We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really needed 24 hours to get the feel of the resort but eventually got into the vibe and flow of how things worked.

The rooms are good but could do with a little TLC and our room (1A a large seaview) the a/c only just managed to keep it cool enough (but this is often a common problem with booking large rooms in hot places).

There are 2 pools in the resort, but they're very close together so if there are excited children (and why wouldn't they be?) the adults pool won't be an area of calm and traquility, but thankfully the beach is away from the pools and provided some much needed peace and there was never a fight for sunbeds.

Breakfast was nothing special and as others have commented you need to get there early (we don't usually), as towards the end of service things aren't replenished and there's limited 'cook to order' options.

Another personal niggle for us was the number of children in the resort (previous reviewers had similar problems with a large family), so if you're thinking boutique and quiet it may not be (possibly due to the larger rooms that can accommodate families).

The staff are great and always helpful and attentive and definitely make up for some of the other minor issues.

Value for money is always subjective but IOHO it's probably a little high on the cost for what it delivers (but Phu Quoc appears more expensive than other parts of Vietnam, but it is an island so probably should be expected).

I don't think we'd return if we're ever back in Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoisonDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    232
    49
    12
    5
See reviews for
238
572
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of 6 and booked one beach house and a sea view cottage, which we shared. The resort lived up to its reputation in all regards, it was spacious, clean and well maintained. We were concerned about the chances of poor weather, but even though it was July, we had lots of sunshine. I only mention this because even if we had struck bad weather the layout of the resort would still have allowed a relaxing holiday, due to the pools and sheltered areas.
The check-in was smooth and we were quickly in our rooms.
A key point throughout our stay was the staff. All staff, including the management team,Thomas and Jerome, the team in the restaurant, "P", Romeo, the room staff and the gardeners were all exceptionally helpful and always smiling. The free cocktails each afternoon were also very welcome. We ate in the spice house restaurant for most meals because there seemed little point eating out when the food on offer was of such high quality with regular "specials" for variety. We were particularly thankful for the effort that was made to help us celebrate a "milestone" birthday. This included a magnificent seafood feast and a birthday cake which could have fed a dozen people, all provided at a reasonable cost. The location of Cassia Cottage is convenient and local taxis are plentiful and cheap. I look forward to returning at some point in the future and would like to experience the island in season, but as a winter getaway, it's hard to beat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel ground and landscaping were beautiful. The 2 swimming pools were nice especially where we were there in July (beginning of monsoon season) and the sea was quite rough. The rooms were comfortable and cozy. The mosquito net was put up every night by the staff was a nice touch. The food (breakfast and lunch) was good.

The staff at Cassia Cottage were excellent. They took care the transport from and to the airport for us according to our flight time, organized a tour to the south side of the island and spa service, and gave us useful information/recommendation. There was a problem with our beach house reservation but the manager, Thomas, arranged sea-view cottages in replacement and make sure there was enough room for our group of 9. The garden cottages were also very nice.

Overall, we had a good time there and wished that we could stay longer. The only thing that we we did not like was how crowded the restaurant was during meal time. Although the resort was not fully occupied when we were there (low season), it was really crowded during breakfast and dinner. I could not imagine how it would be in high season.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have spent 1week here , leaving 20th July. This is the place to stay, it's not a 5 star and has no TV. But what it has is great staff, very pretty beach setting brilliant pools. The beach locations is the best on the entire island, do not go elsewhere as the roading is terrible. You can walk along the beach to la Veranda hotel , where we danced the night away, and beside that is the only beach bar on the island , where they have had bone fires most nights on the each. The owner of Cassia put on a cocktail night for the guests and we made so many new friends from NZ and Denmark. Oh and the bar man just dropped me of a complimentary cocktail, which they have every night. Life is good. Grant and Debirah, Queenstown, New Zealand

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I will keep it short. When it comes to accommodation, Cassia Cottage was the highlight of my trip throughout Vietnam. Period. Of course, I came back home with amazing memories of the various places I had the chance to visit. However, memories I have from Cassia Cottage are special and aside from the others. As I entered the main aisle to access the property, I felt like entering the garden of Even. The bungalow was really nice and embedded with a delightful atmosphere. Service is impeccable and staff puts great attention to details. Only regret, I should have stayed longer. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulienLa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at Cassia Cottage for 5 nights, and had quite a pleasant stay. At first I must mention that the service before arrival was impeccable. We were 4 friends renting 2 bungalows with garden view; on request the hotel arranged for 1 extra bed in each bungalow for us for free, in addition they also arranged a small birthday surprise for my friend. On arrival the check-in was quick and painless, and they served us a complementary welcome drink.

The resort is well kept with the staff paying a lot of attention to the garden, which is beautiful, as other reviewers have been mentioning. The bungalows are nice, and contained everything we needed during the stay (safe, umbrella, mosquito nets, etc.). Unfortunately we also have a few complaints; firstly we had big troubles with the showers, which had unacceptable low water pressure in both bungalows (imagine trying to rinse out the shampoo from your hair with just a small steam of water, terrible, just forget about the balsam!). In addition one of the bungalows didn’t even have any warm water for the first 3 days, before we complained. We also had to complain regarding the air condition, which was not effective in cooling the rooms. In their defence all complaints were promptly taken care off almost immediately (when we complained). I would therefore recommend bringing ANY problems to the staff’s attention immediately, and not suffer unnecessary in silence for days, like we did.

The pool area was beautiful, and perfect for spending the sunny days. Both pools are nice with clean water, and it is also possible to order your lunch and ice cream to the pool area (Tip: The chocolate sundae is delicious, try it!)

We highly recommend renting motorbikes in order to experience Phu Quoc to it fullest potential. At the resort we rented 2 motorbikes (15 USD each for a full day), the price was higher at the resort than outside, but we got two shiny, almost new, motorbikes which in our opinion was worth the extra cost. If you need a motorbike for a short trip to the city, it’s better to rent it just outside the resort where they charge 40k VND per hour (which we did a few times).

Unfortunately we were not as satisfied with the food in the restaurant. Do not expect authentic Vietnamese cuisine at this resort. As a Vietnamese I am used to top quality food when travelling in Vietnam. We ate at the resort‘s restaurant almost everyday, because it was the most convenient, especially when the rain was pouring down and we were bunked up in the bungalow sick. The pho (noodle soup) is not recommended, as it is VERY bland and westernized, and not even served with the normal greens and sauces you expect. Such a shame. A lot of the other dishes, western or Vietnamese, also tasted bland – not what you would think for a place called the Spice House. Most of the food was just okay. Luckily, the restaurant‘s staff was very pleasant, and the service was generally good. The breakfast was good, although more choices when it came to drinks would have been appreciated. Do remember to ask for Vietnamese iced coffee, a great beverage to start off your day.

Overall, we were happy with our stay at Cassia Cottage. It is a great place to escape the big cities of Vietnam, and we were very impressed with the staff. Don’t make the same mistake we did – if you notice anything that’s not right, tell the staff immediately, and they will probably do all in their power to fix whatever’s bothering you..

Room Tip: 5A has better A/C, 5B has better water pressure.. you choose..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our room was quite big, clean and quite quiet, we had swimming pool views. The breakfast was great with some of choices: asian and western food. The staff were friendly and helpful (but not all, as i we met some staff who never smiled or greeted guests). The room rate was quite expensive compared to any resorts in Vietnam. As i did not find something boutique or exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gifts O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.5 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#1 of 44 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#8 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#1 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 96 in Phu Quoc Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Property: Cassia Cottage
Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing