We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and Earthy”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is an appropriate get-a-way for a couple who might not need luxuries but rather the simplicity of nature and solitude. We were anticipating a slightly more posh experience and would like to note that this resort is clean, interesting, and has wonderful food and service but it is not a glamorous, luxury resort. It is the host of mainly couples who seem to wish to stay to themselves, so don't expect friendly interactions with other guests. If one is seeking a private, natural, simple getaway this is it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the room with the private po
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Misstammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

We just got back from Antigua 2 days ago and already miss our Cocobay family. Not only is the resort incredible, but everybody there leaves a lasting impression.
We have been to several other places and this exceeds them all. From the moment we walked up to the reception desk to check in, we were in love with Cocobay. Tameka, Phyllis, and Shaun greeted us with cold cloths and delicious rum punch. Tameka so generously told us that she upgraded our room. WOW!! I couldn't believe our view. Breathtaking!!
After catching our breath, we got dressed to go to dinner. They put us down for dinner at 6:30 (thankfully, bc we were starving) You have to sign up in the morning for what time you want on your way to breakfast. It usually starts at 6:30 and goes until 9:00. Women dress casually elegant (sundress, skirt, light pants) Men shirts with collar and long pants. Breakfast and lunch you just need to have your swimsuit cover on. Breakfast starts at 7:30 to 9:30. Sonia is an awesome cook. She will cook you any type of egg you want. Other than that there are pancakes, bacon, pastries, cereals, delicious fresh fruit. We were always stuffed!! Lunch started at 12:30-2:30 and was usually fresh fish cooked by Sonia with a variety of vegetables, fruit, and breads. And of course Dessert!!
Before breakfast is the best time to reserve your place on the beach or by the pool. Be sure and take enough of SPF and Aloe Vera. We ran out of sunscreen. Take at least SPF 30.
Along with the sunscreen , take bug spray. I took vitamen B1 before we left and while we was there and didn't have a problem. We met some friends who dabbed Tea Tree Oil on wrist and behind ears and didn't get bit. Just be prepared and you will be fine. (:

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3sand-seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed at Cocobay in March for a relaxing girly holiday. We didn't want a party place, just relaxation, a nice pool and good food. We went with Cocobay after having read loads of reviews on Tripadvisor and realising that it had everything we wanted, not 5 star "could be anywhere in the world" luxury, but a sense of the Caribbean rustic-ness and charm.

We were blown away from the moment we arrived! It was everything we had hoped, and then some.
The staff were AMAZING, just the little things of knowing exactly who their guests were even if you hadn't been introduced. No horrid wrist-bands to identify you either and that was so refreshing.

The rooms/cottages were so cute and comfortable. Travelling as friends we did wonder what the bed situation would be, and we did have to share bed, but it was so big we didn't even realise the other person was there at all. Our cottage looked out over the entrance to the resort, it got a little bit noisy when staff arrived first thing in the morning but really not a disturbance. The location of the cottage was excellent for a pre-dinner drink (there's a little fridge for such necesseties) and some people watching from the private verandah.

The pool/bar area was beautiful. It took our breath away every time we set foot there. Sitting by the pool you could stare off into the blue distance for ages completely losing track of time. The pool is small, definitely not the place to do lengths, although plenty of people did try. The pool is definitely for chilling out, it's there to perch on the edge and stare some more into the blue distance (how I wish I was there now!!).
For the majority of our stay there, there were never any problems getting a sun lounger, and we did chuckle when we came to breakfast and some people had already been down to secure their space. If it was busy, it wouldn't be long before space opened up anyway.

The food was the best! I can be very picky but never had any issues even with the set menu in the evening. I ate things I have never touched before and absolutely loved it. Breakfast and lunch were buffet, but good food and lots to choose from, and always served up with the biggest smiles. Dinner was a set menu, with a choice of three for each course and an additional "pasta of the day" - you were never going to go hungry. And the weight lost before the holiday was quickly put back on.

We used the spa a couple of times, it was a bit make-shift in terms of the way it was set up but the setting was gorgeous and having a massage listening to the waves lapping against the rock below the cottage was bliss. The ladies who did the treatments were lovely and they recommended where to go shopping in St Johns.

Overall, it was the best holiday. It was such a sad day when we had to leave, and we're both hoping we can go back some time. Loads of people we met there were on their 3rd or more visit, which says a lot about a place.

There is so much more to say, but I don't want drag on. JUST GO THERE!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annaend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

What can we say this place just gets better and better. Our sea view room was fantastic (thanks Tameka for you help). From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Mr Richards friendly face we knew we would be in for a great time. The welcomes we received from Jermaine, Vincia, Mr Gore, Oriel, Craig etc made us feel at home. ( We hope Saskia is recovering). As always the food was outstanding, the service impeccable. If you get a chance to watch a West Indies cricket match at the Party Stand in the Sir Viv Richards ground it will be something you will remember for the rest of your life. Looking forward to checking our diary so we can arrange our fifth visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TONY&NIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We ended up calling it the 'loveshack' - our oceanfront room with the most spectacular view ever (and we have travelled). So wonderfully shabby-chic, just what we wanted, no huge crowds, lineups, everything was 'calm', except maybe cocktails at the bar after dinner! The food was great - pretty simple fare at breakfast and lunch, but more than adequate. The evening meals were so good, really gourmet. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The staff and the views are outstanding in every possible way. A beautiful small resort which feels part of the landscape and part of Antigua with great food and the friendliest staff. They made our wedding a very special day and our whole week a holiday of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea front room- worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smith2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My partner and I stayed at Cocobay for 7 nights in May and loved every minute of it.
Location/rooms-The rustic cottages dotted up the hills overlooking the beautiful sea and sand are breathtaking. We booked a Sea View cottage and it was well worth the extra to have a breathtaking view, however, I would strongly recommend booking a private plunge pool room. THese rooms looked amazing and other guests raved about them.
Food/drink- lovely. Breakfast and lunch are served buffet style. The evening meal is slightly different whereby you are given an option of 3 meals to choice from. You can also order from the supplimented side of the menu if you want to pay extra. The food and drink here are much improved from the average 'all inclusive' hotel food. Cocktails are also all very good!
Staff- absolutly faultless. They go above and beyond to entertain and befriend the guests. Namely Oriel, Tony, Saska, Jermaine and Mr Gore. Super!

Critisms/improvements- nothing. This hotel is very good value for money. the accomodation oozes Caribbean charm and the staff do too!

Room Tip: try to get a room with the private plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank keli63_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,927 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
507 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
864 reviews
14 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philips
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: £310 - £656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, West Indies, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing