We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Thien Thanh Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duong Dong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thien Thanh Resort
Ranked #44 of 103 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This resort was my first choice on the island. It was one big mistake. The resort looks good on photos in internet and hotel area is really nice but rooms are horrible. I paid 50$ for dirty, stinky room with ant colony inside. The staff was nice but they had holiday also. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomek32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
12
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Very bad service for the price they charge: nor air dryer, no wifi in rooms and in most areas, not enough chairs on the beatch, no ambiance, no service. Staff almost does not speack english when you can find one! When complaining, answer was "tomorrow", " will tell manager".

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolasvillotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duong Dong hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Lovely picturesque resort with clean, modern rooms but the service from staff is exceptionally poor. Very very little English is spoken by the staff, we are yet to see them smile once and they hang around the pool smoking, screaming to colleagues, on their mobiles all day and all night long.

Great as a base but don't expect much atmosphere!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzyzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Firstly, we booked a normal room. It was on the second floor. It was not so good when the A/C did not work well. There were some smell from the bathroom as well. Later, we asked to move and chose a Bungalow with competitive price. It was so comfortable. We stayed there for 4 days. It was such great time.

This resort has a private beach which is very clean. It is also next to other resorts. You can have BBQ on the beach under the moon. It is very peaceful and enjoyable.

The resort is now under a little construction. It will be much more beautiful after finishing. I guess that they will finish very soon to welcome customer on Christmas and New Year Holiday.

The staffs are so friendly and helpful. The security guy came and checked the A/C immediately right after my call to the receptionist. He also helped us to move our luggage after we decided to move to a Bungalow.

You can hire a taxi or a motorbike to go around the island. You can also join a tour. Things there are not expensive.

I will go back there on Tet holiday (Vietnam Lunar New Year Holiday) with my big family.

( I will upload my photos for this resort later)

Room Tip: If you can afford, choose a Bungalow to enjoy the time when you stay there. Phu Quoc Island is a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phuong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I am giving this a two star because it seems that they might have renovated it, according to reviews on another site. However, our experience last year was absolutely one star or less. Our family hired a tour guide who booked us for this "resort" because other places were full. The room was bare bones basic, which we didn't mind for just one night before we moved onto a nicer place. However, after a short time of being in the room, we noticed a terrible sewage smell coming from the bathroom. After checking, the staff told us that it was "just the pipe" and that there was nothing wrong. Really??? Even with the bathroom door closed, the sewer gas smell was all over the living area. It was unbearable! They finally gave us a different room after our insistence; this one unscented but with a punched bathroom door. Overall, the condition just felt neglected to me -- unclean inside and trash all over the ground behind the bungalows, where the tourists wouldn't normally see. We also didn't like the front and back entrances into the rooms. There were big gaps under the doors and the locks didn't feel secured, so having two of them felt more unsettling. Even if it's been renovated, I will never be back here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sefah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Please don't be deceived by the attractive photos you see of Thien Thanh on the internet. While they may may show the palm-fringed golden beauty of Long Beach, they fail to show that there is a massive construction site on the resort. A massive construction site where cement mixers start churning, workers start shouting, and bricks start being thrown around before 7 o'clock in the morning. Don't count on a relaxing lie-in here.

The staff were entirely indifferent to our complaint about the noise. When we asked to be moved, they suggested relocating us to another room even closer to the site!

Our room was charmeless, the sheets blood-stained, breakfast underwhelming. After one night we decided to go and relocated to the infinitely more pleasant, professional, and well-priced Sea Star Resort, just a few metres down the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.2 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#18 of 47 in Duong Dong
246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandy Phu Quoc Hotel
Sandy Phu Quoc Hotel
#12 of 47 in Duong Dong
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
T&T Resort
T&T Resort
#11 of 47 in Duong Dong
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#23 of 120 in Duong Dong
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#22 of 103 in Duong Dong
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
#82 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Thanh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thanh Resort

Property: Thien Thanh Resort
Address: 78Tran Hung Dao St. | 7 Ward, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thanh Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Thien Thanh Resort Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing