We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Location”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We booked directly with the hotel; emails were answered promptly and efficiently and we were given a 10USD discount for booking online. We opted for a taxi transfer from the airport to the hotel for which 10USD was added to the hotel bill. Upon landing at the small airport and collecting our luggage, we were signposted to a taxi by a woman holding a piece of paper with my name on it, and 20 mins later we were at the hotel. A member of staff was waiting at the gates to greet us and take our luggage to the room via a handcart as we were beckoned towards reception. We were welcomed by a fellow Brit called Thomas, who quickly offered us the evening cocktails which were doing the rounds, a map, and a tour of the hotel grounds before been shown to our room.
We'd booked a large sea view room, which had a lovely shared terrace outside with a bench, table and chairs and a couple of sunbeds which got the evening sun. Inside there was a four-poster double bed and a four-poster single bed, seating area with a couch, chairs and table, kettle, teapot, cups and loose-leaf green tea, and wardrobe containing an electronic safe. There were plenty of clothes hangers in the wardrobe (bonus!), and a couple of pool towels. The bathroom was fairly rustic, consisting of an indoor room with sink, mirror, shaving socket, toilet, then a sliding door took you to an outside shower. Two toothbrushes and a tube of toothpaste was thoughtfully provided, as was shampoo, shower gel, cotton wool pads and cotton buds. There was free wi-fi provided.
There were about three rooms next to ours and we all shared the same strip of terrace. The hotel had two lovely pools, one adult pool and a shallower pool, then stairs lead down to the hotel restaurant where breakfast is served. The breakfast selection was fine, with fresh fruit, fresh juices, coffee, tea, lovely fresh bread rolls, cheese, ham, eggs cooked to order, bacon cooked to order, pancakes, freshly made jams, and a small hot selection such as noodles, rice, pho, etc. The staff at breakfast and in the restaurant were generally very helpful and friendly, and happy to try to practice their English.
There were plenty of sunbeds around the pools, and also on the beach, the pool getting the morning sun, the beach shady until the afternoon, although we appreciated the shade on the beach. The beach outside the hotel is quite a narrow strip of sand, but the staff keep it very clean. There is a stinger net in the sea, and due to the choppy seas and wind that blew debris and jellyfish into the net, the staff made a superb effort to clean the sea and expel the jellyfish.
Location is great, with a few beach restaurants nearby, and plenty of restaurants on the main road into town. A walk into town down the road took about 30 mins. There is a small shop just outside the hotel where you can get drinks, snacks, laundry done, book trips etc, the shop owner will make herself known to you! If you want a bit of night life, Rory's Bar is about a 15 min walk down the beach, or a 25 min walk down the road if you don't want to get covered in sand.
We had a couple of issues when we were there; the hotel safe refused to open showing an error message - one of the managers quickly sorted this out with his magic key. We also had an issue with hot water which we reported to reception and again it was sorted out quite quickly. The hot water is provided by a shower heater unit and it kept cutting out - switching the unit off and back on seemed to get it going. We had a couple of power cuts, but hey, it's SE Asia, these things happen, and the hotel generator soon kicked into life.
Our flight wasn't until around 4pm and check out was at 12 noon, but the hotel kindly let us keep the room at no charge until 2pm. If the room wasn't available, they said they'd arrange for a room to be made available so we could have a shower before departing. Transfer back to the airport was again another 10USD.
We had a perfectly enjoyable stay and would happily return. If you're going from the UK, please take Thomas some Salt and Vinegar McCoys crisps!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happynoodleboy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights and loved every minute of it. We had a bungalow with garden view. It was just great with A/C, private balcony, spacious room. Very quiet location, perfect place to unwind and relax. 2 pools, very clean private beach and a great restaurant (Spice House). We rented a motorbike for 11$/day and had a great time. Every day, around 16h30, it's Happy hour where you get a cocktail for free! The staff will go out of their way to make you happy. The manager was very friendly and helpfull. All around, a great place to stay, well worth the money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at Cassia for five nights after a city break in Saigon.

The hotel is situated in a beautiful location in what makes it seem like a really tropical setting. The grounds are very well kept and the pools, although quite small, look out through palm trees onto the beach.

The rooms are more Vietnamese style over contemporary western with an element of quirkiness to them. They were always well cleaned and replenished. The bed is comfortable and there is a lovely garden to relax in on an evening, plus minimal bugs which was a bonus!

The staff are very helpful, spoke a good level of English and made you feel very welcome. We slept in after the first night and when we rang to see what time breakfast was we were told it had just closed however they would keep it open a further 30 minutes just for us, and even offered to bring it to our room, which was very nice of them.

The food was good at all meal times, great variety and reasonably priced.

The beach itself outside Cassia is the best on Long Beach with the waves almost lapping against the sun loungers, clean and tidy. The beach is quiet compared to a lot of the other hotels and even comes with a stereotypical angled palm tree!

The wifi is good throughout the hotel, even on the beach.

The laundry was done within a day but was a little expensive, we found you could get it done in the town for a fraction if the price.

Overall a great stay, I would defiantly recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at cassia cottage as part of our Honeymoon trip to Vietnam, the hotel was great, very friendly staff and a chilled out/relaxed atmosphere. The swimming pool areas where nice, service was excellent, breakfast at the beach restaurant was also very good. The beach areas around the hotel was kept clean and was a nice place to enjoy the complementary cocktail each day between 4pm & 5pm. The room was immaculately clean and bathroom spacious, we had cottage 8 which was in its own little garden with pond and terrace. the hotel arranged mopeds for us which was great fun but if you choose to go exploring take good care as some roads are under construction! the night market was a great experience and great for sea food but be sure to use lots of mosquito replant as I got bitten a lot!
I would recommend staying a Cassia and would love to return in the future. If I could give one point of advice to Cassia the only thing i would say is to invest in some good quality mattress toppers as the mattress was a little firm but i like it this way so it wasn't really an issue!
Thank you to all the staff for making out Honeymoon one to remember and the little bag of cinnamon on departure was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We in this hotel for the fourth time. Everything was amazing. The staff from the hotel, the management was friendly and caring. We met as good friends.
Peace and quiet and comforts of the hotel, we always want go back!
Very nice garden. The people from the staff is really nice.
The hotel owner is very friendly, always taking care of the guests.
The hotel's restaurant is very tasty chicken with mango and chocolate ice cream is very best!
We go massage in hotel during the day, every day. Very good anti-cellulite massage and Thai massage. And for face the best with Aloe vera.
And in the evening at our favorite massage in parlor Mai Spa. Best massage with hot stones. Best procedure "Cleopatra" - scrub and wrap.
We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We booked into Cassia for 5 days at the beginning of November. It was like an oasis of calm after the madness of Saigon. When we arrived, we were given a lovely refreshing welcome drink and were seated in the restaurant to check in. Thankfully our room was ready immediately even though it was only around 10.30am so after being shown around the resort, we went straight in to get settled.

We spent most if our time in the resort and from walking down the beach it was definitely the nicest we found. The sunsets, 5pm cocktails and the amazing staff really made our stay. The food was fantastic, lots of fresh exotic fruit at brekkie.

One thing that I must mention from reading other reviews. Cassia will seem expensive after being elsewhere in Vietnam. If you think its too expensive, simply dont stay here rather than leaving a review complaining about it. There are plenty of cheaper places to stay on the island and (like every other hotel) you agree a price at booking!!! We felt it was worth every cent and was still much cheaper compared to what we'd pay in Ireland. A meal in Cassia came in at around 1/2 of the price at home.

Would absolutely love to return to Phu Quoc again some day and would not hesitate to stay in this beautiful resort again. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so special :-)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ntk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you, Thank you! it's fun to make people happy, and good to hear your comment to the other reviewers. Indeed there are places that charge less. We pay our income and real estate taxes, our staff have Social insurance, our density is half and Cassia Cottage food never comes out of freezer cases. We are there to make your holiday special. having been in Ireland this year, I know that you all appreciate tradition, honest food and a properly pulled Guiness.
We're trying to do the same with your tropical garden fantasy. when we get it right, it's priceless.

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

When we chose to come to Phu Quoc we couldn't decide whether to stay centrally or up at Mango Bay and so opted to spilt our time between both resorts. This was where we stayed after Mango Bay and that may have been the problem.

Cassia Cottage is a small relaxing resort located on the beach. Being small, it means there is no problem finding a sun lounger and relaxing by the pools with only a few others around. Its right on the beach too so you can wander along to the beach bars/restaurants and it takes about half hour to walk along the beach to the night market (as it gets dark quickly I would suggest the route along the road though as knowing when to exit the beach proved tricky!). Location wise CC is great and the staff were all friendly and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The garden setting was very pretty too.

We had a garden cottage and were lucky enough that when sat on our patio we benefited from a partial sea view too (request 4B if you do not want to pay for a seaview!). Each cottage comes with a hammock too. The rooms are well equipped, the bathroom is spacious and the bed and pillow were very comfortable. A mosquito net is placed over the bed each night but this is quite early at about 5pm which means that there is then nowhere to sit and get ready in the room as the seat were outside on the patio. At about 5pm staff come round with free cocktails which was a nice touch.

Cassia Cottage is described as "Simple" and a B&B so this should give you an idea of what to expect but the price suggests otherwise. We paid around £120 a night but felt half that would be a fairer price. It is overpriced when compared with other resorts on the Island and along the beachfront.

Breakfast is OK, but guests had to constantly ask for the coffee to be refilled, more plates etc rather than staff anticipating this. Unfortunately some staff serving guests understood very little English which resulted in us (and others) being given the wrong dish at lunch, (A request for the BBQ platter resulted in a squid salad). All staff in the restaurant were friendly but as a unit they seemed a little disorganised!

As our flight was not until later in the day we were able to keep our room for longer at no extra charge which was appreciated.

Overall our stay here was relaxing just perhaps not to the standard we had hoped for. Perhaps our expectations were too high (based on other tripdviser reviews and the cost)?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreenwichSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at Cassia Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Folks, as you noted your expectations were misplaced!
We are a low density, high thread count, nice-smelling-soap kind of place. Our breakfast coffee is locally roasted, high mountain arabica, brewed fresh every 10 minutes or so. Maybe we were a bit slow during that 'peak hour' from 0815-0900.
our rate for sea front rooms is only $10 more than the garden cottages and gosh, we've never had anyone complain about sitting on the verandah in the evening before.
Overall, you liked us, and so, we hope you will come back outside peak season, when our rates are lower. Or sleep somewhere a little less dear and just come over for a good, fresh cup of coffee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 49 in Duong Dong
611 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 111 in Phu Quoc Island
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: £81 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing