We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Cocbay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved Cocbay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2008

I stayed at Cocobay in May 2006 for a friends wedding and have to say it was a fantastic holiday!

When you arrive and see the stunning views framed through the open air reception I knew we were at the right place.

The beaches are the most deserted and private that I have seen.

Yes, the accomodation is rustic, but it was kept clean. It certainly isnt an American style polished hotel so dont go here if thats your taste. You have a hanging space and a chest of drawers for clothes and a coffee machine in the room, but we really didnt want more than that. The only time we were in our room was to sleep and change clothes!!!!

We booked a beachfront room which was well worth it for the views (before the hottubs were installed) and found the cottage style accomodation very private. The bride stayed in one of the two larger beach rooms a bit closer to the water which was also nice!

I am a fussy vegetarian that doesnt eat fish and I found the food to be good and had plenty of choice. The breakfast lady cooked eggs how you wanted them in front of you each morning and the fish choice at lunch buffet was very good. The open air buffet area was netted to prevent birds getting in, but sometimes they did - which still didnt really cause a problem, I mean they are birds!!!

The staff were also good and tried to accomodate me as much as possible as I was also 5mths pregnant when I was there, the bar staff were great creating lots of different non-alco cocktails for me!

Entertainment is minimal here, but we entertained ourselves after dinner talking to others in the bar and we were often tucked up in bed by 10!!!(We are all in our 20's and early 30's by the way!) If you do fancy something a bit livlier there is an american sports bar in Jolly Harbour (5 mins by taxi).

The afternoon wedding was a very relaxed affair, the boys went fishing in the morning and the girls lazed by the pool. We all then wandered down to the deck near Sheer for the ceremony which was really lovely, a true relaxed island wedding!! We then all went down to the beach for photos and then back to Sheer for a meal which was really good and actually considered one of the best restaurants on the island when we were there!!

I would say that if you picked this hotel to start off with, dont let the negative reviews stop you from going here as it has a true carribean feel about it which you wont get by staying at one of the big shiny hotels.

  • Liked — Cottage and caribbean feel!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Where2Wed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    483
    141
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,740
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2008

Before you read our review please be advised of the following :

*We are not daily pizza and chips eaters,nor do we expect it
*We appreciate good will and service, and attention to detail
*We are not rude or expect our shoes to be cleaned
*We do not go on holiday to Malaga,Alacante,Zante,ETC
*We are well travelled when it comes to all-inclusive resorts, which includes many places in the Caribbean, and Indian Ocean.

Here is our honest opinion of this resort, I will say if you visit this place and it is your 1st time to a Caribbean resort, you will like it guaranteed, and wonder why us 'negative people' write the bad reviews, well the answer is that most of the travellers that have been to more than 1 resort in the Caribbean have been to places of the same grade/star/price and received better for the money, we fall into this category.

We went here in early March 2008 for a week all-inclusive, we had booked a seafront cottage with plunge pool. Looking at the pictures on here and website, we thought It looked a great deal.
On arrival we went to reception and we were greeted with some rum punch, and told that we can have a seafront with plunge pool, but the rooms now have aircon and didn't when we booked ,so we had to pay extra a night, good start?

The room is OK, it is quiet and peaceful with the best view you can get. If you are the type of travellers that like commercial buildings with plasma TV, sky and all the trimmings you will not like the rooms, for us we were ok.
The general area is very dark, as you will notice, intermit for some, and turn off for others.
There is just the one bar, the first thing that hit us was the quietness. If you are beach goers then it’s a trek to get hydrated, as the bar is right back into the resort, so no beach bar.
If you are pool/sunbed huggers then the bar is 20 foot away from the pool, so this may be for you. We will advise the small cups, they are probably the smallest size cups you can get, our advice is to drink the bar down to your hearts content to get any sort of your monies worth!

This is the point that will divide the experienced Caribbean traveller to the non-experienced. Those of you who have been on all inclusive in resorts before may be aware of the "no glass is left empty" service you get at other resorts for less money than this one; example you sit down at night, a waiter comes up and gets you a drink, when you finish they come along and ask if you want another. Coco Bay this does not happen as there is very limited number of staff, i.e. one barman (nice chap though). We were on all inclusive, but they don't want to encourage us to drink more as it eats into their profits?

The food no matter what anyone tells you are shocking, if you disagree then go to some other resorts fort the same price and you will agree. The ala carte meals are very small, a plus is the detail, well presented, but for people who are paying all inclusive are being ripped off due to the sizes, yet another way of maximising profits.
The rolls are mini rolls that you give to your kids for school. You will lose weight with their potion sizes.
The best meal s breakfast, our advice is to be greedy as no-body else will look after you, once the food is gone they do not replace it in a hurry, evening service is ok, not great.

Before you book, check how much you are paying, consider the sizes of cups you will be drinking out of, the small amounts of food you will be eating, then decide.

The views are nice, but the food and service, value for money ruined it for us, there are other resorts on this lovely island, this is not the place to be in Antigua

Book at your peril !!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Food,portion sizes,drinks, could go on
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank drumnadroicit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, ID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

First of all, don't believe any of the negative feedback. This place is great, however, you must book the right room. I would only choose the "Seafront Cottage" with dipping pool and AC. There is no better room in Antigua. The dipping pool is right off of the deck and is totally private. You could literally stay in your room all day w/o leaving, it's so nice. My wife and I thought the food was delicious. Keep in mind, this is one of the best deals in Antigua, 260 a night including all food/drink for my wife and I. If you are expecting four seasons with a Plasma in your room, don't stay here. We booked our trip through hotels.com and found a much better deal than booking directly through the website. Also, we were the only Americans at the resort, mostly UK guests, which was a nice change. Everyone was super friendly. Also, if you want to explore, take a cab up to Jolly Harbour (3miles) and rent a scooter for 35 a day and drive down to English Harbour through the rainforest, very pretty drive. It's much cheaper than taking a taxi and doesn't limit you to certain areas as there is much to explore.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank MorganMasner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

I was at staying on the final part of my honeymoon, we arrrived late in the evening having just been on a cruise.

When we got to the hotel our porter took our bags to the room, we had no change to give him and apologised and said we would give him money tomorrow to which he walked out the room slamming the door.

We started to unpack, beware the rooms are very basic, the lighting is terrible and there is hardly any room for clothes. I went to plug in my mobile phone chrger near the fridge only to confronted by a huge cockroach (disgusting).

The rooms have no windows only shutters that er don't dont shut, the bed is rock hard and extremly uncomfortable.

Breakfast, aweful food which is buffet style that basically feeds all of the birds, lunch is the same and the worst food I have ever eaten in a hotel. Dinner is poor too whereby the size of the portions are shocking.

We booked into their paid restaurant 1 night which was as bad if not worse than the other restaurant.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location which has stunning views.

The staff are the most UN-FRIENDLY I have ever come across.

You book this hotel (its hard to call it a hotel) at your peril, in summary the rooms are dumps and the staff need to learn how to treat guests.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank tottenham1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

I booked This for our honeymoon last sept and was so worried when i read all the horrible review's.

I just wanted to put your mind at rest, That this is a trully gorgeouse place and we loved it. we hope to go back for our annaversy to the same place. Yes the room our basic, but hay it made it all that much special. The staff our so friendly and i wouldn't say they are slow at all. The food so amazing, didn't have one bad meal in 2 week's. We only had to night's of buffet's and that was good. The coctails are out of this world. Just ask DAVE, to make you a special and you will have a different one everytime, not good for the morning after, but hay it's not as if you have a difficult day ahead!

Sand Flie's this is what really worried me! But luckly i had about 2 and i didn't notice them. i did so much reserch what to take, but i think if there going to bite you they will.

Please be reassured that you will have a very relaxing holiday. The beaches are fantastic.

Please e-mail me if you won't more info or too see some of my picture's. ( you wait and save all yeah for your holiday it's horrible to feel doutfull before you go)

sorry for my spelling!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank vixson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

We booked our trip through Virgin and went to Antigua for a friend's wedding and from the moment we arrived there were problems....
Half of the party had to stay in another hotel as Cocoabay was double booked.
The hotel is very basic, no air conditioning or even glass windows..just wooden shutters and nets.
Breakfast and lunch were buffets..often covered in flys or birds.
There were a few cakes or sandwiches brought out for tea but you had to fight for them.
The hotels evening meals were a set menu with only 3 choices..none of which were very appetising! We all suffered from food poisioning
The first holiday I have lost weight on which is a good thing.
Very disappointing as it was all inclusive!
The major problem was SAND FLIES. We got bitten to death and nothing seemed to work, we tried all the creams and sprays. The bites are so itchy it ruined the holiday.
There is nothing to do at the resort and after a week were very bored.
The pool is small and not many sun beds and even less with shade.
If you want to do nothing in the sun....it's perfect!

  • Liked — the views were amazing
  • Disliked — basic, food awful
  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2008

Please understand that Cocobay is not your ultra luxury Carribean resort with parties and activitys that fill the beaches. They do not have the acommodations like room service,hair salons, nail spas etc that will pamper. Your room will not have a phone, tv, radio, airconditioning or any of that mumbo jumbo.. not even a clock. This is because the resort revolves around simplicity... a true island experience with enjoying it COMFORTABLY- think back on a day when air con was not invented... where we did not have all of the gizmos and gadgets of today. If we were to go to vacation- its purpose would be to purely indulge on what the destination has to offer. People often forget what vacation is all about and most people these days want to visit places with the ideal of vacationing with "comforts of home" in their heads. If you are to travel to Cocobay- you should travel with the same ideals as you would per say cabin camping in the great outdoors. Enjoying it in a purity sense-

After a long ordeal of flying and transfers and a 20-25 minute cab ride through the twist and turns.. we finally arrived at Cocobay. Greeted by a warm smile and much needed icy towels with a glass of strong rum punch.. here at last i thought to myself... here at last. The airline lost our baggage so we didnt have any to be brought up to our cottage house. It wasnt until the next morning that we got our luggage- they knocked and we had instructed them to leave them at the door. I had booked a cottage house on the top of the mountain- by accident I acually booked both sides of it thinking it would be a complete house.. but rather i ended up buying twin rooms that were identical. This did not bother me as we realized that both sides had spectacular views and we would not be able to experience both otherwise.

The walk up and down the hill had proved to get a bit tiring since our house was all the way at the top- but it was all worth it when we found out the time we arrived was festival time on the island- we had a front row seat to the fireworks show! it was amazing-! Also at that altitude when the doors were left open the ocean breeze would be ideal to cool you down.

Bugs were frequent but not pests.. little ants and cute green geckos in the bathroom etc.. but this is to be expected since there were only mesh screens on the windows. Mosquitos and flies werent a problem for us- we didnt get one bite throughout our trip.

The rooms were very simple but clean- ours had a hammock and small balcony area with a living room that connected both sides of the cottage. we were told that some cottages have outdoor showers- we however ended up with 2 bathrooms lol. During the day the heat would get pretty intense- therefore the best thing to do would be to head to the pool or beach to relax. The surrounding beaches are never crowded and feel very private.

The food was not great but I thought it was more than adequate for an all inclusive~ good variety. House wines are nothing to rave about- so i basically stuck with the pina coladas and rum punch at the bar Andre made~ pretty good stuff. Guava daquiri was another good one. This all inclusive is different however- dinner needs to be reserved and signed into a guest book ~ i am thinking they do this so prevent crowds and calculate how much food to cook. Its nice if you want a more romantic setting to eat with your sigificant other.

We found a few good places to eat around the area- OJ's had a spectacular view and good food- the snapper was awesome! The prices were very reasonable too. If you want a high end upscale dining experience- go eat at "The Cove" restaurant- its absolutly gorgeous with 5 star service. (try the spicy mango martini) <- to die for. We also walked over to Dennis's for lunch one morning- again beautiful view and an even more beautiful beach. The food however was not anything special to me.

Traveling by cab is ideal since the roads are horrendous to drive on. Paying a bit more for peace of mind is a no brainer. Our driver was Benji- very nice fella and will take you anywhere plus give u recommendations. Going to town~ try some of the street foods such as the fresh mangos and crabs. On Sundays there is also a local barbeque that you can walk to buy foods and fresh coconuts they open for u right there.

Cocobay- is a beautiful place the views are absolutly jaw dropping- the water is of a sapphire blue and everywhere you turn there is a backdrop that words cannot describe.

  • Liked — Surpassed all expectations
  • Disliked — Had to leave =(
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mOmOpOcUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
8.9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
4.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing