We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Antigua
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights August 8-11th. Staff was friendly, helpful and warm. We booked on Expedia and did not realize it was a condo until after. Unit had two bed/2 baths with kitchen (stocked with utensils), sitting area and a large deck furniture and jacuzzi tub. There is also a washer/dryer-perfect if you have kids. One of the bedrooms had two queen size beds and the master had a king. The place was very clean/ quiet and 2 minutes from the beach and could comfortably accommodate a family of four or six if you don't mind doubling up on the beds. The living room furniture as indicated by the other posts are worn and not very comfortable to sit in. If the furniture is replaced, the place would be a steal. Otherwise, if you are looking for easy accessibility to the beach and affordability, this is the place. There is a 24 hours grocery store which is accessible by walking or, you could make arrangement with the facility for drop off/pick up when you are done shopping(free of cost). The supermarket has everything you need to make dinner etc.
Another downside was beach towels. They were worn and has seen better days. You are only allowed 1 per guest and has to return them to the front office to avoid charges. Take your own if you have the space in your luggage.

Room Tip: It's a three story building. if you don't mind walking up, i would choose the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Nurs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed here July 26-Aug 2nd, 2014, and found our 2/2 unit to be very nice. The furniture is not comfortable inside so we spent most of the time on the large deck off the living room when we were not on the beach which is a couple of minutes away. The beds were great in our unit. We were on the 3rd floor which was quiet and private. There are no elevators so the staff carried our bags up/down. We got a ride on the golf cart to/from the grocery store (nice one) and the staff helped us carry them up our unit. The staff was super nice and friendly. The unit was spotless!!! Super clean! Loved having a washer and dryer. Bring enough laundry soap for a few loads. A helpful hint: Keep the bedroom doors closed and they will be much cooler. This unit was large and the a/c units had a hard time keeping up. Try the Greek Restaurant in Jolly Harbor - wonderful! Everyone on this island was friendly and helpful. The beach sellers were not pushy. The bar next door was ok - groups of guys hang out on the bridge leading to the bar and make flirty comments as you walk by - we could have done without that. Ask Marvelous Marvin at the bar for a beach umbrella - we rented one for the week from him. Ask for David at front desk to take you back/forth apo and tours. The apo is small and very crowded/hot so be prepared. The beach at Tranquility Bay is just simply stunning - clean and the water is wonderful....soft and feels o' so good! Not super clear water because the sand stays stirred up all around the island but clear enough. Several cruises around the island are great fun - lots of choices- the staff at the front desk will show you many options in a big book of things to do. They will make phone calls for you. Loved the rum punch when you arrive. Jolly Harbor need some cleaning up and could be first class if someone spruced it up - it is safe to walk around at night and guards are watching all the time at the entrance. We felt very safe after dark here. I hope you have a great time like we did.

Room Tip: No elevators here so make sure you can walk up stairs - third floor is more sunny and private. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I have to start out by saying that the welcome rum punch is a novel idea. We did have some difficulties and some issues but we spoke with the operations manager and she quickly rectified them. Again I repeat the operations manager Lenore is amazing. As for most of the front desk staff not so much. Every question seemed to provoke an attitude or disgust. What's even worse is my wife is from there and could speak their language. However I must give credit where credit is due and there was a woman at the front desk named Filomena Davis that truly was amazing and super helpful. As for the problems no need to go into detail because they were rectified immediately. Advice......get a car because local restaurants are very expensive and there isn't much local food close by. The room was nice and the kitchenette was nicely equipped we would go to the supermarket and cook food. It was very nice being less than 2 mins from the beach. I wish I was still there and overall I would go back but I would lay down the law with the front desk from the beginning. Here is a tip.....don't dial the local area code before dialing a number like we do in the states, they will charge you long distance charges. Does that even make sense??? If you don't get satisfaction regarding an issue go and see the administration immediately.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Qwest2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here 5 - 19 July and had a very good self-catering holiday. The apartments are adequate, but could benefit from upgrading settees and some of the fridges. Unfortunately, there are adjoining doors between apartments, and even though they are locked, you do hear quite a bit of noise if you are, as we were, unlucky enough to have rather inconsiderate neighbours... fortunately, the staff were able to move us to another apartment. Cooking facilities are a bit on the sparse side. There is a very good little supermarket within walking distance, though we hired golf buggies which made the trip with groceries easier in the heat. The staff were very friendly and helpful, everyone wants to make your holiday enjoyable and memorable, and we made friends of several of the beach pedlars. Mary's taxis is to be recommended for trips throughout the island - Shirley Heights, Stingray City are well worth visiting. The beach is within a few yards of TB and the Jolly Harbour Beach Hotel facilities are available (pool, bar etc) to residents. Plenty little restaurants around the harbour area and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms can be noisy because of adjoining doors and the larger apartments have a TV on the wall in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank speysidesparkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Another beautiful vacation at Tranquility Bay. Our stay was from July 19-26,2014. This was our 7th visit,we are vacation owners. As always the staff at Tranquility Bay once again was helpful, friendly- great customer service. Unfortunately the place is starting to look run down. The grounds-well kept. The main issue is the furniture in the rooms. Rooms are immaculate- housekeeping as always on top of their game. Lovely women. All the furniture is old and needs to be replaced. We were told back in 2007 that all the rooms were to be refurbished. As of 2014 this hasn't happened-definitely not in our room(D104). Beds are very uncomfortable, living room furniture is hard -foam in cushions is old and having been used for years are worn out. The chillers in the rooms are noisy and work haphazard . Time to replace them. We did have an issue with the chiller in the master bedroom upon our arrival. We called front desk- they sent a maintenance man to check it out. He got it to work a little bit. As it was already the evening he would come back tomorrow to check on it again. We received a phone call early the next day- asking about the chiller and also our bed( I mentioned the uncomfortable bed to the man the night before). The chiller stopped working in the middle of the night, ceiling fan helped a little. Within the hour there were two maintenance men working on the chiller unit. Also house keeping came with a mattress pad and pillows for the master bedroom. Chiller did work better after they worked on it for awhile. Bed was a bit better after pad added to it. All the staff work very hard at trying to make the vacation at Tranquility Bay an enjoyable one, but the reality is money has to be put into the buildings. The kitchen was missing cooking items, main desk sent housekeeping with in the hour. I can not say enough about all the staff. The two maintenance men stopped in the entire time we were there to make sure we were comfortable. The front desk offered to move us to another room on a higher floor, but since I had a cast on my leg it wasn't an option.
There are several new places to eat in the harbour- the Firehouse Grill- was very good. Amazing talented chef.
New owners at Al Porta-good food, but not as friendly atmosphere. The Epicurian has even more selections of food. Plenty of items to choose from.
Beach as always amazing. Jolly Dive great group of people, husband went on some amazing dives.
We love Tranquility Bay, Love the people there. Unfortunately it is looking run down - time for management to start putting money in the upkeep of this property. The staff is doing the best they can with what they have to work with.
Our vacation was relaxing and enjoyable. But to be honest we are sad how this resort is being let go-it can be an amazing place. Hope management listens and puts money into this gem!! It is really worth it!
All the staff at Tranquility Bay are truly dedicated-they keep giving their best and that's one of the reasons we keep going back.
Parrothead82

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Parrothead82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The beach was the best part of our vacation. The amenities were much to be desired. The room was dated, but had everything we needed. The lobby was not much of a lobby. The front desk personal was very helpful and nice. The security was especially helpful and took us on many golf cart trips to local restaurants/ supermarket. There is practically no restaurants to eat at at the resort but the ones near by are amazing especially the farther down the marina you go. You need to know what night everything is happening at, at each place for nightlife because that's where everybody will be. For instance the crows nest has Kareokee on a certain night which is fun to watch. Otherwise it is very dead on this side of the island. The non-motorized water sports are non excitant, and renting a jet ski is a little pricey ($90 us and hour). Taking the local bus is very inexpensive (3 EC or 1.25 US) The bus is actually a van or what they also us as cabs and they goes as fast as cabs into town. Don't forget that everything is in EC and all tip and tax is included then they convert it into US. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the beach on the second floor. You'll have less bugs, shade from the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Well this is our final day at Tranquility Bay. We stayed in the Captain building which is mid way between the beach and reception, both being a two minute walk. The 2 bedroom apartment we had on the 1st floor (not ground) was spacious and clean. The bedrooms were huge and easily coped with our family of four adults. The main living area is also large and for the small amount of time that we spent in it, it was fine. As other reviewers have said, it's not 5 star accommodation, but it's perfectly fine. Yes the air con is a bit noisy and not the best, and I'm a person who likes all the windows open at home all the time but I managed to sleep well and felt comfortable in the rooms at all times.

The tranquility bay staff all over the resort are really friendly and made the stay enjoyable. They made you comfortable to ask for anything you need and with the location and style of the check-in desk they always made a point of waving and wishing us a good evening as we went out for our evening meals.

We ate out each night for the two weeks we stayed. I think we tried all the local restaurants at least once. Our favourite in the end was Miracles just outside the resort. It served Caribbean food and the flavours were just fantastic. As a family we like our food spicy, so the curry and jerk options were great and they really did carry some heat! Other venues we tried were Shells (great fish and chips), the Crows Nest which had a new menu with good variations and a welcome happy hour from 4-6pm. Also Mayday with a slightly bonkers (but entertaining) waitress, the very local Castaways, Akropolis, Firehouse Grill, Melini's. All these were fine and for a family of 4 we normally spent around 350 EC dollars per night (£75) but it was always our intention to eat out. For those on a tighter budget the local supermarket had everything you would need to enable you to eat at home, stocking a wide variety of Waitrose food!

As for the location, I'm not sure you can get a more perfect beach setting. The sand is white, the sea is calm and turquoise and generally there is a breeze to keep the temperature comfortable. Don't be concerned about the beach traders. They don't bother you and tend to join in with the beach sports (especially the cricket).

Please feel free to ask me any questions. We came here via Interval International on one of their getaway deals. It's not a cheap destination from the UK, but then compared to some European destinations I have heard about, I feel that we got good value for money which is important.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Gubby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,887 reviews
2.6 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Antigua

Address: Jolly Harbour, Bolans, Saint Mary's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: £122 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquility Bay Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility Bay, is Antigua’s only all-suite resort. Located on a breathtaking, mile-long stretch of white sand beach on Antigua’s southwest coast, Tranquility Bay boasts spectacular sunsets, majestic views of Montserrat, Redonda and St. Kitts/Nevis. Spacious suites, large balconies and calm blue waters make Tranquility Bay a haven for those craving peaceful moments away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Create a vacation as relaxing or active as you wish. You’re just steps away from water sports, golfing, tennis, spa, fishing, dining, entertainment, kids club and more. And, we’re just 30 minutes away from the airport and capital of St. Johns. Experience Tranquility Bay and you will never vacation in an ordinary hotel room again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tranquility Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Antigua Hotel Bolans
Tranquility Bay Antigua Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing