking us up.
- No communication about hotel details like WiFi passwords or mini bar prices was given or left in the room.
- Strange orchestral music is blasted on the second floor in the afternoon, so unless you enjoy listening to musical covers of chitty chitty bang bang, do not stay here.
- No apologies or explanations were given for the failure of power, water or WiFi.
- Air con didn't work.
- Multiple times we were left waiting over fourty minutes for breakfast, even then they rarely got our order right.

A74 is not worth staying at, but better yet, don't go to Phu Quoc at all. The island is overpriced and overrated and is already mostly construction sites and tips. Huge planned increases in tourist numbers look set to destroy the island completely.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gettinthere4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    68
    27
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
63
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

noisy, Noisy , noisy,I have never stayed anywhere so unbelievably badly sound proofed in my life , you can here the conversation from the next room very clearly so obviously other things as well . When a door is shut or slammed as you have to most of them to get them to close it literally vibrates through the whole building and it is mon stop . There is no balcony it is a ledge the roof top bar does not exist it filthy and someone lives up there . The rooms are depressing and nothing works . Avoid avoid avoid ! ,

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel with 3 other friends in Jan 2014. Let me say that the manager, Bao, seems superhuman as he is always at the front desk 24/7 everyday. He is an extremely friendly and polite gentleman who is very happy to solve your queries and always greets you with a smile. As previous reviewers have mentioned, he does everything in his power to make your stay in Phu Quoc more pleasant and adds the extra inch of service which always goes a mile.

The hotel itself is clean and well furbished. The rooms do seem a little old and small, and the shower is combined with the rest of the bathroom so you'll have to get used to wet bathroom floors. The WiFi is always trippy and I couldn't connect to it with my laptop (although it did work with my phone). All in all, it's a great budget option with extremely friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruiwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel in the part of December 2013 and really liked it. It was basic but had everything one needed. The manager and staff were awesome in helping out with whatever one needed. I would highly recommend A74 for people on a budget. Will definitely return. My regards all all there,Peter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

First of all, in the quest for helpful votes as I try to pull even with my wife, here is some advice which just has to be worth a few clicks. The best way to get to the water is NOT to turn left leaving A74 which amounts to sort of having to slink by a guard shack as you tip toe through the big box resort next door. We found it far more relaxing to turn right and walk through. Moon Resort just down the road. It is less pretentious to say the least with a simple path through their property that ends up at a more public oriented beach area.

Ok, here is why A74 works. The manager seems to delight in customer service and as there are always kinks and problems to solve like bad ac remote batteries and a zillion other moving targets in this basic facility, being treated to his clear enjoyment of making guests comfortable is as good as customer service gets. Leaving early? He offers a to go breakfast. Can't make your mind whether to extend or by how many days? He happily adjusts.

We were not bowled over by Phu Quoc as it is obviously trying to five star itself without enough of the basics in place like decent shopping, tuk tuks for easy mobility or waterfalls that actually have water. Maybe that is not fair in late December but the one we went to on our rented motorbike was pretty underwhelming and anyone spending buku bucks for a taxi there would likely be pretty unhappy.

Every day after our adventures on the island brought us back to our smiling guesthouse manager though and that was always a pleasant experience. He will do the same for you.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at the hotel I just had a great egg sandwich and the staff was nice. The hotel was fully booked otherwise we would live there. Close to beach and 10 min walk to city. Fresh and clean restaurant. Im going there again this morning for this lovely sandwich :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were all well looked after during our stay at the A74 hotel. The hotel manager speaks good English and is happy to help in any way he can. The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms represent good value for money. The beach is only a short walk away (we were able to walk through the resort next door) and it is also only a 10 minute walk to the night market. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
1.2 mi away
Huu Le Hotel
Huu Le Hotel
#65 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viet Thanh Resort
Viet Thanh Resort
#48 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
214 reviews
138.0 mi away
Halona Hotel
Halona Hotel
#50 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
T&T Resort
T&T Resort
#11 of 47 in Duong Dong
32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Khanh Duy Bungalow
Khanh Duy Bungalow
#31 of 47 in Duong Dong
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yen Huynh Guest House
Yen Huynh Guest House
#30 of 47 in Duong Dong
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A74 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A74 Hotel

Property: A74 Hotel
Address: 74 Tran Hung Dao | Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KP7, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A74 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A74 Hotel, on beautiful, tropical Phu Quoc Island, just 35 minutes by "Air Mekong" from Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. The A74 Hotel is “Simply the best” budget hotel on the Island, offering good, clean rooms, excellent friendly service in a creative environment. We love to welcome our guests to our friendly family style hotel, where we take a personal interest in both your comfort and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your A74 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A74 Hotel Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing