We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relax”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Total relax”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Our trip was our first and we wondered what it would be like after reading some reviews but it was beautiful
The little cottages were neat and basic and I felt a little dark in decor but the bathroom was lovely and bright and showering with the doors open to the view was at first a little strange but I got to love it.
The wooden floors are almost black varnished which I felt was too dark and depressing but as we were not in there long was ok but natural wood floors would look so much nicer.
The absolute pleasure of staying in them was the bed .. A kingsize climb up into it bed with a memory foam mattress that was heaven and with the mozzie net covering it looked like a princess bed and in the morning when you woke you laid in such comfort looking out over the view of the beach you didn't want to get up !
Every drink I had was lovely and I got hooked on piña coladas ... The meals were wonderful with only two I had a problem with but that didn't detract from the rest.
We never went short of drink or food and skipped afternoon tea as we didn't need it.
The one little gift shop is great and wonderful happy ladies in it.
The beach is nice but I found the two other beaches beside it nicer and nobody on them a real paradise.
We would love to return one day to this little gem.
Also take the Pelican trip around the island tour with either Alvin ( as we did. ) or Almond. It was worth every penny and well narrated. A must.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillybean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    499
    146
    60
    60
See reviews for
91
1,810
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Highlights of our stay (returned today) were the food, staff and of course the beach and views. Agreed that free wi-fi for all guests would be good but we managed to get access via the "dongle" without an issue and at the end of the day we didn't go on holiday to Antigua for the wi-fi !
All the staff we came across including the front desk were excellent, very friendly and helpful.
The food was very good and you should consider the price against that charged by similar rated hotels eg Galley Bay (where we have also stayed).
In any resort more money can be spent on improving the place but I can't believe we stayed in the same hotel as the last two reviewers. All I can say is they must have been very unlucky.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

-They have a beautiful venue. The rooms are nice. We had a seaside room with a private pool, which unfortunately never got used becuase it was shaded all day and very cold. The rooms are very open, private enough from the other guests, but no so private if you are sharing the room with anyone. We were situated near the entrance and got all the noise from the workers prepping in the morning and the comers and goers at the hotel. If situated near the bar or the tv room, parties can go well on into the night. Don't plan on sleeping in much as the light comes right in at sunrise, and everyone bustles about starting at about 6am.
-The food is nothing to write home about. They are very much so geared towards europeans and the food reflects this. I found the dinner food to be less than filling or appetizing. The food was very bland all day long (breakfast, lunch and dinner), not terrible or inedible, but nothing exciting. But after paying for the all inclusive, you feel as though you don't need to go out to pay $50/person plus for a meal.
-After being there for a week, we had our daughter join us and was suppose to be moved to a larger (double room) suite. The morning of our move, we were told that they had "inventory problems". They had overbooked, and now it was my problem. As this was Christmas holiday, all the hotels in the area were booked solid, so we had no choice but to take their offer to move to a smaller room than the one we started with, and now we have 3 guests staying rather than 2. I was highly disappointed with the way they handled this.
-They didn't even give us full credit to our account for the lesser room. It would have been nice if they would have offered us more what we deserved, as this is not what we booked. One of the reasons we booked here was so that had the flexibility of the two room suite. No extra consolation was made towards us.
-Add ons are terrible. I would definately try to book things on your own rather than using their services, as they will double any spa/salon service/outing you book with them to make their "service fee". I can understand a 10% service fee but adding $135 to a $25 service is absolutely rediculous!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms farther away from the main entrance are probably better, but then you will have a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Smay922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent Cocobay experience. We are truly sorry to learn that we did not meet all of your expectations and that we have missed an opportunity to make your stay the magical one you expected.

We hope that you would consider returning to Cocobay sometime in the future.

Respectfully,

O'Neal
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Lovely place for a honeymoon. Very chilled out and easy to get into the Caribbean way of life! My only gripe would be that they seem to cater for Americans more than rest of nationalities possibly due to tipping. Also watch out for the room because ours was sole as 'garden view' but looked out over the road!

Great place if you want to get away from it all!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahaywar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in Cocobay in December 2013 and had a wonderful time. The resort is exactly as expected, the staff are incredibly friendly and the views are simply stunning (being able to shower in privacy whilst looking out on to an aqua sea is pretty magical!)
There was an issue with sand flies while we stayed here, however this is not a fault of the resort, who were doing what they could to treat the issue (we could simply have stayed away form the beach and lower pool if we desired.)
Our only gripe with the resort was the food... As Londoners who regularly eat a wide variety of cuisines, we were incredibly excited to experience authentic Caribbean food at its best. Unfortunately we were very disappointed.
Breakfast was adequate, if a little unimaginative (none of the in-season fresh pineapple we were expecting from the island), and there was always a large queue for the eggs, but being in the 'laid back' mood, we could excuse this.
Lunch, unfortunately, was particularly bland. Having had no flavour from any of our food fro a couple of days, I was very excited to see 'Jerk Eggplant' on our third day, however not only did this not taste of Jerk, it tasted of absolutely nothing. There is tilapia fish available every day, but this is fried, making it both greasy and tasteless - far from the fresh, vibrant flavours we were expecting from the Caribbean! We ended up having to add hot sauce to a lot of food to try and inject some flavour, however this too was not up to scratch!
The Thursday buffet evening had been hyped up, but again the food tasted of very little, and we remained disappointed and hungry for flavour!
Dinner portions were, whilst pleasantly presented, very small, and also lacked any flavour.

We had two delightful meals whilst in Antigua, and one was the surprise 'Beach dinner' my partner had organised for my birthday. Having paid extra, we had steak and lobster served to us on the beach. Both meals were beautiful and the brilliant service and idyllic, private setting made it a perfect evening.

Our other great meal was at Dennis's restaurant, down the other end of the beach. We ended our trip with extra spicy creole chicken and curried goat, wonderfully flavoured, delightfully authentic and cooked to perfection. Exactly what we'd hoped we'd get all week

It's such a shame that such a beautiful place was so lacking in such a major area! I'm not sure if our European palates are too developed (another British couple we spoke to had the same thoughts as us), or if a mass catering approach is taken to try to vaguely please everyone? Our lasting memory is that we would love to recommend Cocobay to our friends, but as they're all foodies too, we just can't.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCDizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in November. Really excellent from reception to departure. The bungalows are lovely with wonderful sea views. Beds and pillows are so comfortable. The bathroom spacious and so private that you can open the doors to the balcony and shower with the view. On the balcony colourful birds will visit and take food from your hand. There are two lovely beaches to soak up the sun. The sun beds could do with new covers. Mealtimes are leisurely with good to excellent food. Two nights a week a buffet is presented, personally I preferred the served dinners. Wine is a good variety, very drinkable as are all beverages. Staff could not be more helpful they are very well trained and highly motivated in all areas of the hotel. I enjoyed it so much that another booking for next November is already made.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We sent our 20th anniversary at cocobay November 2nd thru the 7th. We could not have planned a better trip. We stayed in the premium waterfront suite (warri). Beautiful views great room worth the a/c. The staff could not do enough for us all you need to do is ask and you got it. Kathleen and kerry from the restaurant was the best, they catered to our every need made us feel special every time we ate there. Saskia, the bartender was great very attentive to our needs our drinks we're already on the bar as we walked up.the pools were so beautiful and relaxing. We highly recommend the catamaran cruise it's a long day but we'll worth it. We met some great couples who made our time there even better. Can't wait to get back next year.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
450 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
812 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,315 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, West Indies, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing