We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not brilliant”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I think the last review was a little harsh but I do think Cassia does need to refurbish it's rooms.
We stayed in a two bedroom beach house and for $250 per night I would have expected the furniture, towels and bed linin to be new and 'crisp' but this wan't the case. One of the showers was a dribble and the other not much better. The food was also a disappointment. Far better at the Sea Star just down the beach.
That said, Cassia is a lovely, relaxing place with a nice pool (although the lack of space around the pool is difficult at times). We found the beach to be lovely and swam without problem in the warm sea. The staff were always willing to help.
We visited La Verandah, which looks to be a top class hotel but of course comes with the price tag to match. Another time (and I will come back to Phu Quoc) I think I would save up and splash out a bit extra to get the luxury feel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicnic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

After 3 months of travelling around Vietnam and Cambodia and staying in places ranging from $30 to $300 a night, I can say with absolute confidence that Cassia Cottage is the worst value we have experienced nowhere near as good as places half the $120 we are paying.

The Western management staff don't seem to know their business and the industrious locals do the best they can without any sort of competent direction.
The property is quite pleasant. The rooms are basic but comfortable and reasonably clean. The aircon works. you can easily hear the conversations of guests in neighbouring rooms.

The pool is pleasant but the sitting area is limited to four people. The beach is another matter. The chairs are crammed together like sardines on a narrow strip of beach. Guests lie across three or four chairs at a time and thre aren't enough umbrellas to go round - so get their early or you will be sunburned! The water looks nice but no-one on the beach swims,despite the heat, because of the water-lice. Regularly, the blast of a jet-ski with a tattoo-ed crop haired young man breaks the silence. this is an unpleasant counterpoint to the noise of the drilling, sawing and hammering from the construction work which runs for several hours a day in the hotel itself.

The food is without question the worst we have had in any hotel or restaurant anywhere. It is by turns unsafe (undercooked chickens, club sandwiches with consequences) and just plain bad (all the Vietnamese dishes are lazy, bland slop).
The final insult is the checkout. the manager insists on taking your passports and plane tickets hostage for the duration of the stay. The hotel constantly reminds you that checkout is at 10 when departure to the airport isn't until 1240. i have never stayed anywhere with a 10 am checkout. We are promised our passports and tickets back some time after we have paid.

If you have spent months travelling and staying in the most basic accomodation, this may be a step up. Otherwise it is a reminder of how poor management can ruin a beautiful location. A complete disgrace. Avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank businesstraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed here for only three days but it felt like ten. The place is amazingly welcoming and the service genuinely friendly. We had the separate garden cottage which was very private. The swimming pool was a huge bonus, although the beach was never a bad option during the time we stayed.

We recommend Cassia without heistation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

From the moment you walk onto the property you get a feeling of peace and tranquility. Meticulously maintained tropical foliage, beautiful pool area, clean beach. Beachfront rooms are available but I throuhougly enjoyed my intimate garden cottage which was very quiet and immaculate. In room WiFi. Great breakfast, fresh fruit, juices daily as well as cooked to order eggs and omelettes and fresh pressed coffee by the cup. Complementary in room teas also. Breakfast was in the garden, whereas lunch/dinner is served on the beach. Beachfront massage is $10/US for a full hour, $15 for 1 1/2 hour. Very attentive English front desk staff who happily arrange everything. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

This place was excellent! We stayed in "Beach House 2" and thought it was brilliant! The resort is small enough so that the staff are able to provide a personal touch, yet big enough to provide decent facilities. The restaurant was well located on the beachfront and service was excellent. We had a couple of issues with food, however these were dealt with quickly and professionally by Kent (the food and beverage manager) and the item was removed from our bill. The island itself is brilliant! It is developed enough for there to be enough activities to do, yet not so developed as to have ruined the atmospere. Would certainly reccomend Cassia Cottage as a great spot to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cartron3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We have just returned from 5 nights at Cassia Cottage, and loved every minute of it. I was travelling with my partner and another couple, so we booked a Beach House which was massive, with two double rooms with ensuites and a wrap around veranda.
The staff were extremely helpful (but not in your face) and friendly. Big ups to Kent the F&B manager who ensured our meals were up to a high standard, and welcomed any feedback we had for improvements. Also Phuong the Supervisor who loved chatting with us and practicing her English.
Most of our days were spent on lounge chairs by the sea, drinking beers and swimming....it was the perfect way to relax after travelling through Vietnam. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kunkachoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

The outstanding thing about Cassia Cottage is the staff - hard working, unfailingly helpful, sunny and happy. The breakfast is 2 star quality - the usual fare of house omelet and overcooked bacon but the service was wonderful.

The rooms were very nicely done and the restaurant prepared tasty food (try the gazpacho soup!).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobobirdiebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Ganh Dau
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 50 in Duong Dong
686 reviews
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#2 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
Chen Sea Resort & Spa Phu Quoc
#4 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
1,077 reviews
1 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#11 of 118 in Phu Quoc Island
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range: £57 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing