We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Long beach island nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We spent months researching different resorts throughout the Caribbean. We read all the reviews and felt that we knew what we were getting into. We were so pleased with our decision! We got more than we expected.

My first advice is to read all the reviews both good and bad. If bugs and the occasional bird, or lizard will ruin your vacation, than stay away!. If you need constant entertainment and nightlife, than stay away! If you need multiple restaurants that serve gourmet food 24 hours a day, than stay away! If you need marble floors and brass fixtures and purified air, then again, look somewhere else! If you want fantastic scenery, a simple and completely relaxing vacation, Friendly and helpful staff, than Cocobay should be on your short list!

Cottages - What you will get with Cocobay is simple accommodations that are rustic and comfortable. Wood floors, a few pieces of furniture and yes a rod to hang your clothes on. There were wide doors and windows that allow the breeze and nature sounds as well as a spectacular view to enter the room and take your breath away. We had a plunge pool and yes it was cool at night. Cool water, never once stopped us from jumping in and completely enjoy the feeling and view. We also had birds and cocloful Lizards that shared the porch of our cabin and sugar on occasion. We read a lot about the mosquitos. We came prepared with lots of bug spray. We did get bit a few times but nothing that stopped us from doing what we wanted. The bathrooms were different than expected. First, they were dated, but that added to the charm of the room. The main feature t this room was the large doors next to the shower that lead to the deck. Privacy was maintained by a wall of flowering vines that flanked the deck. There was no shower curtain so shower water sometime splashed on the floor, but with a view like that while showering, who could care! The only complaint that I had with the bathroom was that the outlet for the hair dryer was 7 foot off the ground. You had to climb to access it. There was AC in the room that we did use on a few nights and a great fan over the bed that kept the room comfortable. We also had a TV and computer terminal that was in the room for an additional charge, but never once used it. Rooms were cleaned and towels refreshed daily. There were around 50 cottages at this resort. All were separate and private. Some were close to each other, but vegetation kept it private. The walk to the dinning areas and pools was a pleasant but did go up and down hills. It was lit at night by walkway lights. If you have trouble walking, than you may need to request a closer cabin. There are several cottage types but all share a fantastic view!

Beaches and Pool - The beach at Cocobay was clearly a focal point. There were plenty of lounge chairs and thatched umbrellas. There were palm trees to find shade and also the crystal clear water of the Caribbean. The beaches were raked and cleaned daily and there was a drink service for those that didn’t want to hike back and forth to the bar. While we were there, they had begun construction of a new pool and beachside bar. I can’t wait to see it in person. We have seen the pictures and it looks spectacular! The beach is a public beach and has locals and vendors that come around. We were not bothered by them. A simple no thank you was enough to keep the moving. We did wind up making friends with some and feel that they actually added to our experiences.

Food and entertainment – Cocobay has one dining room that is all outside and covered. There is no formal indoor areas which suited us just fine. Breakfast was a buffet and had a wonderful omelet station. Lunch and dinner was menu driven with only a few choices. There were always several different selections. We don’t like seafood and had no problems finding something to our liking. Quality was good but not great. Reservations for dinner were made in the morning but seating never seemed a problem. Dining room closed around 10, so if you wanted a midnight snack, you were out of luck. The menu could have had some local specialty dishes. That would have been nice. There is a second restaurant on the property that is not included in the all-inclusive. This is Sheer rocks. We did have a great meal there one night of our stay. We would recommend that you try it while you are there! The bar was small and located just outside the dining area. Drinks were fantastic and free. We spent the entire time trying the local specials and did not miss the top shelf drinks that we were used to. Entertainment was a small band twice during the week that also ended around ten. The bar closes when the customers are gone or around ten. This was not a problem for us since we were always getting up to watch the spectacular sunrise and were eager to start our day early. It seems like we were not alone. I didn’t hear one complaint about the early close while we were there.

Staff – Cocobay is a small resort and has the ability to have extremely personal service. We had no major complaints for them to solve and asked very little of them. They knew us by name and were always eager to help. They went out of their way to make us feel special. Most of the staff that we met and talked with have worked for Cocobay for years and were very happy there. This made us feel comfortable. Even the locals that worked at the beaches added to our enjoyment of this resort. The one thing that we didn’t expect was that while we were there, we met some fantastic people that we will keep in touch with for a long time. It was hard to leave as everyone was so nice!

Overall – Antigua is a beautiful and peaceful Island. There is limited entertainment and unlimited beauty. This is one of the things that pulled us to the Island. Cocobay is for those that want to relax and truly unwind. You can easily book excursions off the property or just relax by the pool or beach. This is not a place for all night parties or round the clock dinning. Nor is this a 5 star gold plated resort with butler service. It is a place of beauty and relaxing and meeting similar people. It is rustic and charming and a perfect place to unwind. We hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lbilander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    488
    144
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,759
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and i were not planning on staying here, but tropical storm Isaac left us with 5 extra days to stay on Antigua and we were lucky enough to get a room here... we had been to antigua and stayed here once before (loved it then, loved it now) but this trip had chosen to stay at sugar Ridge and the Hermitage. We had a disappointing stay at the Hermitage and were really curious to see what we thought about Cocobay since we hadn't been planning on the stay and hadn't been there for 3 years.
What a blessing- it saved our vacation to stay here!!!!... the resort was immaculate with a view of the ocean that CANNOT be beaten.Our check in was brilliant ( same as everyone else's!!!), our room was fantastic ...It was amazing that they remembered us 3 years later (phyllis!!!!, tameka, saskia and kenroy to name a few) and we got the feeling that they really couldn't do enough to make all the guests welcome.
as an example, one day i fell and cut one knee pretty badly...the dining manager (Kenroy Gore), was kind enough to bring a dining tray to our room himself. Phyllis and the staff had the room done in canles and flowers our last night (are you serious??!!! no one EVER did that at anyplace else we have stayed)..
The addition of the lower level pool is briliant, they now offer a panini of the day and a beach bar right next to it and it is immaculate.
The food is fabulousbreakfast to dinner! (afternoon tea, which we never saw at the Hermitage but they were supposed to have???)-the drink menu could stand some updating (i'd like to see some martini's!!!) but they were happy to make anything anytime...
We had a pludge pool room, and i loved it, but would take the tool shed if that was all they had available...we slept better here than at the Hermitage at half the cost...and the views were better.
Walking to FFreyes beach was fabulous,and while i generally HATE 'entertainment' in the evenings(give me tree frogs and the ocean waves anytime), we thought the music was fabulous...
so a special thanks to everyone from the front desk to the gardeners who made it amazing....
if you are even considering staying here, book it....in 12 years of travels to the carribean, we rank them with Cuisinart in Anguilla.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamhDurhamNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in July. We love to travel and have stayed at several inclusive and non inclusive resorts. I am really not sure where to start this place was perfection, view was breathtaking, food delicious and most of all the staff was incredible. When we first arrived we were greeted with a cold punch and cold towel and a very friendly and informative tour of the resort. The surroundings are beautiful flowers and beautiful plants everywhere, make sure you wear mosquito repellant, this is a tropical resort and the mosquitos are very aggressive, i forgot to do it one night and my legs got destroyed but as long as you use repellent you should be fine. The cabins are basic but the rustic style and views make them very romantic. We had different birds and lizards in our balcony every morning, and the sound of the ocean and birds with no tv makes you feel truly relaxed. AC is a must not sure how you can survive without it, only complaint was the beds were on the hard side, loved the hammock on the front porch. The pools are very nice, especially the new one, the older one definitely needs some renovation, the drinks by the bar are awesome and bartenders friendly, if you are laying by the beach Robert will bring you drinks from the bar. Food is very good loved breakfast and Sonias lovely smile every morning. The portions are perfect, it is a little bit annoying to have to make reservations every night we kept forgetting and got stuck eating really late, they had live music most of the nights we were there. I wish there was a place or restaurant to eat a snack you can get pretty hungry and you have to wait for dinner (they have afternoon tea but the sandwiches go really fast or if you are out in a tour you can miss it). Make sure you book a dinner by the beach, romantic experience with great food Ronella took care of us she is amazing. If you want breathtaking views, romance and relaxation, don't think about it book it I wish I would of stayed there longer and look forward to coming back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catalina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic time at Cocobay. We stayed for 9 days and it was magnificent.

Our cottage (21) was awesome, we had a beautiful view and were never disturbed. We were not bothered by any bugs, although I did see some guests with bug bites on their legs. We did NOT have a plunge pool and not once did we wish we did, out of sight out of mind for us.

The best part was being able to have the bathroom door open to the deck which made it feel like an outdoor shower (they have the decks protected by reeds & sticks so no one can see you)

I am excited to hear that they are redoing the upper pool, not that it was bad, but it could have been better.

We went to Shear Rocks and absolutely would recommend going there -- delicious food and Alex the chef was so nice!

We also did the circumnavigation of the island on Widali Cat and it was amazing -- the food, drinks, personnel and boat were all great.

The staff was amazing.

We would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: We did not get a plunge pool and were fine with it... out of sight, out of mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I have just returned from a 2 week stay at Cocobay Resort with my husband, and i dont even think writing this review i can totally describe what a beautiful, fantastic, amazing, special place this resort is. On arrival we were greeted by tameka with cold towels and rum punches, which went down a real treat after our long journey from the uk, we were checked in quickly and then taken to our georgeous cute pink cottage, the cottage has everything that you could possibly need, lovely bed, bathroom with doors that opened out into the open air,( with privacy) lots of storage space, and a great big balcony with the most comfy chairs, it was great sitting out there morning and evening, having a drink whilst little gheckos and birds and frogs were next to you.

The staff, what can i say, they were the most pleasant, friendly helpful people you could ever hope to meet, who couldnt do enough to ensure that you have the most fantastic holiday, everyone was amazing but my special ones were sonia, mr gore, ronella saskia and jermaine. The grounds were kept spotlessly clean and you never had a problem anytime morning or afternoon getting a sunbed around either of the infinity pools,the food was amazing, buffet for breakfast and lunch and a lovely 4 course sit down meal at dinner, it was a nice change at a hotel to have a formal evening meal, not like your average all inclusives( this resort is very special)
If you can do it, try and have the private dinner on the beach, we were lucky to have this, and its the most romantic setting on the edge of the sea.
Also recommended is the circumnavigation tour on the catamarran around the island, full day tour, stopping for snorkelling, and lunch, with a very cheerful happy crew, you can arrange this through the resort or with the people on the beach.
All in all CoCobay is the most ROMANTIC, SPECIAL place in the world, my husband could have not picked a more perfect place to take me, and i would recommend EVERYONE who is thinking of going, to just go ahead and book it, there is nothing AT ALL BAD that can be said about Cocobay, it is just sheer perfection from the resort itself, facilities, rooms, grounds, food, to the most amazing staff you will ever meet, an im already looking at going back next year

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelansstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Words can't describe our honeymoon week at Cocobay! The grounds are so peaceful and perfect. If you are looking for a Sandals type of generic service then this isn't for you. We were greeted with cold towels and rum punches. We stayed in the Orleander seafront cottage and I highly suggest this room if you want true privacy. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and the food rotated on a daily basis. The lobster was delicious. We also stayed at Galley Bay Resort for a week and although the service and food were great Cocobay knows how to make you feel special and welcomed. We are already planning another trip back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyshazam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I recently visited Cocobay for our honeymoon in August. The staff were very attentive from the offset with cold towels and rum punches on arrival. Our bags were then taken to our seafront cottage (with plunge pool) which overlooked the beautiful dappled turquoise sea. Our plunge pool was sheltered on each side by large hibiscus bushes which the banana kwit's and other finches loved - as did the lizards!!
The food was excellent during our stay; with buffet style dining for breakfast and lunch followed by 4 course a la carte dining for your evening meal (I consequently put 1/2 stone on whilst there for 2 weeks!). The cocktails were to die for with VERY generous measures - I have too many favourites to list them all (the Bikini can be a little strong though so be careful)!!!
I really hope that we will be able to return to this paradise island and explore more of it (I've made a list of things to do on our next trip!!) but as others have mentioned the new developments which have recently started are currently aimed at the US market whereas currently there is a nice mix of people from the States, the UK and Europe.
We also liked the fact that children under the age of 12 are not permitted - this makes it perfect for honeymoon couples and we did not see any children until 3 days before we were leaving - and even so these children were well behaved and quiet.
Cocobay is about 20 min transfer by shared taxi (arranged for us by Virgin holidays) from the airport. The island is only 8 x 4 miles so it doesn't take long to get anywhere - we did the Virgin Dundee tour and found that we had covered a vast portion of the island in one day!! (although there is still plenty to explore and do for our next visit!!). As we booked through Virgin they also have a "Check in and Chill Out" service where Virgin staff come to the hotel and check you in and take your baggage at this point in time, which certainly took some of the hardship out of leaving this beautiful island.
I would definitely go again (tomorrow if I could!) and will be saving up the pennies to make sure it happens again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing