We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocobay Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$436
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$224
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Resort & Spa(Five Islands Village)
US$633
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$315
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
US$1,470
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,440)
Filter reviews
2,440 results
Traveller rating
1,629
529
161
60
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,629
529
161
60
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco baythe cottagesplunge poolmr gorewaterfront suitelower poolbreakfast and lunchrum punchsheer rocksdeluxe cottageour honeymoonpaninislobstersea viewplantation housemosquito netbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,052 - 1,057 of 2,440 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The views, food, pools, colour of sea and staff are out of this world. The bungalows are rustic but adequate with comfy beds and a hot shower. We paid for a sea view room with air con and it was absolutely fine for us. The two main pools are so wonderful I didn’t feel it was worth upgrading to a plunge pool suite.

Buffet breakfast and lunch and a fantastic 4 course a la carte evening meal. You can have a sandwich from the lower pool at lunchtime but it just one sandwich...... sandwich of the day, no menu to choose from. They also have a pizza oven next to the lower pool bar which wasn’t in use but it would have been a nice addition. The house white wine was pretty good and the old fashion rum punch was even better. Every member of staff we encountered was absolutely amazing, a real asset to the company. Well done Cocobay. Hopefully see you again one day.

P.S Take mozzie spray....they are vicious!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We accompanied our friends to Cocobay Resort for their wedding in November.
Don't expect 5 star bungalows because this is not what you will get!!! What you will get is a bungalow in keeping with the surrounding, lovely comfy bed with mosquito net, shower or bath, plenty of wardrobe space, refrigerator, ceiling fan and air con (which is a must).
The rooms are cleaned spotless everyday and fresh towels provided.

We had a sea view room with a view to die for and a hammock on the balcony.
The sea front rooms with plunge pool are a little bit more special so the bride and groom had one of these.
The staff are all so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The food, from breakfast & lunch (buffet) to evening meal (waiter service) was EXCELLENT .
We never had the same thing served twice, there is a surcharge for steak or lobster but the menu gave you fabulous other options you didn't feel the need to pay the extra.
Look out for Sonia who cooks your eggs at breakfast ...she is always smiling and makes an amazing omelette , and also serves the griddle at lunch..

We did the virgin circumnavigation of the island with snorkelling and beach BBQ which was amazing, went horse riding on the beach and the trip up to Shirley heights (put your dancing shoes on)
There was 14 of us in the wedding party and we all had an amazing time, this is one gorgeous place.

Room Tip: Air con and mosquito spray is a must
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned this past Saturday from celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary at Cocobay Resort in Antigua. This was by far the best resort we have ever booked for vacation. We had a premium waterfront suite--Pepperpot. Little pink private cabana with our own deck, plunge pool, hammock, daybed on the deck, double-slipper tub overlooking the sea. Absolutely posh...there is not one complaint. The grounds, the food, everything was spectacular and well worth it--although the price was cheaper than some we've seen. We didn't feel crowded, the beach was awesome--no annoying vendors that won't leave you alone. 2 gorgeous infinity pools and the most delicious rum punch in the West Indies. The best thing about this place, however, is the people that work to ensure you are having the best possible experience. Dwayne, O'Neal, Melissa, Tameka, and dear Sonia who cooks the PERFECT omlette--and many others--just made our whole vacation a worry-free, relaxing experience. If you want 5-star quality without all of the tourist trappings, book this resort. You will not be sorry! We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If you don't choose the premium waterfront suite, you will still have an amazing room. The grounds are gorgeous no matter where you go, and you're mostly at the pools and beach anyway. So, to save yourself some cash book a room without the extras. But if you want to splurge a bit, I do highly recommend the premium waterfront suites.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmessina1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cocobay in early June for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! We stayed in one of the new Premium Waterfront Suites, and have nothing but good things to say.

The room was lovely and comfortable, and the private plunge pool right on the ocean was fantastic. I took a nap in our hammock almost every day, listening to the waves.

O'Neal, the manager, and his staff are extremely friendly and helpful and will bend over backwards to make sure you are having a wonderful time. I had also emailed with Manuella and Vilma prior to our stay, and both of them immediately remembered our conversations and went out of their way to say hello.

The food was also delicious - probably the best all-inclusive restaurant I have experienced. The breakfast and lunch buffets were varied and ample, and the dinner menus changed nightly. We enjoyed every meal we had. There are several menu items (like the rock lobster, which is amazing) that typically require an additional charge, but for guests in the premium suites, this charge is waived. This was a very nice surprise, and we definitely took advantage.

The resort is definitely geared towards honeymooners and couples looking for a romantic vacation, not those looking to party all night, and that was perfect for us. We met several other honeymooners and really enjoyed the tranquil and relaxing setting.

We barely wanted to leave the resort because it was so wonderful, but I would definitely recommend taking the Wadadli Cats catamaran cruise as an excursion. You get to circumnavigate the whole island and see a bunch of the main sights (like Devil's Bridge and Nelson's Dockyard) and they also take you snorkeling and provide a traditional Antiguan lunch. The captain and crew are very entertaining and it makes for a very fun day.

The weather was also wonderful. June is the beginning of the rainy season, and on most days, there was a very brief rain shower in the afternoon (15-20 min), but this usually happened right around the time that we were leaving the beach for a little nap before dinner, so it never bothered us. The rest of the time we had sunshine and blue skies.

We will definitely be back in the near future!

Room Tip: Premium Waterfront Suites have the best locations, the newest bathrooms and amenities, and are definitely worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank castba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here from 11/17 - 11/24 for our honeymoon and could not have dreamed up a more perfect place. I read many reviews before booking and let me just say, they truly deliver on everything you'll read. The pictures do not even do it justice just how beautiful the resort is.

We stayed in one of the newly built premium waterfront suites (Warri, to be exact) which was very private and included the infinity plunge pool, outdoor bathtub, hammock, A/C, and even Nespresso capsules which delighted my espresso-addicted wife. Some little touches that made it extra special: they give you rum punch and cold towels as soon as you arrive; hibiscus and champagne waiting in our room upon arrival; one night we came back from dinner to be surprised with flower pedals and candles in our room; and on the final day they left us with a sweet note along with some coconut and of course, rum punch.

To do: we were here 1 week and planned 2 all-day excursions.. the Wadadli Cats Circumnavigation which picks you up right from cocobay's beach, and the Island Jeep Safari + Stingray City tour. Both were well worth the price and on both excursions (~6hrs) you are well fed with food and rum punch. We also took a tour with Vaughn the Medicine Man around nearby Bolans village (~2hrs). Doing these 3 tours really gave us an opportunity to see the whole island (by land and sea) and were a lot of fun. If you're staying for only 1 week I would probably not advising booking any more excursions if you're looking to relax and soak in all the beauty that Cocobay has to offer. For us, these 3 things were perfect. We were originally going to do Shirley Heights on Sunday and maybe go into St. John's one day, but we felt we had seen and done plenty and by then just wanted to relax. Oh and on our last day we also booked a couples massage and private beach dinner at the resort as our final pampering before going back to the real world. Well worth it.

(to give you an idea of the quaint private setting vs. other resorts... when the Wadadli sailboat picked us up there were only 4 of us from Cocobay that boarded. when it eventually stopped at Sandals, we loaded up some 30-40 people from that resort alone. to each his own, obviously, but we just kind of glanced at each other as they were piling on board and gave the same non-verbal "Thank God!" look. those other resorts have some excellent entertainment I'm sure, but there is also plenty to do at Cocobay)

Food: the food here really is amazing, and we're self-described "foodies." We live in Philadelphia which has a big Italian-American heritage and great Italian cuisine, and yet I found myself ordering pasta all but 1 or 2 nights because the pasta dishes were THAT good! Portions were just fine and the selection was never dull or repetitive. For lunch there is a buffet upstairs and paninis by the lower bar (we probably would've gotten the paninis had we discovered them earlier in the week. they really hit the spot)

Staff: I almost don't want to mention anyone by name because everyone truly is so pleasant and accommodating. But a shout out to Sasha, Sonia, Craig, TaShawn and Oriel to name a few (Sasha for her bubbly personality, Sonia for her crazy omelet skills, Oriel for whipping up awesome drinks, Craig for making sure I didn't feel awkward for falling off the bar stool the 1st night [[true story!]] and also getting me ice, and TaShawn for always smiling and taking time to talk with us... Everyone who served us for breakfast lunch or dinner were very gracious and fun to talk to. I miss them all already :(

Pointers: book direct through Cocobay's website. you get I think like a 10% discount, plus taxi transfer from the airport is covered, and you can also get the meal upgrades like lobster and such without paying extra. For what it's worth, I only felt the need to take advantage of that once because the regular selections were always so good.

We're already saving up to come back for a future anniversary, hopefully by our 5-year. In summary, this place is like living in a picture-perfect postcard and we would never stay anywhere else when we come back to Antigua

Room Tip: premium waterfront suites are where it's at (Warri cottage)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews