We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thien Hai Son Resort
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Duong Dong
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Living in paradise”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Free pickup and drop off at the airport with air conditioned shuttle bus (though the staff forgot our departing flight to Saigon, we got a private car instead and we made the flight on time).

The surroundings are breathtaking and the sun sets from this side of the island (Duong Dong). To be able to sit in the sand with a cold beer or a glass of wine in the sunset is magical.

We only had one bad incident on our staying and that was when we found a cockroach running along the floor in our hotel room (we stayed in the main building, on the 3rd floor of the hotel). We called the front desk and they immediately sent up a guy from housekeeping and he got rid of the bug. The staff seemed sincerely surprised with the event and we didn't see another roach on our entire stay.

We were here for 5 days and we almosts cried going home ;)

Our recommendation is that you go here NOW and rent mopeds to tour the entire island before it's completly exploited by hotels and casinos. Enjoy it while you can!

/ Louise and Nisse from Sweden, 2012

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    71
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
43
81
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

What a great place. From the moment we arrived we received nothing but first class service from this resort / Hotel.
The Staff were amazingly attentive and friendly and ready to stop and chat or leave you alone depending on your mood.
We had the Beach front Bungalow and it had everything in it you could ask for. It was very well cleaned and tidied every day.

The room is basically right on the beach edge among the palm trees. Sunset was fantastic.
This is one of those hotels where they keep your passport in Hotel safe, In the course of check in they must have noticed my wifes birthday which was while we were astaying ther. A great surprise to find a Cake , packet of candles and a bottle of wine and glasses waiting for us when we returned to our room. Caked had happy birthday my wifes name and birthdate on it... Very special...
A great choice at breakfast including made on the spot Pho.
Overall i would well recomend this hotel very reasonably priced , has tennis court swimming pool Wifi which can be spotty but over large area and loevly grounds.
Out on the street good local resaurants surround it.



Really friendly staff well set out rooms lovely beach , clean tidy,

Room Tip: Bungalows are good, Beachfront have great views rooms away from beach bar would be quieter in high s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yahooholidaysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our family arrived here after the tour guide booked us at a disappointingly shabby place for the first night. Needless to say, we were excited with the change. Our rooms were large, beautifully decorated, and squeaky clean. I've read other reviews on here about dated rooms and old chipping paint, so not sure if we just happened to have newly renovated ones. The style/facade of the buildings do have an old feel, reminiscent of French Colonial, with moss covered walkways in some areas just like most of Vietnam due to the moist air. I think it's rather quaint and charming. The beachfront is gorgeous and clean as compared to many other beaches I've seen in Vietnam. The waves were strong on this side of the island while we were here, so swimming was limited to the edge of the beach. Hotel pool was very nice and made a safer alternative for the kids to swim in. The only thing that I wasn't too impressed about was breakfast. I must have come down a bit late so there wasn't a lot of choices left. Most things just tasted ok, nothing exceptional for being in a country with great street foods.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sefah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I visited Phú Quốc with my mother during the rainy season. Although the resort offers every thing we wanted out of a beach front place, some how we both left wanting more.

Here are some observations:

1) We were picked up at the airport, which was a nice service, but somehow they got my name wrong so it took awhile for the airport staff to flag them down.

2) We got a beach front bungalow through Saigon Tourist in Saigon for $110/night. My mom, who has special needs from having suffered a stroke, was warmly greeted and helped through out by the staff. However, they had 0 wheel chair accessible ramp. They also cannot understand her need for a shower chair. It took a unnecessarily long time for them to understand and got us something that works.

3). The staff at the reception, security, and restaurants were helpful but not the happiest bunch. They also seem to make up things on the go if you ask any question.

4). Wifi is spotty at best

5) breakfast is available from 6 - 9 (very odd hours). If you get there after 8, most food is gone and you're left with the eggs bar and/or toast. The restaurant is à la carte after breakfast and the food is a bit overpriced and very greasy.

6). Room decor is very old styled. The rooms, although very large, are decorated like my grandma's place. It also has a weird smell. The bathroom is efficient but could use a little renovation. The walls need new paint, the door is creaky and takes much efforts to open.

7) We experienced several power outages.

8) bring plenty of mosquito spray

9) cab ride to night market is $1 USD. About $35/ day if you want to explore all of the island.

10) this resort needs lots of touch ups as it feels old.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperTBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanh Pho Vung Tau, Viet Nam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

From the moment we arrived in Phu Quoc to the day we left the hotel staff were excellent, Greeted at the airport, transport to the hotel, quick and efficient check-in - really good.
I had booked a beach front bungalow for my son and his family visiting from the UK - and they loved it - metres from the beach and very spacious and comfortable. My wife and I stayed in the main hotel on the third floor. (there are no lifts but persons who are disabled in any way can get a ground floor room).

Breakfast is included. I would advise guests to arrive early (breakfast commences at 0700).

The hotel arranged daily trips. A one day private hire of a boat cost around 150USD but great value for 4 adults and 1 child. We had a superb day with fishing (equipment provided), snorkeling, the lunch on board was excellent (bottled water is provided free, but if you like a beer - take it with you).

Conclusion - a very good hotel at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: In the main hotel ask for a sea view room with balcony. Some of the chalets are not adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We went there with our 2 kids and stayed 5 nights in July, which is the low season.
There was a problem at booking but it was the fault of Agoda website that made it confusing, I wanted a bungalow on the beach so I got it and the reception even agreed on a discount so we paid 80$ per night.
The breakfast is included and opens from 6 to 9am, which is a bit early for holidays. The food is decent, average but varied enough, mostly Asian apart from eggs, bread, butter and strawberry jam.
The beach is great, very quiet and nobody to annoy you. You can order from the beach bar, the food is good, but not cheap (6-8$ a dish, 2-3$ a fruit juice)
The swimming pool was a great asset because the waves on the beach were sometimes super strong (July is rainy season).
The bungalow was cleaned everyday, in good condition. The aircon worked well, we didnt have mosquitos or any insects in the room. Free wifi everywhere, and it works fine. There is a terrace where u can relax and enjoy the view of the beach.
I especially liked all the trees and plants of the garden and we could hear the waves at night.
At evening the restaurant is overpriced and a bit sad so we tried some places just outside the hotel, but the best is to take a taxi (1$) to the night market where you can eat seafood and vietnamese food for normal Vietnamese prices.

In conclusion I would recommend this hotel, knowing it's a kind of state-owned, local place so don't expect an amazing service and too much attention to details, but in general the staff was friendly and could speak English. I saw some reviews mentioning the staff was unsmiling, but not to me.
In terms of prices, it seems Phu Quoc is quite expensive and if I compare with the other hotel having the same amenities (beach front, swimming pool, breakfast, wifi), Thien Hai seems very competitive.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are great, but better not pick the ones in front of the beach bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErnestHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

we have spent 6 nights here but could have spent longer. the hotel is lovely and the service is great. we have a bungalow that over looks the beach and is perfect. it is very clean and large. we have our 3 year old travelling with us and at last he has his own bed in our room. the bathroom is clean as is the rest of the room. we have eaten breakfast each morning in the hotel which is fine but not much choice so if travelling with children bring cereal with you. we have eaten in the beach bar a few times and the food is good. it is perfect for us as they do western food which is great for our 3 year old as he is no big on vietnamese food.
we would come back again

Room Tip: we are in room 409 which is on the beach and is lovely. it is away from the pool which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippa24055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duong Dong
0.1 mi away
Kim Hoa Resort
Kim Hoa Resort
#18 of 47 in Duong Dong
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
#37 of 47 in Duong Dong
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandy Phu Quoc Hotel
Sandy Phu Quoc Hotel
#12 of 47 in Duong Dong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
Thanh Kieu Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Duong Dong
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
Sasco Blue Lagoon Resort
#82 of 98 in Phu Quoc Island
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orange Resort
Orange Resort
#23 of 120 in Duong Dong
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Hai Son Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Hai Son Resort

Property: Thien Hai Son Resort
Address: 68 Tran Hung Dao street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
#12 Spa Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Hai Son Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Hai Son resort comprises 100 rooms: 43 hotel-rooms, 32 garden view bungalow rooms, 06 Seaside-bungalow rooms, 02 VIP-Bungalows 15 garden view-hotel room and 02 VIP rooms. All room have their own private balcony with all amenities and comfors of a 3-star resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thien Hai Son Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Hai Son Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Thien Hai Son Resort Phu Quoc Island/Duong Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing