We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cassia Cottage
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$304
US$249
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daisy Resort(Duong Dong)
US$89
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phu Van Resort(Duong Dong)
US$60
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A74 Hotel(Duong Dong)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
893
254
55
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
254
55
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice housebeach housephu quocfree cocktailmanager jimevery afternooninfinity poolthe cottagesoutdoor showeroverlooking the beachnight marketmosquito netgarden roomlong beachsea viewsao beachrelaxing holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I will keep it short. When it comes to accommodation, Cassia Cottage was the highlight of my trip throughout Vietnam. Period. Of course, I came back home with amazing memories of the various places I had the chance to visit. However, memories I have from Cassia Cottage are special and aside from the others. As I entered the main aisle to access the property, I felt like entering the garden of Even. The bungalow was really nice and embedded with a delightful atmosphere. Service is impeccable and staff puts great attention to details. Only regret, I should have stayed longer. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulienLa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at Cassia Cottage for 5 nights, and had quite a pleasant stay. At first I must mention that the service before arrival was impeccable. We were 4 friends renting 2 bungalows with garden view; on request the hotel arranged for 1 extra bed in each bungalow for us for free, in addition they also arranged a small birthday surprise for my friend. On arrival the check-in was quick and painless, and they served us a complementary welcome drink.

The resort is well kept with the staff paying a lot of attention to the garden, which is beautiful, as other reviewers have been mentioning. The bungalows are nice, and contained everything we needed during the stay (safe, umbrella, mosquito nets, etc.). Unfortunately we also have a few complaints; firstly we had big troubles with the showers, which had unacceptable low water pressure in both bungalows (imagine trying to rinse out the shampoo from your hair with just a small steam of water, terrible, just forget about the balsam!). In addition one of the bungalows didn’t even have any warm water for the first 3 days, before we complained. We also had to complain regarding the air condition, which was not effective in cooling the rooms. In their defence all complaints were promptly taken care off almost immediately (when we complained). I would therefore recommend bringing ANY problems to the staff’s attention immediately, and not suffer unnecessary in silence for days, like we did.

The pool area was beautiful, and perfect for spending the sunny days. Both pools are nice with clean water, and it is also possible to order your lunch and ice cream to the pool area (Tip: The chocolate sundae is delicious, try it!)

We highly recommend renting motorbikes in order to experience Phu Quoc to it fullest potential. At the resort we rented 2 motorbikes (15 USD each for a full day), the price was higher at the resort than outside, but we got two shiny, almost new, motorbikes which in our opinion was worth the extra cost. If you need a motorbike for a short trip to the city, it’s better to rent it just outside the resort where they charge 40k VND per hour (which we did a few times).

Unfortunately we were not as satisfied with the food in the restaurant. Do not expect authentic Vietnamese cuisine at this resort. As a Vietnamese I am used to top quality food when travelling in Vietnam. We ate at the resort‘s restaurant almost everyday, because it was the most convenient, especially when the rain was pouring down and we were bunked up in the bungalow sick. The pho (noodle soup) is not recommended, as it is VERY bland and westernized, and not even served with the normal greens and sauces you expect. Such a shame. A lot of the other dishes, western or Vietnamese, also tasted bland – not what you would think for a place called the Spice House. Most of the food was just okay. Luckily, the restaurant‘s staff was very pleasant, and the service was generally good. The breakfast was good, although more choices when it came to drinks would have been appreciated. Do remember to ask for Vietnamese iced coffee, a great beverage to start off your day.

Overall, we were happy with our stay at Cassia Cottage. It is a great place to escape the big cities of Vietnam, and we were very impressed with the staff. Don’t make the same mistake we did – if you notice anything that’s not right, tell the staff immediately, and they will probably do all in their power to fix whatever’s bothering you..

Room Tip: 5A has better A/C, 5B has better water pressure.. you choose..
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our room was quite big, clean and quite quiet, we had swimming pool views. The breakfast was great with some of choices: asian and western food. The staff were friendly and helpful (but not all, as i we met some staff who never smiled or greeted guests). The room rate was quite expensive compared to any resorts in Vietnam. As i did not find something boutique or exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gifts O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We are writing this review from our patio at cassia cottage. Pictures online really don't do it justice; having walked up and down the beach and peeked into several other properties, cassia cottage is by far the most beautiful and upscale. Grounds are immaculately groomed; rooms are well appointed with modern spa bathrooms. If one did not want to venture off the grounds, there is no need. Yet good food and fun are only steps away. Pool area is built to sit high enough to have a beautiful view of the sea. Prices are very reasonable by American standards. Taking advantage of the nicely stocked mini -bar doesn't feel like a scam, but instead a courtesy by the owners to make one's stay hassle-free.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank cynthia1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After two weeks of traveling around Vietnam in June 2014 we had 6 wonderful days at Cassia Cottage. We stayed in one of the Garden Cottages which are spacious enough for 2 people and very clean and comfortable. The rooms include a small terrace with seating opportunities, I especially liked the hammock.
For going swimming or just lounging around lazily you can choose one of the two swimming pools with sea view or the beach.
The Extras such as the welcome drink, cocktail happy hour and the fruit plate in the room on arrival are very corteous and make you feel welcome.

Even though the weather was not perfect (as we have expected as the rainy season already started) the amazing service and the gorgeous garden made completely up for that. The staff of Cassia is really, really nice and helpful. Whenever you have questions or need some recommendations about trips they devotes lots of time to their guests. They even spend half an hour convinced me to go scuba diving (Flipper Diving highly recommended) which was amazing. Thank you Jerome :-)

Of course Cassia Cottage wasn't the accommodation with the most favourable price on our Vietnam holidays but you can't compare Phu Quoc with Hoi An or Sa Pa or ... Phu Quoc is much more expensive and Cassia Cottage is completely worth it. Whenever I come back to Phu Quoc I will for sure stay at Cassia Cottage again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anke81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews