We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place if you learn to ignore 'Daily Mail' readers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A beautiful place if you learn to ignore 'Daily Mail' readers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Cocobay does exactly what it says on the tin. It's an all inclusive resort which means you don't need to leave the confines of the property if you don't want to. The food selection is fine (its not typically Caribbean but perfectly acceptable). Everyone who works there is courteous and friendly, right down to offering little local tips on dealing with insect bites.

We opted for Cocobay as we'd never been to The Caribbean before, so erred on the side of caution and went for a resort holiday.We were not disappointed at all by the location and beautiful simplicity of the chalets. There's something very special waking up to bullfinches tapping on your window wanting sugar on a morning, then sitting in your hammock watching the lizard and bird politics unfolding. The beaches are stunning, just 5 minutes away from the all inclusive bunch is Ffryes Beach, and most days we were the only people there other than the wonderful local people. We have never met such genuinely friendly people before and this is what made our holiday to be honest. The only down side are what we call 'The Daily Mail' reader types; those who think the sun has not yet set on the British Empire. I swear we overheard one woman telling one of the staff why the UK is soooo much better than Antigua. The member of staff was completely diginified, he listened to her ramblings then coughed a polite little cough and excused himself.

We spent very little time in the resort itself, choosing instead to hire a car for a few days, went riding, went walking, went sailing; there's plenty of inexpensive entertainment available.

There's a little restaurant at the top of a small hill 5 minutes from Cocobay called Dennis, its well worth a visit. The Conch curry was delicious, and the jerk pork at the Sunday barbeque is amazing.

The best thing about the place for us was the absence of tvs in the rooms and a limited internet connection throughout the resort. It was bliss to be really away from it all for 2 weeks.

If you are prone to being munched by creepie crawlies, take plenty of jungle juice with you. We got the tropical formula repellant from Boots, and neither of us were bothered by bugs. The resort is fogged a couple of times a week anyway. But it IS a tropical country, there are bugs. If you don't like the odd weird thing with antennae creeping around this probably isn't the right place for you.

There are people on the beach trying to sell their wares and excursions, they don't overly hassle you, but this is their only income to be honest. There's not much industry on the island other than tourism and off-shore investment schemes. We bought a couple of trips from one of the people selling on the beach, and it costs about the same as what you'd pay at the reception if you book at the resort, but at least it's going to the local economy directly.

All in all it was a fabulous first time Caribbean trip and we will most definately go back to the island.

Room Tip: A seaview room gives you lovely breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank J0hnandTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,478
    488
    144
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,760
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Like most of you here on TripAdvisor, I looked into the details of hotels in the Caribbean and specifically in Antigua. What set Cocobay apart from the others was the beautiful photos, stellar reviews, and the fact that it looked perfect for a peaceful getaway for couples. Cocobay was amazing from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We were greeted like family by the wonderful Melissa and Assistant Manager Tameka with a cool towel and a delicious rum punch to start. Making our way to our private cottage with our very own plunge pool, it was clear we were in paradise. While we were only there for 5 days, we genuinely enjoyed every minute of relaxation. The beaches were amazingly clear and calm. The grounds were beautiful with plenty of foliage and flowers attracting tons of hummingbirds and lizards. The food was amazing (this was our first experience at an all-inclusive and we felt spoiled!). We also ate at Sheer Rocks which is located on the property but not a part of the all-inclusive (it was AMAZING!). Another amazing aspect to our trip was the private dinner on the beach. It was the perfect way to end our trip. I can't express how beautiful the staff were at Cocobay. We truly wanted some quality time and we got it! We never felt like the place was overcrowded or too busy like some resorts. Cocobay genuinely went out of their way to ensure we had the best vacation ever. The little things like the rum punch at arrival, to a little tour from Melissa, to a true Antigua snack and drink for our last day, and a beautiful array of flowers in the room. Even before we left, we said we will be back!

Room Tip: Plunge pool - it is so worth it! Very private! We never went to the other pools since we had our ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yvette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights in July and had a great time. I spent most of my time on the back porch of my bungalow that had its own private plunge pool. The water was so cool and refreshing on warm days!

The room itself was nothing special, but the view from the back was amazing. The food was good and there was plenty of it. I was surprised to read some reviews that said the dinner portions weren't that big. Maybe not if you are used to super-sizing all of your meals at McDonalds, but to a normal person, after an appetizer, a soup, a main course, and a dessert, there was plenty to eat. Also, if you were still hungry, you could have asked for more...

The staff was so friendly and helpful. The front desk arranged two days of scuba diving for me, and they had the boat come and pick me up and drop me off at the beach each morning. The bar staff was amazing as well, and after the first day, they knew what you liked to drink and fixed it for you before you even got all the way to the bar to order it!

My only real complaint (and it is a minor one) is that they mow the lawn with a weed eater, so instead of taking just a couple of minutes to cut the grass around your cabin, it took ages and really took away from the serenity of the resort. This wasn't too big a problem, as I just moved to the main pool after about 15 minutes of listening to the weed eater.

All in all, a great place to stay, and apparently it will be closed for a complete overhaul in September, do I can only imagine how nice it will be afterwards! I hope to get to experience it again some day soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorersample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our stay at Cocobay was absolutely amazing!! We stayed from July 28th 2012 through August 4th 2012, and went on to Sandals Antigua for the following week (which couldn't even compare to Cocobay.) Our check-in and check-out were both quick and easy, and we felt welcome and relaxed the minute we were greeted. The grounds are beautiful and really well kept, and the cottages are all so cute, painted different pastel colors, and really nicely furnished. We stayed in seafront cottage #5, which had a spacious balcony and plunge pool overlooking a few palm trees and the ocean; it was really private, had a shower that opened up to the outdoors, and had an unbelievable view! The pools were beautifully placed on the rock ledges of the resort and were always pristine. We were worried that there is only one inclusive restaurant, but were so happy with the different daily menu and the delicious food. Everyone at the resort was so friendly and sweet, from the guests to the staff. All the drinks were awesome, strong yet absolutely tasty, and the wine we had with dinner was really great! We had adorable surprises in our room for our honeymoon like champagne, flowers, and candles, it made our stay feel extra special. The only thing we had an issue with were the bug bites we kept getting each day, so definitely load up on bug spray. Some of the guests we met have been returning for more than 7 years! After our week at Cocobay we knew we were going to come back soon. This resort is definitely a hidden treasure, and we can't wait to return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylwia_72712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this resort. The staff was exceptional, the food and drink were very good, and the resort grounds are immaculate. We were pampered everyday with little surprises and ammenities. The beach is simply fantastic! We had a private dinner on the beach, the staff was amazing, the food and wine were 5 star quality. They made our vacation so easy for us, helping with any booking or transportation we needed to enjoy the island, but we found we most enjoyed the pools, and beach at the resort most, allowing us to relax and enjoy romance. The Spa and Wellness services are wonderful as well, this spot is highly recommended for a return visit, many guests said they have been there multiple times and continue to return to Cocobay due to the great staff and ammenities they offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

My Husband and I just returned a few weeks ago from our vacation in Antigua. In addition to this island being the most beautiful Island I have visited, Coco Bay Resort was an exceptional place to stay in. I did alot of research to decide where to stay, and I am so glad I decided to stay at Coco Bay Resort. The cottages are perfect. It is exactly what I wanted. Rustic but luxurious as well. The hotel has beautiful landscaping and fields. Like I read in other reviews of complaints of "bug control", not one mosquito bit me. There are more mosquitos in Fort Lauderdale where I live then on this property. They do fumigate for bug control, and regarding "wild life" only geicos and beautiful birds are around the cottages. It was really relaxing waking up to the singing of birds.

The food was really good, very fresh fish, and very good cocktails. The restuarant staff was very freindly as well as the rest of the staff in the resort. The views seen online really do not lie, they are spectacular. The most beautiful turquoise water I have ever seen. Florida has nice beaches but nothing comparison to the islands, and Antigua has the beautiful prestine beaches.

What surprised me very much was that the General Manager "O'Neil" was in the lobby greeting guests. When he came to introduced himself, I was shocked because I imagined the General Manager in back of a desk in an office, and not greeting guest in the lobby. The hospitality in this resort made us feel very welcomed and intimate, not like "just another guest in a huge hotel chain building". The cottage was perfect, quaint, romantic, very clean. The bathroom shower that opens to the balcony outside was very refreshing, and our own plunge pool was awesome, every night at sunset we enjoyed our own pool with cocktails, right before getting ready for dinner.

Everything about this resort was perfect, I couldn't have asked for anything more. I would like to thank General Manager O'Neil for making us feel so welcomed, and for the great hospitality in this resort. I recommend this resort for a vacation with no doubts or questions asked.
Linda and Warren.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Wow, what an amazing resort. From the warm greeting we received on arrival to the moment we had to sadly depart. The setting was idyllic for our honeymoon, accomodation beautiful, food amazing but most of all it was the wonderful staff that made it perfect. To mention but a few - O'neal: Resort manager, attentive and couldn't do enough. Melissa: so welcoming and helpful. Kenroy/Mr.Gore: Wonderful man! Sonia: Thanks for the amazing breakfasts! Oriel: Master of the Cocktails. If we had to give any negatives, all we would say is it would be nice to have slightly more entertainment (ie. Live music).
To all: Cocobay is truly wonderful, perfect paradise. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaAndyCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing