We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three star rated but five star value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thien Hai Son Resort
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Duong Dong
Thanh Pho Vung Tau, Viet Nam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Three star rated but five star value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

From the moment we arrived in Phu Quoc to the day we left the hotel staff were excellent, Greeted at the airport, transport to the hotel, quick and efficient check-in - really good.
I had booked a beach front bungalow for my son and his family visiting from the UK - and they loved it - metres from the beach and very spacious and comfortable. My wife and I stayed in the main hotel on the third floor. (there are no lifts but persons who are disabled in any way can get a ground floor room).

Breakfast is included. I would advise guests to arrive early (breakfast commences at 0700).

The hotel arranged daily trips. A one day private hire of a boat cost around 150USD but great value for 4 adults and 1 child. We had a superb day with fishing (equipment provided), snorkeling, the lunch on board was excellent (bottled water is provided free, but if you like a beer - take it with you).

Conclusion - a very good hotel at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: In the main hotel ask for a sea view room with balcony. Some of the chalets are not adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    70
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
43
81
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We went there with our 2 kids and stayed 5 nights in July, which is the low season.
There was a problem at booking but it was the fault of Agoda website that made it confusing, I wanted a bungalow on the beach so I got it and the reception even agreed on a discount so we paid 80$ per night.
The breakfast is included and opens from 6 to 9am, which is a bit early for holidays. The food is decent, average but varied enough, mostly Asian apart from eggs, bread, butter and strawberry jam.
The beach is great, very quiet and nobody to annoy you. You can order from the beach bar, the food is good, but not cheap (6-8$ a dish, 2-3$ a fruit juice)
The swimming pool was a great asset because the waves on the beach were sometimes super strong (July is rainy season).
The bungalow was cleaned everyday, in good condition. The aircon worked well, we didnt have mosquitos or any insects in the room. Free wifi everywhere, and it works fine. There is a terrace where u can relax and enjoy the view of the beach.
I especially liked all the trees and plants of the garden and we could hear the waves at night.
At evening the restaurant is overpriced and a bit sad so we tried some places just outside the hotel, but the best is to take a taxi (1$) to the night market where you can eat seafood and vietnamese food for normal Vietnamese prices.

In conclusion I would recommend this hotel, knowing it's a kind of state-owned, local place so don't expect an amazing service and too much attention to details, but in general the staff was friendly and could speak English. I saw some reviews mentioning the staff was unsmiling, but not to me.
In terms of prices, it seems Phu Quoc is quite expensive and if I compare with the other hotel having the same amenities (beach front, swimming pool, breakfast, wifi), Thien Hai seems very competitive.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are great, but better not pick the ones in front of the beach bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErnestHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

we have spent 6 nights here but could have spent longer. the hotel is lovely and the service is great. we have a bungalow that over looks the beach and is perfect. it is very clean and large. we have our 3 year old travelling with us and at last he has his own bed in our room. the bathroom is clean as is the rest of the room. we have eaten breakfast each morning in the hotel which is fine but not much choice so if travelling with children bring cereal with you. we have eaten in the beach bar a few times and the food is good. it is perfect for us as they do western food which is great for our 3 year old as he is no big on vietnamese food.
we would come back again

Room Tip: we are in room 409 which is on the beach and is lovely. it is away from the pool which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippa24055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had 5 rooms at the main hotel (not bungalows) in May.
Pros: courteous staff, decent buffet breakfast with hot made-to-order food, although they ran out of certain types of food early, clean beach, good sand but no swimming due to rough waves during our stay (not sure if this changes). Most of the rooms were clean, spacious with functioning air conditioning units, flat screen TVs with cable channels, wi-fi available in rooms although slow and spotty, free basket of fresh fruit in room daily, 2 complimentary small bottles of water, pool on property, and 1 tennis court at around $3 USD/hr. We didn't hear our neighbors, and overall it was quiet. Free shuttle service from airport to hotel.

Cons: dated rooms, old paint, crumbling walls, moldy shower curtains with some rooms missing shower curtains, a lot of bugs in one of the rooms crawling all over the toilet and shower (we were not given a new room as requested due to supposed lack of availability although it was clearly the low season and we were given a can of bug spray instead), and NO HOT water in 3/5 rooms in the morning or evening. Hallways can be noisy with doors slamming.

Overall, we would probably not return to this hotel. However, we're not sure if the other hotels have similar problems as choices were limited in our price range (we got rooms for $55 USD/night internet special). Interestingly, when we called and spoke in Vietnamese, the receptionist at the hotel said they had no rooms available for that time, but when we called back 2 minutes later and spoke in English, they said they only had seaside bungalows available at $100 USD/night, even though there were cheaper rooms available on the internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hhvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duong Dong hotels

Bucks
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Where to start - the average overall rating has more to do with our determination to enjoy holidays no matter what. From the beginning - no car to meet us at the airport - when I queried this, the (unsmiling) receptionist claimed that the hotel did not know when I was arriving - in spite of the confirmation e mail from them responding to mine informing of arrival time!! I had booked a sea vieqw de luxe room - very nice but on the second floor - and no lift. I have dodgy knees and the thought of coming down 4 quite long half flights of stairs several times per day was not appealing. Asked for an alternative on the ground floor (wouldn't have been sea view because too low but that didn't matter) - but was offered a ground floor room on the rear side of the hotel with a panaramic view of the wire mesh surround of the tennis court (this in spite of the fact that the hotel was nowhere near full). Eventually I paid for an upgrade to a bunga;ow which was superbly located - 1 row back from the beach but only about 20 metres walk on to the beautiful Long Beach, undoubtedly the USP of this hotel.

Room was large though furnishings a bit dated (dark wood). Cleaning left much to be desired - a (very small) dead lizard occupied an undisturbed spot under the desk for the whole stay, the bath was cleaned properly once in 6 days and the terrace never mopped after the nightly thunderstorm.

Breakfast was adequate but a bit repetitively boring. Fortunately a host of local restaurants are within 200 metres so we did not have to trouble the (equally unsmiling) restaurant staff. The 3-times weekly beach barbeque looked good tho' prices were a little on the high side - especially with so much local competition.

Location is fantastic with best bit of Long Beach and millpond calm sea. The girl who seemed to be head receptionist was the main exception to the unsmiling culture. WiFi in the room was extremely haphazard tho' Lan connection PCs are available in reception business centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellerBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I spent most of my time in the room killing mosquitoes. They were shocking. Nets would be good. Beachside, in my case, meant facing the bar, which was beachside. A little noisy. The restaurant was lovely, the breakfast really good, and the service and cleanliness superb. It was a short taxi ride into town at night, or a walk in the day. The pool had very slippery tiles all around, and you need to be really careful. Good airconditioing. It seemed to be one of the best places on Phu Quoc, but take plenty of insect repellent.

Room Tip: Make sure your room really is beachside, if that is what you book. And, of course, take the insect r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

First impression was nice place friendly staff, dealt with us with the minimum of fuss. The bell boy showed us to our room and explained everything even down to how the safe worked, or so we thought. The switch for the hot water system had been covered by the hand towels, so the first night was a cold wash until we asked why there was no hot water. The air con unit groaned every time it was turned on. The electricity supply cut out several times day and night too.
Breakfast was something else, a poor affair with very little choice of either local or western tastes.
Overall it is a neat little place to stay, with it's own beach front,( although the attending staff
could do with a lesson in attentivness) .
Value for money? On balance probably but the little things have left an impresion of slight disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank standardcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duong Dong hotels
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
#32 of 44 in Duong Dong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#18 of 44 in Duong Dong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Coco Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#13 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bauhinia Resort
Bauhinia Resort
#4 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
Tropicana Resort Phu Quoc
#10 of 44 in Duong Dong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tommy's Beach House
Tommy's Beach House
#23 of 113 in Duong Dong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Hai Son Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Hai Son Resort

Property: Thien Hai Son Resort
Address: 68 Tran Hung Dao street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Hai Son Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Hai Son resort comprises 100 rooms: 43 hotel-rooms, 32 garden view bungalow rooms, 06 Seaside-bungalow rooms, 02 VIP-Bungalows 15 garden view-hotel room and 02 VIP rooms. All room have their own private balcony with all amenities and comfors of a 3-star resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thien Hai Son Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Hai Son Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Thien Hai Son Resort Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing