We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Cassia Cottage(Duong Dong)
US$142
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daisy Resort(Duong Dong)
US$87
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phu Van Resort(Duong Dong)
US$60
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A74 Hotel(Duong Dong)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,025)
Filter reviews
2,025 results
Traveller rating
1,526
372
89
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,526
372
89
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench colonial stylepepper tree restaurantsorbetcold towelspeppertree restaurantphu quocfour poster bedlive bandgarden villaturn down serviceour honeymoonmain buildingperfect endwonderful hoteleach eveninglush gardensprivate beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,095 - 1,100 of 2,025 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Perfect getaway place, hidden paradise, I always feel "fully recharged" when staying in this hotel. What I like here the most, is the service, they really know what hospitality means, how to please you, how to make your stay perfect.
Even if there're some bumps once in a while, they can find the way to make it up to you. Last time there was some construction going on in the afternoon, it was really noisy, my husband talked to the reception and we got upgraded immediately from a room to a villa, it was ready in 40 mins and we got a complimentary breakfast next morning.
We had a nice Sunday Brunch in The Garden, it was like in the movies when your filthy rich auntie living in the tropics invites you to spend some days in her villa :).
La Veranda is my favourite place in Vietnam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Katus J,

We are grateful to you for informing us about your perfect and “fully charged” holiday with your husband at La Veranda Resort. Particularly, your great appreciation for our service has given us an encouragement for our salient mission of achieving and exceeding our guest’s expectation. In terms of the construction, we are glad the inconvenience did not impair your wonderful experience with us.

We thank you for your positive feedback and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you and your husband again at La Veranda, your “favourite place in Vietnam”.

Yours sincerely,
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Sydney, Australia
21
Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We went to this hotel with a lot of expectations, but were disappointed. The main reason was the lack of cleanliness of the beach, the inaccessibility of the rooms, the lack of helpfulness by the staff. The resort has managed to clean their part of the beach well, but the dirt from the neighbouring areas gets into the private beach of the resort. The rooms allotted to us were on the 1st floor and I was travelling with my parents aged 65 and 64 which was not very convenient. We had food brought in from a restaurant outside the hotel due to dietary requirements of my mother, and the hotel refused to heat it without a charge of $15!! Anyway, we will not go back to this resort and will not recommend it to friends too. Oh yes, and there are mosquitoes in the room. The resort provides mosquito net for the king/queen bed but not for the extra bed. Also they have some really loud evening live music which could be disturbing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsianTraveller2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La V, General Manager at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear AsianTraveller2002,

Thank you for taking the time to review on TripAdvisor your recent stay at La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc!

We appreciate all feedback as it gives us an opportunity to know how we are doing and where we can or need to improve. We are sorry to read about your dissatisfaction of the beach cleanliness, for your information, we do have a team to clean our beach every early morning as one of responsibility commitments to the Phu Quoc island environment and nature. In this case, the trash seems to be hit on the shore every 2-3 hours, hence, our current action will be enhancing cleaning activity more often. We are also continuously working on several environmental initiatives with the local community to ensure that we can create awareness in an attempt to reduce the amount of rubbish and waste on the island and how it is dealt with for the benefit of all for the future.

With regards to your comment about outside food which was brought in La Veranda, as you may be aware that hygiene standard is prudishly implemented at La Veranda Resort in order to assure our guest health is protected. Therefore, our staff reserves the right to refuse your enquiry of food heating.

We hope that you will consider staying at La Veranda again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and service for which we are known.

Sincerely,

La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Hotel prides itself on its colonial French theme (it is owned by a French company) and is simple beautiful. I have a slight issue with the whole concept of colonialism but as long as you can brush it aside as well as the pure opulence on a poor fishing island, then it is paradise. The room is large and welcoming as are the staff and they cannot do enough for you. the only problem I had is that I do not eat meat and trying to translate that to a culture that has, by necessity, eaten just about everything, was not easy...I wished I had taken a basic course in Vietnamese as I felt totally inadequate and rather ignorant.
Beach is on the door step and it is tropical heaven.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazycollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The setting of this colonial style hotel is very nice. Lovely gardens overlooking the beach. Very well decorated and appointed. We chose the suites and were lucky to have one on the front row with a uninterrupted view of the sea.
It was very relaxing to sit on our little veranda at night and watch the sunset.
Our children, however, were tucked away at the far end of the building were the rooms are located. Although the rooms are very nice as well we felt it a little strange that our children got allocated the room as far from ours as they could possibly find. When I asked reception their answer was "the travel agency did not ask for the children to be close to their parents". As there was no other room available according to reception (hotel was definitely not full on our first night), we had to book them into a suite as well, at extra cost of course.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, service was always with a smile. Some staff clearly lacked a basic level of English but they made up for that with their willingness to please the guests.

Had lunch at "the Garden" restaurant and really enjoyed it. Had a superb dinner at the Peppertree Restaurant as well. In both cases however, the service was unexpectedly slow.
The management clearly has to work on some issues. We were quite surprised to be put on a "waiting list" for Saturday morning breakfast.....; On the busiest morning of the week, staff were busy mowing the lawn and started on maintenance work right in front of the restaurant.
We asked for a late check out and were offered a room to stay in until our departure to the airport. After checking out of our suites at 12 noon we had to wait until 2 pm before we could go to the room, which left us with just 30 minutes to "enjoy" the room...
On Thursday and Friday night there was a live band playing on the veranda. Quite nice, but personally we did not enjoy them continuing until well after 11 pm. And very unfortunately the DJ from the bar next door took over after that........

These were all not major issues, but not things you would expect for a hotel of this level and for the price we paid for the suites.

The beach at La Veranda was kept clean, unfortunately the same can not be said about the direct neighbours. We made long walks along Long Beach and were saddened to see so many hotels/hostels being very unkept with dirty beaches.
It makes you wonder were Phu Quoc is heading, especially with all the new "over the top" construction they are planning......

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews