We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well maintained and with a fantastic breakfast”
Review of Cassia Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cassia Cottage
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very well maintained and with a fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Cassia cottage is very well maintained and is run with a very high service level. The pool turned out to be a great bonus as there where small burning items in the sea (and our kids refused to go into the water). Thank goodness for that pool! The breakfast is worth an extra mentioning as it was one of the absolute best we had during our five weeks in Vietnam. The restaurant is okay but a bit overpriced – skip the cocktails though. In high season it all comes at a price and at USD 130 a night you’ll find most guest to be 50+.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    246
    52
    12
    5
See reviews for
250
601
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

After hours of research on accommodation we really weren't sure what to expect upon arriving but we were definitely pleasantly surprised. We were welcomed with a cool drink and checked in before being shown to our room. It was gorgeous. A little villa with a balcony.. views from the balcony to the ocean and about 10 meters from the swimming pool.

The room was beautiful with cinnamon soap, fresh flowers and a beautiful mosquito net over the bed. Very romantic... pity considering I was travelling with a best friend! Haha!

It was a 1 minute walk to the beach. What greeted us was a beautiful clean beach with sun loungers, chairs and tables and weather to match! The staff were excellent during out stay and within half an hour of being there we never had to tell them our room number when charging drinks etc.. they just knew!

We decided to explore the rest of the beach to see what else was around and we have to honestly say Cassia Cottages has the BEST location on the beach. It is pretty much right in the middle and had a great portion of the beach. We went for a wander to look at other recommended resorts and were SO glad we chose Cassia. I wont go into other hotels on this review but feel free to contact me if you want further information on this.

Back to Cassia, the food was at times expensive, but faultess all the same.. the cocktails were expensive and tasted watered down, so we ended up sticking to the beer, our toilet got blocked a few times but they were quick to fix it when told of the issue... we felt a little rushed to get out on our last day... we actually had the cleaning ladies come in while we were out having breakfast and we had to get management to remove them as when we came back and told them we needed to still shower etc they sat out on our balcony. Management were quick to move them along and give us the time we needed to shower and pack! LOL

Internet was a bit hit and miss but there was a guy onsite that was always trying to repair it. Breakfast was great and had everything you needed. If you want proper drip coffee just ask them for it.. they use an Italian roast however which we found disappointing considering we were in Vietnam and Vietnamese coffee is cheaper for them and much nicer!

Overall I would recommend this hotel above anything else we saw on the beach.. and we covered the beach one end to the other... there was a large popular resort down further that had NO beachfront.. I personally would not have been happy had I picked that one!

Dont hesitate... stay at Cassia... its a true tropical beach resort that is perfect!!!! I have many more photos if anyone is interested they can contact me direct!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlust_Tarrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed four nights at Cassia Cottage this January. The setting couldn't be prettier, wonderful tropical gardens and a beautiful dark-blue tiled pool. The rooms were simple and charming but quite small and the shower was inadequate. (We stayed in the "garden cottage" room). The service was very good, and the amenities were nice, such as foil packets of premium tea and their own handmade cinnamon soap.

Although I didn't see inside the rooms, the Sea Star and Mai resorts on either side, which I had considered, were about half the price and the bungalows appeared to be larger and more private than at Cassia. I fear this is a place where the glowing Trip Advisor reviews have spurred a gluttony of price increases which are really not warranted for what you get. The food was not very tasty and expensive and the cocktails were awful. We ended up going to Mai Resort for our dinners and Sea Star for most of our lunches.

WiFi was supposedly available in the rooms but really only worked close to the router in the computer room.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We - a family of 4 teenagers and 4 grown ups from different parts of the world - spent our Christmas holidays together at Cassia Cottage, and we all had a wonderful experience. It was a luxury stay in the sense that it was total relaxation in beautiful surroundings and with an extremely charming and serviceminded manager, Lena, and her staff . It is impossible to catch the spirit of the place in the photos - you simply have to be there. You are constantly met by smiles from the local staff helping you with anything you ask for. One of us had to go hospital for an acute operation, and the manager, Lena took care of everything. She took us to the hospital in the middle of the night, and she and her staff saw to it that we could communicate with the medical staff, get the proper treatment, medicine etc. This was an invaluable support, especially as we were in a country where none of us speak the language. Thank you so much! We will definately come back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEZIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I think the last review was a little harsh but I do think Cassia does need to refurbish it's rooms.
We stayed in a two bedroom beach house and for $250 per night I would have expected the furniture, towels and bed linin to be new and 'crisp' but this wan't the case. One of the showers was a dribble and the other not much better. The food was also a disappointment. Far better at the Sea Star just down the beach.
That said, Cassia is a lovely, relaxing place with a nice pool (although the lack of space around the pool is difficult at times). We found the beach to be lovely and swam without problem in the warm sea. The staff were always willing to help.
We visited La Verandah, which looks to be a top class hotel but of course comes with the price tag to match. Another time (and I will come back to Phu Quoc) I think I would save up and splash out a bit extra to get the luxury feel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicnic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

After 3 months of travelling around Vietnam and Cambodia and staying in places ranging from $30 to $300 a night, I can say with absolute confidence that Cassia Cottage is the worst value we have experienced nowhere near as good as places half the $120 we are paying.

The Western management staff don't seem to know their business and the industrious locals do the best they can without any sort of competent direction.
The property is quite pleasant. The rooms are basic but comfortable and reasonably clean. The aircon works. you can easily hear the conversations of guests in neighbouring rooms.

The pool is pleasant but the sitting area is limited to four people. The beach is another matter. The chairs are crammed together like sardines on a narrow strip of beach. Guests lie across three or four chairs at a time and thre aren't enough umbrellas to go round - so get their early or you will be sunburned! The water looks nice but no-one on the beach swims,despite the heat, because of the water-lice. Regularly, the blast of a jet-ski with a tattoo-ed crop haired young man breaks the silence. this is an unpleasant counterpoint to the noise of the drilling, sawing and hammering from the construction work which runs for several hours a day in the hotel itself.

The food is without question the worst we have had in any hotel or restaurant anywhere. It is by turns unsafe (undercooked chickens, club sandwiches with consequences) and just plain bad (all the Vietnamese dishes are lazy, bland slop).
The final insult is the checkout. the manager insists on taking your passports and plane tickets hostage for the duration of the stay. The hotel constantly reminds you that checkout is at 10 when departure to the airport isn't until 1240. i have never stayed anywhere with a 10 am checkout. We are promised our passports and tickets back some time after we have paid.

If you have spent months travelling and staying in the most basic accomodation, this may be a step up. Otherwise it is a reminder of how poor management can ruin a beautiful location. A complete disgrace. Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank businesstraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anywhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed here for only three days but it felt like ten. The place is amazingly welcoming and the service genuinely friendly. We had the separate garden cottage which was very private. The swimming pool was a huge bonus, although the beach was never a bad option during the time we stayed.

We recommend Cassia without heistation.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
14.3 mi away
Peppercorn Beach Resort
Peppercorn Beach Resort
#2 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daisy Resort
Daisy Resort
#2 of 47 in Duong Dong
572 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
Bamboo Cottages & Restaurant
#9 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
Salinda Resort Phu Quoc Island
#3 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Veranda Resort Phu Quoc - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Famiana Resort & Spa
Famiana Resort & Spa
#11 of 103 in Phu Quoc Island
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Cottage

Property: Cassia Cottage
Address: Cassia Cottage Road | Ba Keo Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Cassia Cottage - The Spice House)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassia Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
58 comfy air conditioned rooms, many with internal connecting doors and all with verandas. Nestled in gardens of spices and flowers from our own collection. Infinity pool overlooking the sea, full Asian/Western breakfast and our special menu of fresh Vietnam-Mediterranean food. Evening films projected outdoors, daytime sun and beach. Tours of our own Spice Plantations for guests only, and all other services available, with Big Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cassia Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Cottage - The Spice House Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Cassia Cottage Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong
Cassia Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing