We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cute romantic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were there in November, 2012. If you like to have a lovely cure rest away from your everyday rush...pick this. Just the necessary things (simple cute house with bed, cabinet, locker, bathroom) but clean and gives the hidden charm right on the white beach. Gives the simple nature feeling with delicious breakfast (vietnamese coffee, fruits, eggs, pancake etc). Beautiful garden around the house and perfect beach which is wide enough to have space and shadow.
The road is challenging to the hotel by the way!
We were satisfied. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Beach front is beautiful but garden rooms are as close to the beach as other rooms:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Thanh Kieu is a fine little place and you can't say anything bad about the beach and swimming (I defy you to). Lack of aircon in room meant there was a fan which is fine, but also a mosquito net. Haven't had one since I used to live in West Africa decades ago. Same old problems though - don't tuck it in absolutely everywhere and one of the little horrors will get in sooner or later. Loved the great big safe. Maybe it was the time (last week or so, early Feb 2014) but everywhere on Phu Quoc seemed to close down around 9:30 and we never found the TK restaurant/bar open in the evening (not a problem, lots of places nearby). Staff pleasant and not too in-your-face (which I don't like). Maybe some people like more input from staff (see other reviews). Takes all sorts. Would definitely recommend this place, but get to Phu Quoc in the next two years if you're coming - it's getting developed fast. Dai Beach is being built up and probably will go private soon; other areas similar. Could be Phu Ket by 2020 (of course you may like that).

Room Tip: Were well back from beach but still perfectly alright. They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The beach is beautiful, the sand white, the water clean and cool and inviting.
The Coco Beach location on Phu Quoc's western coast is ideal. It's just that the resort itself seems to be sleep walking. Staff were unusually taciturn for Vietnamese, who everywhere else couldn't do enough for us. There's a slightly rundown feel about the place. That said, the buffet breakfast was better than adequate, and the cabin with a view of the beach was of a good size, simple, with an excellent open bathroom, no AC, but a reassuring mosquito net over the bed. The cabin came with a terrific triple-lock clunker of a safe that belonged in a museum, but which could probably withstand a bazooka shell. The resort sits in the best part of the beach, beside some far more expensive resorts with excellent restaurants.
All in all, however, the resort was probably very good value.
Phu Quoc itself is going through a revolution. More and more foreign airlines are coming into its new international airport. If you're planning a visit, do it soon, before the place becomes Vietnam's Phuket.
A cheap motor scooter is an ideal way to explore the further reaches of the island, but only if you are already a skilled rider. While traffic is nothing compared to Hanoi or Saigon, the roads themselves are mostly rough, largely unmapped and challenging to say the least.

Room Tip: Cabins nearest the beach gain a little of the sea breeze, which - since there was no AC in our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here in a sea view bungalow for three nights over a weekend in January 2014 and enjoyed it. Made use of the free airport pick up offered and was met by a taxi upon arrival. Check in was fast and I think I got the best bungalow around. It was simple with fan, two beds and an old safe, a bit of hangers for your clothes and a minibar with cheap drinks. The open bathroom was very nice qith outdoor shower and green plants. The net over the bed was just enough to keep most mosquitos away at night. The beach is very nice and there was always a bed available. Staff was very nice and the breakfast was okay although a bit sparse when we came late. The egg and pancake station made up for it. Service at the beach restaurant was very slow but the food good. Lots of good places to eat around and walking distance to the night market if you are fit for it. Recommended.

Room Tip: Our sea view bungalow was worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Of all the hotels we stayed in 6 weeks of travel in Vietnam this was our least favorite. The beach site and garden setting are great. The staff were not very friendly or helpful. The rooms were very basic. I liked the indoor/ outdoor bathroom although the hot water was tricky to control. We had to ask for two towels, water glasses, and a softer mattress. Water was not complimentary....another first. The food and service at the restaurant was terrible. Fortunately there are better ones near by. The buffet breakfast was decent. I thought the price was high for this type of accommodation. I would not return here or recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
12  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We really like this place. Bungalows are pretty simple but stylish. Price in comparing is a little bit higher than aruond. But you get bungalow in a beutifull harden. The beach is also perfect, with the sun beds and plenty of palms. Also breakfast was including and breakfast was really good.
The only not perfect thing I can say is beach restoran. Service here is quite poor and slow in comparing other neighbor places.
Anyway we really like the place and next time we will stay here for longer time.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Martynas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed in mid January for 5 nights - 1 Night in a garden view room, 4 nights in the Sea View bungalow. The bungalows are basic, with no aircon and an out door bathroom - but they were fantastic with no frills, just the basics that you need to enjoy the island! We were originally worried about the fact that there was no air conditioning in the rooms, but the nights are quite cool - so the fans were definitely sufficient!

The buffet breakfast is not the best, and yes the lady at the reception and the breakfast man are not the most pleasant people - but the landscaping and the beach definitely make up for it! The restaurant at the hotel is also over priced, so I wouldn't bother eating there - take a stroll down the beach, there are plenty of other places.. or rent a bike and head to town (we got ours at the small deli type store at the entrance to Sea Star, but we did notice there was a store at the entrance to our resort as well, we believe it is owned by the same family).

All in all a pretty good stay, I wouldn't expect luxury, but it definitely is paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hessienoogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 49 in Duong Dong
657 reviews
14.4 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#12 of 49 in Duong Dong
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassia Cottage
Cassia Cottage
#3 of 49 in Duong Dong
1,157 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
1,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langchia Hostel
Langchia Hostel
#16 of 127 in Duong Dong
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Kieu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Kieu Beach Resort

Address: 100C/14 Tran Hung Dao street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Duong Dong
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Kieu Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the sunset side of Phu Quoc Island. "Enjoy Your Life with sun and sea air." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thanh Kieu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Kieu Coco Beach Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing