We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great private beach”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay. Room was ok and clean but fairly small and basic (no kettle/tea/coffee), not sure about the outside bath room as the shower was rusty and water pressure was extremely low.
The beach is one of the nicest beach in the island and isolated so you can really enjoy relaxing on the beach. When we stayed there, there were a lot of jelly fish you needed to watch out for but I'm not sure if it will be like this all year round.
Staff were friendly, fairly low level of English but good enough.
It's quite far from the city centre so expect to pay roughly 500.000vnd for a return trip by taxi. You can rent a motorbike from the resort for 150.000-200.000 vnd / day.
We organise an airport pickup through them for 370.000vnd each way which is cheaper than getting a taxi.
It worth walking to Mango bay resort which is just next door for meals as the food at Coco palm is "ok".

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Melbournefoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    58
    28
    17
    12
See reviews for
26
99
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This resort is a long way out and for us it was the perfect end as we will fly to Saigon then straight home. The breakfast was extensive, plentiful (ask for more) and any previous comments were obviously listened to and acted on. Cocktails were beautiful and we loved the restaurant food. All tastes catered for including teenagers tiring of Vietnamese cuisine. The trip over by bus/ ferry from can tho was exhausting. Consider flying if you want to avoid this. Service was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolemid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The beach is beautiful, as are the gardens, but the rooms need a makeover as they are damp and could do with a lick of paint. Beach towels aren't provided; nor is complementary water and the breakfast is very basic. The staff are lovely and helpful and the beach is really very pretty. Sorry I can't rave about this resort as I so wanted to love it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The well kept gardens down to the palm-fringed beach make this a picture perfect setting. The water is clear, shallow and safe and, the bungalows are clean and spacious and the whole environment is wonderful.
Unfortunately the food and most of the staff let the place down. Breakfast was dreadful with very little choice, one juice on offer and no water - you had to pay for any water each time which we thought was disgraceful. We ended up going into town to buy 5 litre bottles rather than spend at the hotel. There are no tea and coffee-making facilities so good job we had a travelling kettle!
HOWEVER, we did feel we had the best of both worlds in staying here as Mango Bay Resort is a mere 5 minutes walk down the beach (out of sight) and although their grounds are not nearly as lovely, nor do they have a beach, but the restaurant was brilliant and open to all. Their cocktail hour was good value and we ate there on several occasions.

Room Tip: On our last day they were clearing palm trees on the site next to Coco-Palm to make way for more bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank twooldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

came to phu quoc (in september 2013) without reservation and looked for an accommodation. stopped by at mango bay and blue sea resort / bo resort for a walk in booking. since they asked $100-110 per night for a three-day-stay and the bungalows didnt look well i decided to move on.

by chance i found coco palm. they offered a night for $45 (later somehow they told me they rose up to $60 without reasonable explanation). but the bungalow was by far better than the ones i ve seen before at the neighboring places.

room was ok, clean but not top-end-luxurious (which i didnt ask for). staff was helpful. facilities were ok. maintenance was going on, but not annoying

beach was not that good since it has been end of rain season (september) - no calm sea with lots of rubbish coming ashore (not a big issue for the area at coco palm since they clean it, but annoying if you want to take a beach walk). they dumped oil at the sea in front of the beach, so i had the sticky stuff around my feet many times.

infrastructure in phu quoc is poor. riding motorbike (my favorite choice) is not really enjoyble since the roads are often annoying.

conclusion: not my best journey - not the best place to be - could maybe be better at another time/season - price of $60 per night per room is acceptable if two peolpe stay there (unfortunately i ve been on my own) - but have been to worse places

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackson o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Phu Quoc now has so much charm and natural beauty, but with multi-million dollar plans for expansion, it won't remain that way for long. Major developments are underway around the island and it will soon be just another overpriced island destination. Having said that, Coco Palm is located away from the chaos - it is small and unassuming little piece of paradise!! We stayed 4 nights at the beginning of a 5 week stay in Asia - what a way to kick off things! Our bungalow (11) was located at the end of a row of bungalows a stone throw from the beach with amazing views of the water. The rooms are basic and the bathroom is semi-covered (indoor/outdoor). There is mosquito netting for the bed, a/c and wifi. The beach is fantastic and the service is great. We were looking to rest and were served right because the resort is located in a quiet area and there are no activities on site. It is however an approximate 15 minute drive to downtown Duong Duong where there is an amazing night market, shopping and many restaurants. Many hotels are located on this stretch of beach (Long Beach) so it is more crowded and lively. After comparing the two, we by far preferred where we were staying. Taxis are more expensive on Phu Quoc than in other parts of Vietnam, so be prepared to spend around $15 each way to and from town. Mango Bay resort is right next door if all you're looking for is a change of pace it has a great menu but comes at a premium. I would highly recommend this place for couples and solo travellers or anyone for that matter that wants a nice relaxing holiday with friendly and helpful staff. I would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: It is a small resort and i believe all rooms are facing the water - you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When looking for hotels on Phu Quoc we weren't sure whether to go to lively Long Beach or quiet Ong Lang Beach. At the end we were more than happy that we chose Ong Lang Beach and especially Coco Palm Resort.
I have to admit that it was over our budget, but it was just before "Tet", many other resorts were full or more expensive and we also decided that especially on the beach, where you spend a lot of time in/around your accommodation, it was important to us that it's not a ugly hotel by the road.

We booked two Deluxe Sea View Bungalows via Agoda and liked them a lot. Yes, like some other people already pointed out, the furniture is nothing to write home about, it's pretty unspectacular, but new and not run down. We had double beds, a small table, some chairs, a wardrobe, a fridge, a fan and a quiet and functioning air condition. The outdoor bathroom was nice, too. However, it'd be nice to have another towel rack or clothes line as we always had a lot of towels/bathing suites additionally to the normal towels.
In front of our bungalows were terraces with tables and chairs.
The rooms were clean and towels were changed daily.

Wifi was included in the rate.
The reception area was ok and there was a computer for the guests to use.

The garden of the resort was extremely nice. A lot of small lanes, bridges, step stones and very very well groomed.

The main restaurant area was fitted with ugly wooden furniture, but there was another small terrace further down to the beach and we usually sat there.

The included breakfast was simple and a la carte.
It was only served until 9.30 am. Too early for holiday makers I think.
I cannot really complain about the food as I know that we are in Asia where continental breakfast is always strange, but I think I can agree with some of the other reviews which say that one could expect a little more for the not so cheap room rate.
During the day it was possible to get shakes, juices, food and other drinks at the restaurant or on the small terrace.
In the evening they served great food, again a la carte. Even though we could have walked to one of the other resorts, we ate there every night. We liked the food a lot and were amazed how they could produce all those different fresh dishes in the small kitchen.
The staff was also really nice. The girls didn't speak much English (but it was sufficient to take orders!), but as we were on holiday and had time, we pointed out on the menu what we wanted, spoke slowly when we wanted different things and got on perfectly. The girls knew us very well after a couple of days and we taught them some English while they taught us Vietnamese.
They tried really hard and bearing in mind that a couple of years ago Tourism was non-existent on Phu Quoc I think everyone did really well.
Even the cleaning girls were totally nice and we joked with them and smiled a lot, even though we had to use it with hands and feet.

The beach was amazing. There was no hotel to the left so "our beach" seemed really secluded and like it only belonged to us. To the right were two smaller resorts (behind a bend) and the often menionted Mango Resort. We went to Mango one time for lunch. But apart from that we stayed on our beach as it really was the nicest.
There were many sun beds with sombrellas and hammocks. It was never crowded (even on the last days when there were more guests) and we always got a sun bed.
The beach was sandy and white, the water crystal clear and we enjoyed swimming all day.
There was a snorkeling boat, which stopped outside our bay for about 1 - 2 hours once a day, but they stayed around their boat and didn't come to our beach.

I did notice some of the guests complaining about the "lack of English" and that they expected more for 110 USD. Maybe they are right, but we liked it so much and it was the highlight of our holiday. If you look for faults you can find them but if you just enjoy spending your day in a nice, clean environment without many other people and stop searching for things to moan about, you can enjoy it a lot.

Room Tip: We extended our stay by one day and as our sea view bungalow (no 8) was already reserved, we had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
4.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
567 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
571 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 47 in Duong Dong
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
417 reviews
5.4 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#8 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Ong Lang Beach | Near by Mango Bay Resort, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 950000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#8 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing