We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Duong Dong
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a slightly soulless place, where it didn't seem like it mattered if there were staff around or not. You can't really interact with staff, not only due to limited English (which is fine, we're in Vietnam), but also that they really don't care whether you have a good time or not. I felt an urge to run rampant around the hotel to see who would notice.

Reception staff were courteous but did the bare minimum. Bar/restaurant staff were nonchalant about everything, from the fact that they no longer had drinking water to sell, to emptying bins that hadn't been changed for two days in the toilets. These toilets were dirty and smelly. I walked back to room to use the toilet there instead.

Breakfast was not great in my opinion, they had an egg station with undercooked omelettes. Whenever I went to open any other station, there was never anything decent left. Flies all around the fruit. The only saving grace was the condense milk. We never had lunch here, because the place just seemed desolate. Although, they do make a great fried egg!

The rooms are nice, big and clean. We stayed in a garden bungalow. Everything in good working order. The only problem was that there wasn't a door for the bathroom, which is a bit odd.

Beach is lovely especially in the mornings when the water is clear and light blue, and the sun beds are comfortable...IF you can get one. There is definitely not enough to go around. The towels are a mixed bag of towels with some that looked like they had been washed way too many times.

This place has great potential, but not sure if anyone is doing anything about it. At the moment it seems to be doing the bare minimum to scrape by. There is definitely something lacking here, I am going to take a stab and say it's management.

Room Tip: There are three bungalows with bathroom doors if you're bothered by this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sunnies_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We had bad experience with this resort and we regret that we didn't read all the reviews before making our reservation.
They put us in a room without a private bathroom which is very awkward for the holiday. When i look back, i cannot believe that we did stay in that room with no private bathroom, no balcony and half smaller than the one we booked on hotels.com. We decided to stay in that room because they upgraded us to sea-view bungalow for the rest of our stay.
The manager named Thien whom we talked to via phone said he had no responsibility for what we saw on the booking websites which is very inappropriate and irresponsible.
Also, we found dry blood spots on the sheets thus we gotta call the front-desk asking them to replace it. Theres only one middle-age guy brought new wrong sheet, so we had to wait until he came back with the right one and changed the sheet ourselves as he was not in the room service team! Its was off time for them!
We shouldn't have had any complaints for the sea-view bungalow if they came make the room for us. Even we put the sign on the door but it was the same messy one as when we left the room. We never saw them come over!
The disappointment continued with the breakfast. Bacon was fatty, all the juices were sugary, food was cold and wasn't covered properly, omelette was undercooked resulted my boyfriend's diarrhea. NO MORE breakfast nor lunch nor dinner at this restaurant. We actually recommend you to check out Phuong Binh house or other places like Alanis cafe. 100% better!
It is a pity that their service doesn't meet the standard because i see a potential location here.
I wouldn't recommend this resort to any of my friends because for me it is not worth the price.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Tuyet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for just three days in January and we wished we stayed more!

The rooms were just amazing. We stayed in the garden rooms and it was so quiet and peaceful. They were little villas so you had a lot of privacy and the beach was literally at your feet.

The beach was clean with clear water. You could walk along and check out the other resorts as well enjoy the walk.

We didn't eat at restaurant except for breakfast which was pretty good. They had an egg station and fresh fruits but it was pretty simple. They also had traditional Vietnamese breakfast food too. We didn't see anyone eat dinner or lunch there but if you walk down the beach or go into town there are a lot of places to eat. Especially if you are brave enough to try the market!

The staff were helpful and helped us work out what we should while we were there and helped us get a taxi back to the airport.

Overall, I would definitely go back as it is a great place to read your book on the beach and to unwind.

Room Tip: The beach rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyster_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The beach bungalows are wonderfully located with a great view of the beach. The staff was friendly but that did not make up for the resorts shortcomings. The beach towels were shabby and there were never enough towels or beach lounge chairs for the number of guests. If we weren't up and out by 7:30-8:00 to get beach towels and lounge chairs, we were out of luck. The restaurant could learn a lot about service and atmosphere from the Phuong Binh restaurant a few doors down. The Arcadia resort has incredible potential, unfortunately the owners and staff aren't making it happen.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a no frills beach front hotel that offers great value for money. We spent a week here in early February 2014 and everything was to our liking. The staff was friendly, the breakfast buffet adequate, and the bungalow was large and very fresh and clean. The hotel is located on a very nice stretch of Long Beach. We strongly recommend paying extra for a beach front bungalow as the view is great and you can spend the quiet evenings on the terrace listening to the ocean. The hotel restaurant is not that good but there are many good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr-Lars-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas and spent quite alot on it. The hotel and the rooms are very nice and clean - cannot fault them really. However the service is very poor. We payed alot for our Christmas eve gala dinner and it was very poor. Not even any entertainment?! And running out of pudding. Its got a nice location with its own beach, but your money would go alot further at one of the other nice hotels on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sam031888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The staff was well trained, polite, always greeted me with a smile, the grounds are for the most part, well kept, and the food is pleasant. The beach is beautiful, and free of rubbish. There are warm showers, free Wifi 2/7, cable TV, an in-room fridge, and the beer provided is not overpriced. I really enjoyed my stay here. I am only taking off one star for the lack of detail, shown in the rubbish on the side of the restaurant. I stayed in the back rooms (A101-104) its good if you want to save a few bucks, but I suggest, spending the extra cash for a bigger room with a great view.

Room Tip: I stayed in the back rooms (A101-104) its good if you want to save a few bucks, but I suggest, spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maltlinux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.6 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#17 of 48 in Duong Dong
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
Paris Beach Phu Quoc
#9 of 15 in Duong To
535 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#13 of 48 in Duong Dong
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Thien Hai Son Resort
Thien Hai Son Resort
#26 of 48 in Duong Dong
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
#11 of 48 in Duong Dong
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
#9 of 48 in Duong Dong
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ward 7, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: £23 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get ready for an exotic getaway in one of the jewels of the Orient – Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam. Revel in the Gulf of Thailand’s crystal clear turquoise waters. Bask in the tropical sun on the golden sands of Long Beach, one of the top beaches in Asia. Soak it all up at Arcadia, the newest luxurious private beach resort. Located in the heart of Phu Quoc’s tourism- Duong Dong Town.The freshly opened resort, provides 19 guestrooms and 9 bungalow suites- each warmly designed to be the epitome of luxury. Each bungalow suite is built with coconut-thatched roof. This architecture perfectly blends in with the island’s surrounding environment; whilst, delivers you a tropical utopia. Designed with utmost contemporary interiors- all guestrooms boast of marble flooring and bathroom counter-tops. Our bungalow suites are engineered with dark hardwood floors and floor-to-ceiling windows for panoramic views. Every care has been taken to deliver an exclusive island beach vacation to our valued clients. The entire resort is beautifully landscaped- such that wherever the eyes turns, there are green lawns running into extensive stands of preserved native trees. Direct private access on Long Beach entitles you to the best of both worlds- natural setting with coziness of the tropical forest, and the warm sunrays dazzling on the crystal clear blue water. As one of the best beaches in Vietnam, Arcadia Resort promises you the beach vacation of a lifetime. Take one of the multiple daily flights that connect Ho Chi Minh City with Dong Duong. Or enjoy a 1.5 hours ferry ride up from Rach Gia or Ha Tien port. A brief interlude and you will soon be far away from the madness of metropolitan life, reveling in the calm waters of the Gulf of Thailand. Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing