We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phuong Binh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phuong Binh House
Ranked #1 of 94 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I did not stay here as it was fully booked when I tried, obviously a good sign that they offer fab accomdation! Spent alot of the time at the restaurant though where the food was superb, always came out super hot and very fast!! The staff also were very attentive and friendly! Eat here for sure as its a perfect place to sit and watch the sunset also!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katie-ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Hello. Thank you so much for your nice feedback.
We feel so sorry too because we could not have your stay at our place.
But it was so nice to meet you at our restaurant and the important thing that is you like our foods and spent a lot of time at our retaurant as a guest in our guesthouse.
Thank you so much and see you again.
Please contact us ealier to give us a chance to have your stay right at our bungalows.

Thank you.
Best regards
Bic_Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    78
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
166
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

every time I'm in Phu Quoc I try to stay here.
the staff got the right attitude toward their guests.
after taking first morning flight from saigon I land here to take breakfast by the sea with their famous omelette gregory. I don't want a rich omelette to kill my diet, so I ask a white omelette 3 eggs with sauteed mushrooms and cheese. comes very well with a strong cafe den da ( black iced coffee).

Room Tip: if you want sea view from the room just ask for air con rooms. book in advance it is usually full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 800patrickn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello. Thank you so much for a nice review.
This time we have a construction on the back of our hotel so it was noisy.
We really sorry for this inconvenience.

Thank you for everything and we hope to see you again and again.
Phuong Binh House always welcome you.

Best regards
Bic and PBH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I loved Phuong Binh House and would definitely stay there again. I and another friend each stayed in one of the beachfront bungalows ($35) where you can just step off the porch onto the beach. Another friend had a sea view bungalow ($25) which was slightly smaller but pretty much identical, just a few paces off the beach. My room was large but quite spartan with a wardrobe and bedside table. The rooms did not have tv but I believe there are plans to add them to the rooms at a later date. Most of the time we were out and about, at the restaurant/on the beach or having a few drinks at Rory's so it wasn't missed at all. The family who runs the place definitely make you feel very welcome without being too overly attentive. As mentioned in other reviews, Bic is great and makes such an effort to make sure your visit goes smoothly. The bungalows are having little improvements done over time which will make this place even more popular. Get in while you can.

Room Tip: If you can't get a beach front bungalow, stay in one of the sea view rooms. You cannot get a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beacygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hello.
Thank you so much for your good review.
I feel really sorry because when you were here the weather was so bad.
It is too windy and rainny. Do you remember when you have just arrived, it was a big rain.
I went up to the corner to pick you up by a umbrella but you were be wet at all.

We had fun and really comfortable to be served you at our place.

Thank you for everything and we hope to have a chance to meet you again at Phuong Binh House.

Best regards
Bic and PBH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My girlfriend and I had a brilliant time here and Bic, the owner, is great. The rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We paid $15 a night for the bungalow furthest away from the beach front so I think it was the cheapest, still a brilliant room: nice sized double bed, mosquito net, large room, en-suite wet room.

The restaurant serves food and drinks all day and the cocktails, well, they're amazing! You can rent motorbikes which are reasonable priced and I would advise doing so in order to explore the island and its beaches north and south.

The only negatives was the plumbing; it was common the struggle flushing the chain on the toilet and the showers were often cold. However as we found throughout our backpacking trip of Vietnam, this was very common. Overall a fantastic place to stay and made our trip to the Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello. I'm Bic. I hope that everything is good on your side.
Thank you so much for your stay at Phuong Binh House and for your nice feedback.
Because we use the Sun power for hot shower system so hot water was depended on the weather. It was in wet season so I'm so sorry for this trouble.

Thank you for everything. You were very nice to us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Bic and PBH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Can just confirm what everybody else wrote. Serious deal for this money. My story: unfortunately our pickup at the airport was forgotten. We did not make a big deal out of if and did not ask for a refund or anything. But even without asking, the costs got all deducted from the hotel bill. Where do you find that these days?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyRomancio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Hello. I'm Bic from Phuong Binh House.
Thank you so much for your good review.
I'm really sorry for our mistake. That was all my faut.
Thank you so much for your sympathy and for choice at our place.
Thank you for everything.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards
Bic and Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were lucky and got the room right ON the beach- just re-opened.- not sure how they were allowed to build there , but only 2 metre to sand, 10 metre to sea (28C), 6 metre to bar/restaurant from our bedroom door! Other units behind are also close and cheaper.
Family owned and loved by very happy , friendly family.
Definitely not the Ritz, but clean and very inexpensive basic accommodation and food.
Some great sunsets during our stay, and only a few storms this week, in contrast to prior week on the island , which was a washout almost. (480 mm rain monthly July/August).
Regrettably beach has a lot of trash from local community, but hotels clean up their foreshore regularly.- will improve as tourism develops !?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Hello, I'm Bic. Thank you so much for your good review. That was very nice to meet you and your wife. We were very happy to see that your stay had two days with nice weather.
We hope to see you again next year and we will have cushions for you on your sunbed!...
Thank you so much again.
I hope that you have a nice trip in Hoi An.

Best regards
Bic and Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My fiancee and I stayed at Phuong Binh guesthouse in August 2013, and generally found it to be an excellent place to put our feet up for a week and recharge. We paid $25/night for a bungalow with AC which we felt was good value. There are definitely a few things which could be improved, but it's not hard to see why it has such a good reputation amongst travellers.

Highlights
– Rooms are excellent, simply but tastefully decorated. Beds are comfy, not too firm, and pillows are good. All beds have mosquito nets which we used each night. AC not needed in August. Wet room bathroom, and while the shower is not closed, the room is large enough not to warrant it.
– The location is difficult to beat. Our bungalow was only a few meters from the beach, and it was lovely falling asleep each night to a soundtrack of waves crashing on the shore. It's a couple of kilometres south of Duong Dong, the main town, meaning you'll need to hire a scooter or take a short taxi ride if you want to go into town. This was not a big issue and you'll probably find yourself spending most of your time around the guesthouse anyway. Definitely worth eating at the seafood night market in town at least once though. Two doors to the south is the excellent Rory's Beach Bar, an amazingly relaxing bar and restaurant that you'll find yourself returning to time and time again.
– Tab system in place, where you pay for all accommodation, food and drinks on check-out. Makes life easier.
– Bich in particular is lovely and professional, with a good level of English. Always happy to help out and meet the needs of her guests.
– Airport/Ferry pickups available.

Improvements
– We initially checked into a non-AC room a bit further back from the beach but found the WiFi didn't work in the room. We changed to one of the AC rooms closer to reception (and the beach) where WiFi signal was better. Can be a little temperamental at times.
– Food and cocktails are passable, without being exceptional. No real effort put into making the restaurant inviting at night, such as table lanterns or music. But none of that matters because you have Rory's Beach Bar a couple of doors down.
– Wooden beach chairs do not have padded mattresses which is particularly annoying, as they're quite uncomfortable if you plan on sitting on them for a while. We would usually go to Arcadia Resort next door and use their padded loungers instead (D100k for two chairs for the day, or free if you don't get caught). They also have a very fast WiFi connection accessible from the beach.
– Construction work on one of the beach-front bungalows would start early in the morning, meaning long sleep-ins were not always possible. However, it looked like it was almost complete when we left (Not great for us, but good for you)
– Power shortages happen every few days. Not the fault of the guesthouse, and not really a major issue when you have the beach on your doorstep. Generators are sometimes used when power drops out.
– The rubbish: more a general problem for the island. Local fishermen use the ocean as their rubbish bin, and it washes up on shore. Usually the guesthouses clean their own corner of the beach each day, so it's not a huge problem, but walk to one of the more secluded areas and you'll be shocked by the state of it.

So in summary, Phuong Binh is not without its faults, but with a bit of local knowledge, most of its shortcomings can be easily met by the businesses around it, leaving you with a well-equipped bungalow only meters from the sand at a very reasonable price. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tito079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngô B, Front Office Manager at Phuong Binh House, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Hello. I'm Bic. I hope that you are now very happy on your trip at another place in Viet Nam.
First I want to say thank you for your long stay at Phuong Binh House and thank you for your feedback. This is a very nice review to us. Thank you so much.
Actually I could feel that you were a bit disappointed in our bar at the restaurant. We are so sorry about that. Our bar and restaurant is too closed to the sea or I can say that it is right on the beach and not shielded. In this season you can see the rain comes suddenly and the sea water is salty and it destroys everything. So we could not put any speaker or computer outside to play music. Half of the lights and 4 speakers at the bar were be broken. Our bar seems to be closed in rainny season.
It was not like our bar in high season anymore. I'm so sorry about that one more time. But we will try to find some solutions to keep the bar running at the same time in next rainny season. And we will fix cushion or at least thicker beach towers on the sunbed asap for sure.
The polutions is a big big problem in Viet Nam. I can see very bad thing in Vietnammese's behaviors related to the enviroment. In a meeting about this problem we got some solutions to deal it but I think it has to be deployed step by step. It takes a long time to inprove the comprehension of local people. We love this island and more than ever we want to protect it. But I think that local people should be known how is it important and what to do?

So thank you so much again. We will try our best to do everything better. The first thing we want to bring to you that's our heart. You are happy so we are happy.
We hope to see you again soon. Phuong Binh House always welcome you.

Best regards
Bic and Phuong Binh House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.2 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
14.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mai House Resort
Mai House Resort
#18 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 95 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuong Binh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuong Binh House

Property: Phuong Binh House
Address: Alley 118, Tran Hung Dao St, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Phuong Binh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuong Binh House Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing