We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax at Cassia”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2009

Cassia cottage is the best place to stay on the island if you want top class, friendly service, clean comfortable accomodation and amazing food...oh and of course a swimming pool!

We opted for a large garden room (1B) which was huge with a central view down to the beach. There are smaller bungalows to each side so don't opt for this if you want complete quietness. Although this bungalow was looking a little tired decor-wise inside it didn't really matter as the bed was comfy (mossie net provided) and there was a large fridge and bathroom.

There are a number of garden bungalows which don't really have a great view but they are stand alone and very quiet. Our friends stayed in one of these so we had a look inside and they are decorated to a very high standard.

Jim who is managing this property with his wife kerry made us feel extremely welcome and their hospitality was like no other we recieved on the island (& we stayed at a 5 star resort-La Veranda!!).
They have a couple of great chefs and we can highly recommend any of the fish on the menu-our particular favourite was the squid, oh and not forgetting the proper home-made chips!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VietnamClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Cassia Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2009

Excellent Service, Well laid out accomodation. Beautiful Beach Great place to stay for young couples esp and families - I ended up there as a solo traveller and despite feeling out of place for the first five minutes, I was soon made to feel at home and had a wonderful time. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank DanBloomsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Could we give it six? Our family had a fantastic stay at this relaxed paradise with friendly smiles and ocean view. The food was excellent and unforgettable. The staff was wonderful and helpful and our baby loved them!
The room was spacious, clean and cosy. The big children loved the pool,the beach, the icecream and the chesstables in the garden.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fredbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

A stay at Cassia Cottage is relaxing, fun, peaceful, cultural and most of all worthwhile.
The staff were excellent and well organised by the Kiwi management, cat included!
The rooms are set amongst the greenery so it gives a more authentic rustic feel to a resort of ax excellent standard.
Nothing was a problem to the staff and everyone went out of their way to help.
Would stay again, especially in the main room facing the beach spacious and private even though it is by the pool. When the place was full you still hardly saw anyone around.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank globekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

My family and I adored Cassia Cottage. Your stay will not be long enough! Jim and Kerry (Kiwi) are awesome managers of this fantastic resort and look after their guests so well. Right on the beach, food and drinks very reasonably priced. Try the 'staff meal' for $2! (other meals average $5) The rooms are spacious and it's the perfect place to relax, read and drink some sun-downers watching some of the most perfect sunsets....

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ZuzuUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Cassia Cottage is a superbly run b&b guesthouse, with clean villas, beautiful gardens, excellent pool area, great location right on the beach, surrounded by a range of good eating options including its own restaurant. The manager, Jim, really looks after all guests and gives useful advice about touring options, helping plan your activities. He manages a good crew and all the staff were friendly. The place has a lovely ambience and it was nice for our kids (13 & 8) who made friends with other young guests from all over the world. It is ideal for families as we had no problems getting 2 connecting rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MotorcycleMama43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Cassia Cottage is definitely the place to stay if you got to Phu Quoc.

BUT make sure to book your stay direct with Cassia Cottage, we booked via an travelagent and the information we had beforehand was different to what we got there. Still Cassia Cottage was the perfect place to finnish our stay in Viet Nam this winter. After talking to Jim about our concerns, he was very dedicated in doing whatever he could, to have in us two very happy and relaxed guests during our stay - ONCE AGAIN THANK YOU VERY VERY MUCH JIM!!!!!

Vietnamese people are, as far as I know, the most friendly people in this world.
At CC the whole staff is lovely and especially Mai, the Assisant Manager was not only very helpful, but also a very good teacher in Vietnamese to my friend and me!

I think CC is the place to stay, not only because of the perfect site, clean rooms and the lovely staff, but also because of the very nice pool, the fab beach, the perfect laundry service, the lovely breakfast and the complete relaxed atmosphere!

Since we stayed in different rooms we suggest, that before you book, decide if you want a spacious bath or a seaview - the gardencottages have much bigger baths, but the "rooms with a view" really offer you mindblowing views from their patios!

The only critic I can add here is the food - it is ok, but does not really fit to CC since it is a bit - sorry - boring and not as imaginative whith spices and few ingredients as I know Vietnamese food. The Icecream is overpriced - had Fanny icecream, the same brand, in Ha Noi and it was in one of the top-spots of the capital and is was a lot cheaper!

But still the Fries was very good and also the Banana smoothie is lovely. We also loved the fab chilled glasses we got for the beers - I bet this is something Jim brought from New Zealand - we enjoyed while watching the spectacular sunsets!

Along the beach or in the very close capital one can have dinner in other places, so the reasons for staying at the lovely Cassia Cottage are def. predominant.

If you want to have a relaxed stay go to Cassia Cottage - don't wait too long, because I am sure the still quite "untouristic" Island will change in the next years pretty much! Enjoy Phu Quoc and enjoy Cassia Cottage!

Hen gap lai Cassia Cottage !

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank evelynaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
589 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#7 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,167 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#6 of 107 in Phu Quoc Island
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: £60 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing