We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile & a kiwi accent”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service with a smile & a kiwi accent”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

My boyfriend & I stayed at Cassia Cottage over NYE. I have to say Jim, the Kiwi Manager made the stay. I can't praise him enough! He was so helpful, from showing us great local spots to have tea & vietnamese coffee to organising a private tour of the island with driver.

The staff seemed really happy there & well taken care of. Clearly enjoying practising their English, which was very good.

Our room was clean & spacious. We ended up with a double bed & spare bed. When we walked in petals were on the bed with wooden sticks forming the words "Welcome" which was a cute touch. The bathroom was huge by Vietnamese standards with lots of natural light & a private garden outlook.

The food was very good & most days we ended up having lunch there. NYE was very special, drinks were provided down at the beach. Long dinner tables were set up with candlelight on the beach. It looked gorgeous! Unfortunately a thunderstorm hit & we all headed inside. It ended up being a great night with a huge group of interesting people.

Would highly recommend staying!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmerysummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    241
    51
    12
    5
See reviews for
245
594
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
victoria, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Our family of four recently stayed for 4 days at this hotel. We could not have been happier. From the warm greeting (and much needed fruit plate and drinks for the kids) to the excursion offerings, the beach with waves but no undertow to the ideal location of our bungalow, the hotel served our every needs. The staff are simply wonderful. Go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We chose Cassia Cottages and Phu Quoc from a search via Google Earth and then a little analysis of customers' reviews on Trip Advisor; it proved an excellent approach and one we'll certainly adopt again.
With the intention of enjoying major down time for our May break, Cassia Cottages provided exactly what was needed. We had booked Beach House Two, which proved a little large for the two of us, but did allow us to spread out and gave us plenty of private terrace space for our extended chill.
The accommodation was first rate, the meals we ate here were of a very high standard, the grounds were attractive, well maintained, with plenty of space for guests to spread out on hammocks, loungers or chairs around the pool. The pool itself, whilst not overly large, was exceptionally clean and well maintained.
In terms of location, Cassia Cottages are located in the centre of a long beach, which provides reasonable access to other places to eat, yet the property has a secluded and private feel. The staff are exceptionally helpful in recommending alternative eateries, yet we ate at least two meals a day at the Cottages, simply because the food was of such high quality and good value for money.
The staff deserve more than a one line mention. Without exception they were friendly, cheerful, discrete when required, efficient and obviously took great pride in their jobs and their hotel. Our heartfelt thanks to them.
There was only one aspect of our stay of which we were critical and this was not something the Cassia Cottage management could actually do anything about by themselves. We had three days of choppy seas, which were wonderful for sea swimming, except for the fact that the beach became badly littered. We asked the hotel management to take the issue to the resort hotel association and relevant government bodies because it is an aspect that could put people off if it persists.
Notwithstanding this last issue, my wife and I would return again and again to Cassia Cottages, if it were possible, and are seriously contemplating a return next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Stayed at Cassia Cottage for 8 nights - actually still here while writing this - and having a great time. staff are friendly, rooms are clean and well looked after. food is good, internet service is good. location is great - rooms are off the beach, but close enough that you can hear the crashing waves, but still have privacy from people walking along the beach. pool is clean and well maintained - great place to relax, staff are always coming out to see if you want something to eat or drink. on site massage available. and a great selection of books in most languanges also available to pass the time.
all in all, a pleasure to stay here, would definately recommend

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timnbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We stayed on Phu Quoc Island in late April. Cassia Cottages provided a very welcome relaxing four nights after three weeks of touring Vietnam and Cambodia. The cottages are clean and comfortable and provided everything we needed. We chose a private garden cottage but didn't spend much time there because we were lounging around the pool and enjoying the company of other guests. The atmosphere is very open and friendly and the staff are great. We ate most of our meals 'at home' because the food is very good and the tables under the palm trees provide a delightful setting. We struck some unseasonal weather which meant the beach was almost nonexistant due to a few days of wind and rough seas. Apparently the tables are also placed on the sand along with sunlounges when the beach is there. It was still very hot and the pool with a view was sheltered enough. In fact after the extremely hot and humid weather on the mainland the sea breeze was quite welcome. We did miss out (just) on the good season for touring the rest of the island and snorkelling, but we found plenty to do, or not do, at the cottages, including swimming in the ocean. Australians are used to a bit of surf.
I would recommend Cassia Cottages for an unpretentious relaxing and relatively private stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I was at Cassia Cottage for a couples of nights, and everything was perfect. The staff is excellent (always smilling). The Manager (we meet her during check in) and assistand Manager were excellent. The papaya salad is great, if you have time try it.

The garden is great and very well maintained. I love it because it has a lots of animals that I have never seen before, like the geckos (not the normal ones but the big ones)

IT'S A GREAT PLACE TO GO!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuaLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Engelberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Cassia is situated along Long Beach on the stretch where all the other resorts are. The place was clean and well-kept and consists of several bungalows. We stayed in one of the garden bungalows, which was a fair deal at 64 € / night.

Breakfast: It was a standard hotel breakfast with bread, fruit and eggs & bacon your way. No possibility to eat Phó though, the magnificent world-famous noodle soup. We got a definite "no" when we asked.

Rooms: Clean, spacious, AC. They was a strong smell of room scent though...to hide something else?

Restaurant: Not very inspiring, but they cook up a decent Viet/Western/Cross-over menu. The other places along the beach are much better - the cheaper, the tastier was the rule - or the best option: Go to Duong Dong and eat at the night market or the market on the other side of the moto bridge. Point at a fish, and eat it freshly grilled 5 minutes later. Magnificent.

Staff: Mixed, sometimes attentive, sometimes oblivious to guests. The assistent manger (can't remember her name?) is great though. They were very helpful when we rented a moto.

In general, we were actually a bit disappointed after reading the raving reviews here. Jim and his family, the former manager, is no longer there - maybe that's why? They also have have big sign to encouraging people to write reviews here to "ensure their vietnamese staff a bright future". Might be that. All in all, a good fair choice among others along the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricSpongberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
567 reviews
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
416 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#10 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Property: Cassia Cottage
Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing