We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time around”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“second time around”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

good hotel mosquiteos and sand fly bites terrible at least 50bites spray ect very expensive so take plenty with you .Good and attentive staff cannot fault the employees shame about the manager Mr ONeal Richards as he denies that he was told that we had a problem and did not make any effort to find us even though he told his staf that he knew who we were!!
Restuarant staff and beach staff were great,Tamika reservation manager went out of her way to help us with regards to treatment for bites.Hotel good for a complete rest dont go if youwant nightlife .We stayed 3 years ago what a change with this manager not intesested in any problems!!!

Room Tip: make sure you get what you paid for we had to ask for a see view not allocated on arrival as expecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Thank you for returning to Cocobay and for taking the time to write a review of your recent Cocobay visit. I am delighted to learn that for the most part you seemed to have had an enjoyable stay with us. However, I am truly sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience with mosquitoes. As Resort manager, I am committed to ensuring that ALL of my guests are "looked after" in a very personal manner. Please accept my sincerest apologies for missing you.

I do hope that you will consider visiting us again at Cocobay.

Always at your service.......
O'Neal Richards
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,521
    499
    147
    60
    60
See reviews for
91
1,813
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had a great time at Cocobay and would fully agree with all of the positive reviews this place gets. The rooms are lovely, the food varied and high quality, the pool area and beaches are beautiful and the staff very helpful.

The hotel also has snorkelling gear, kayaks and a small catermaran to borrow + beach towels, etc. Everything you need really...

Just one point, I would recommend paying extra for the sea view room

Room Tip: Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newboldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We thoroughly recommend Cocobay for anyone seeking a fantasic holiday in an idyllic location. The beaches, wildlife and people are brilliant.

This is our third year at Cocobay.

We always find the staff very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The individual cottages are comfortable, clean and well maintained. The food is very good - even for the most discerning palate. There is always something to choose from for everyone.

What else can we say, except we hope to go again soon and meet all the lovely people we left behind.

Sue & Rob

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Speedy064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly faces, cold towels, and rum punch. We were escorted to our rooms where we found the most beautiful view we could have imagined. The view from our seafront room was fantastic (see attached photo).
The staff was wonderful. I can not say enough about the staff. Their great attitudes were the icing on the cake. The food was excellent as were the drinks from the bar. The pace of the resort was perfect for us. The size of the resort was also perfect. We never felt we were crowded or alone. Unlike previous reviews, we did not experience a lot of biting insects. A little bug spray about the ankles at dusk worked for us. We have recommended the resort to all of our friends. (Our friends think our photos came from a magazine)
Thank you Coco Bay for an unforgettable vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john_and_connie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I'd like to start this with a quick disclaimer: If you are looking for family oriented resort, go to Sandals. We were on our honeymoon. And from what we saw, so were 99% of the other patrons.
That being said, our experience at Coco Bay was top-notch! The resort is very well kept, but retains a rustic carribbean feel. The rooms are very simple. We stayed in a seafront cottage w a plunge pool (most excellent) and the only electric items in the room were a small fridge, a ceiling fan (crucial), and A/C, which we didn't use. We didn't even miss a TV, but we did bring our own Ipod dock/speakers. Our room caught an almost constant ocean breeze. That combined w the ceiling fan made for a comfortable environment in the room, and I get hot very easily. As I mentioned above, our room had a plunge pool no more than 10 feet from our bed. On more than one occasion, I would roll out of bed and cannonball into the pool to aid in the waking up process. Awesome. The food was good, not great. Breakfast and lunch are buffet style w a good amount of options, but not overwhelming. Dinner consists of 4 courses: appitizer, soup, entree, dessert. Each has 3 options, except for the soup, which only has 1. The menu changes daily. Each morning when we made our reservations, we were excited to see what was for dinner. My wife is relatively picky, but found something to eat every night. The drinks were nothing to write home about, but I had my last spring break trip 4 years ago, so that didn't break my heart. Hotel staff is very friendly and accomadating. At one point during our stay, our safe wouldn't unlock. Maintenance immediately came and fixed it w no hassle. We did enjoy a couples massage which was in a nice hut overlooking the ocean. The beach is spectacular! The water is an unbelievable blue and a welcome refuge from the harsh sun. And the sun is scorchingly harsh! Good news is that we were always able to find a tiki and chaise lounges every day no matter what time we got there. We rented a jeep for a day (which the front desk can do) and took it for an adventure around the island. It was my first experience driving on the left side of the road. I made sure to specify an automatic transmission since the steering wheel is on the right side and I didn't need any more distractions. The island is relatively easy to navigate and people are very helpful if it comes to that. The island itself is almost entirely rural, and very beautiful. Overall, it was an excellent honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mdj5db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaggardBurns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My wife and I spent 7 nights at Cocobay in June and had a spectacular time. The ocean vistas were beyond amazing, the cottages were perfectly shabby chic, and the staff could not have been friendlier. If you're looking for volleyball games and loud music, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for chill poolside time and romantic dining you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HaggardBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This hotel has one of the best views on the island and the beach is great. Simple but functional rooms...very romantic. We loved the fact that it didn't have a lot of animation going on, as we were looking for some calm and smooth experience. Really enjoyed the trip around the island in a catamaran. Bring bug repelent with you. The only thing we noticed is that there were some members of the staff who could work on being nicer, but overall it was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
452 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
813 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,322 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing