We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food. The staff are great. Two for one cocktails every evening.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winston's Burgers & Beer

Winston's Burgers & Beer
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy Phu Quoc's best premium burgers and large selection of beer!
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food. The staff are great. Two for one cocktails every evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Really good place. I came quite regularly. Get the night started with a few cocktails. The staff are really nice and very generous. The food is absolutely beautiful. We ate here a lot. Good music, good location great value. I would highly reccomend popping in!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronan86000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWin888, Owner at Winston's Burgers & Beer, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Ronan,

Thanks for the review. Our staff misses the mad Irishman, so come back and see us soon!

Cheers,

Winston J. Wojda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    238
    102
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In the beginning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

To be honest, I wasn't there when the restaurant was serving food, but I was there when the Dive Bar opened up. Great theme, excellent drink specials and friendly service made for 3 excellent nights. I haven't been able to get back to test the food, but I hope I can soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorleoneMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWin888, Owner at Winston's Burgers & Beer, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi CorleoneMacau,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable visit with us, and we look forward to your return. We've got lots of new things going on, so you're sure to be well fed and entertained.

Cheers,

Winston J. Wojda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What you see is what you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Want a burger/hotdog/french fries, etc on an island in Vietnam? Want your food delivered by cute Vietnamese girls in sailor/mermaid attire? How about some good ol' but a bit outdated (er-classic) American dance jams? Come on down to the Paradise City. The atmosphere is laid back and young, it seems like a great place to grab beers with friends. I had the tacos and my friend had the burger with fries. Did the food blow our minds? No. We didn't expect it to but we did want a break from noodles, rice and shellfish. We ordered a cheeseburger and street tacos in Vietnam and got exactly what we asked for. Solid but not mind-blowing. We were too late for happy hour which seemed like a great deal. The beers were just a bit pricier than elsewhere on the island but won't break the bank. If you have a sense of humor and want some simple non-Vietnamese food give this place a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 36Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWin888, Owner at Winston's Burgers & Beer, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Hi 36Miles,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We're glad you had an overall enjoyable experience, but I'm a bit surprised you think our beer prices are higher than other places on the island. True, if you go to a local Vietnamese restaurant, the beer prices are generally lower, but compared to other bars, I believe you'll find we're in the same range, if not cheaper. Oh, and regarding the music, we usually play classic rock, which includes bands not just from the US, but all over...well, ok, mostly the US... ;-)

Again, thanks for your time and business, and we wish you well in your travels.

Cheers!

Winston J. Wojda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best spot on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I made it here one night just wandering down the street. Met a great group of Vietnamese and ex-pats the night I went and had a great time with them. The place itself is a lot of fun and the food was great too! Will head back for sure!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevbud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWin888, Owner at Winston's Burgers & Beer, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Hi Kevbud7,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise City. We're pleased you had an enjoyable experience, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers,

Winston J. Wojda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No 1?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Best restaurant in Duong Dong?
-Perhaps not....but the BEST BURGERS on Phu Quoc for sure!
and I tried ALL the other places serving burges.

Good prices (specially on beer) and great service at the Mermaids Bar.
Two more weeks, then I have another one..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JakobRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWin888, Owner at Winston's Burgers & Beer, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Hi JakobRapp,

Thank you for your review and the kind words regarding our food and service.

Regarding our current ranking as the number one “restaurant”, believe me, no one was more surprised than us. It’s difficult to categorize a business such as ours solely as a bar or a restaurant. We often refer to ourselves as, “first and foremost, a bar, which happens to have good food and an odd sense of humor.” We have no delusions or designs about being a “fine dining” establishment. That would require entirely too much work, and would take away from our drinking time and afternoon naps on the beach ;-)

Cheers,

Winston J. Wojda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winston's Burgers & Beer also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Winston's Burgers & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing