We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I wanted!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Duong Dong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just what I wanted!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I loved my beachfront bungalow! It was just what I hoped for. It was clean and modern and the view of Long beach was awesome! The location was pretty good, (compared to the other resorts) A 15 minute walk into town. Breakfast was good and the staff are great. Thanks guys! Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Don't bother with the nearby restaurant on the main road. They only cater for organized tour groups. Scooters are available for hire but be aware of the risks involved. (Check out my other post about scooters). Save yourself some money and book direct with the resort. Love this place and love the island! I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    243
    77
    38
    11
See reviews for
71
405
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Was excited to stay here after reading reviews here on trip advisor...found this place disappointing for a number of reasons. 1) last to be picked up at airport - lonely feeling in low season 2) first room air con didn't work plus they didn't bother to turn fridge on & door wouldn't open!! (Note they waited 2 days to fix only when people checked into that villa) 3) bed is very hard and pillows are like rocks!

Highlight - beach villa is on the beach! Great spot to watch sunset, swim and relax.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Thorpie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 3 years ago, and was so impressed with their help organising trips, mopeds and the cuisine was to die for. I decided to return with friends. To my horror, the night before leaving Ireland to go to Vietnam, my wife informed me that I'd booked the wrong month to stay here (July instead of august) with Agoda. Trying to get in contact with Agoda is difficult...... On the off chance today I rang the hotel today. Well, they couldn't have been more helpful! Phu & the guys were on the ball immediately. I had an email confirming my new dates within the hour!! That could've been a costly ( £153 ) mistake, but as a reflection of the level of outstanding service here, the guys took care of it... At no extra cost/fees!!! The beauty of this island can truly be enjoyed when you feel valued by your hotel.... Trust me, you will feel that here!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SballNewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The resort is located on the middle of the island on the west coast, 8k from the airport (9USD by taxi). Paid 40USD a night. We had a wonderful garden outside our bungalow. The beach was 1 minute walk away from our hut. Smashing and perfect. You could ask for bungalows on the beach if you wish!!!!

Waves were strong all the time (strong between June and October, Calm otherwise), great for a surfing lesson. not quite for little kids or snorkeling lesson if you are visiting between June and October but that didn't apply to us.

lots of sands and palm trees on the beach. Secluded I really felt like I had the beach to myself. Amazing. Clean no rubbish to be seen.

Breakfast was OK cannot complain about it. Had Vietnamese noodle soup, bread/butter/jam/nutella , stir fry noodles, rice, spring rolls , fry egg sunny side up, omelette slices, mini american pan cakes with honey, 2 choice of juices, tea/coffee , yoghurt , fruits. Dont go after 9am as they pack up after 9am.

The resort offer the following tours run by an external company (John's tours - Good):
land tour North (9-3pm,) , land tour South (9-3pm), Fishing/Snorkelling tour North (8:30-5pm, unavailable on the day due to strong waves) , Fishing/Snorkelling tour South (8:30-5pm) , Squid Fishing (5pm-9pm) .

Staff were fine. Mr Dung was friendly at the reception and spoke good English. A team of garden staff to keep the garden pristine. Rooms had TV, air con, mosquito net, fridge, en suite, solar powered water boiler. TV was a fat CRT screen and bathroom had no bath tub only shower. Not quite international standard but gets the job done (like the breakfast). All toiletries apart from razors were included.

The restaurant faces the beach (good), also has a menu for lunch and dinner but not quite its forte. I will give that a miss next time.

Would highly recommend. not number 1 on trip advisor for no reason.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in sea star for five nights in a beach front villa. The rooms are very clean and the service is great.

In comparison to other hotels in this area (long beach, phu qouc) - it is a very good value for money!

The only down side is that breakfasts are only served until 9 AM.

(Ohh and don't miss the night market in Doung Doung town!)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hadar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Location: on the beach, stunning sand and palm trees. Very clean. We managed the walk into the main town Dung Dong just fine every day, there are also places to eat nearby
Staff: the staff on reception were friendly
Room: the room was cleaned and made up everyday, it was fine for the price we paid. The shower was nice and big, the air-con worked ok but not great
Breakfast: the breakfast buffet had toast, cereal, some fruit plus drinks and the option to choose one cooked option each for free. the location looking onto the beach is very nice

overall, good value for the price we paid

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Not much to say. Great resort, friendly staff, clean and big bungalow, clean beach, delicious breakfast.

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the beach villa for 5 nights.

Went for a walk along the Beach, and I was glad that we chose Sea Star Resort


Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Merethe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 46 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 46 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#11 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 97 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc

Property: Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc
Address: 98/2 Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 95000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duong Dong
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#6 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc is situated on the beautiful Long Beach, offers simple and comfy accommodation with free WiFi access in its public areas. The resort is proud to have the nicest stretch of Long Beach with natural shade from Malabar almond and coco trees. It was designed its rooms and bungalows with respect for the environment and sensitivity to local culture, a combination designed to give our guests a peaceful and rewarding experience. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests in every facet of our service. This means bigger rooms with spacious veranda, genuine local hospitality, complete tranquility and excellent value for money. Trip for leisure, recreation and holiday purposes, Sea Star Resort is an excellent choice for your stay in Phu Quoc Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Star Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Hotel Sea Star
Sea Star Resort Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing