We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and typically Carribean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly and typically Carribean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Not pretentious but wonderfully rustic and full of charm. Not fine dining but very good and with plenty of choice. Wonderful beaches and well looked after pools. Truly would recommend this hotel to good friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are individual and No 53 was all alone and with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,478
    488
    144
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,760
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I always do lots of research before we go away and I had had Cocobay in my sights for some time before we finally got there. And WE LOVED it.

There are tiny things that could be better... But we didn't care. We accept that the things that will annoy one couple won't bother another, so the resort has to make decisions that some folk won't be happy with. But, you know what, we were in the Caribbean, the sun was shining and it was great.

ALL the staff are wonderful...particularly Patrea, Melissa and Phyllis, our girls on reception. They made us smile every day.

If you can't enjoy this resort, you can't enjoy anywhere.

We weren't up for glossy, but we don't like slumming it either, and this the perfect balance...charming is the way I would describe it.

I could go on and on about it, it was just the most wonderful holiday my husband and I have ever had. Focussing on the colour of the floor is shameful and means you spent more time looking down than out at the amazingly fabulous view.

We hired a car, we ate out, we danced at the Mad Mongoose, we did the nature walk (a must, Vaughan is great) and we talked to everyone we met.

I want to go back.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caribbeanfan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Food was excellent, the view from the cottage was unbelievable. It was more magical than anticipated, and the privacy and lack of children on-site can not be overstated. Really easy to get transport to anywhere, private beaches, public beaches, adventure sites, and activities. Fantastic staff. Couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Definitely get something with an unobstructed view of the bay, it's well worth waking up to that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a fabulous time at Cocobay. We travelled as a party of five - four adults and teenager. We stayed in the seaview cottages which were in a lovely position. The food was the best we have encountered at an all inclusive resort. The staff made the holiday special for us - special mentions to Keva at the beach bar, Robert - watersports, Tashawn, Craig and Davern to name but a few. They all went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and attended to our needs. The only let down for us was New Years Eve - there wasn't much atmosphere and although the steel band were good, we had better entertainment during the week - with several very good singers who got everyone up dancing.

The resort is geared towards couples but travelling as an extended family of age range 15 to 73 we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

One word of warning - be aware there is a reef off of the beach and my dad had the misfortune to stand on this and got sea urchin spines in both feet which were very painful - but the staff at the beach bar did their best to try to remove these - along with giving him rum as a painkiller! We found the beach near Dennis's beach bar much better for swimming and it was much quieter - only a five minute walk.

One day we hope to return to Cocobay as its a very special place!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms - have a lovely position and air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
279 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The guest experience at this resort is amazing. From the time we walked into the lobby until we left, we were taken care of like we were part of the resort family.

When we arrived, we were greeted with a cold towel and rum punch. What a great way to start our vacation. Unfortunately our room wasn’t ready, so we went to have lunch. The food wasn’t spectacular, but it was a nice buffet. The seating area was really spectacular with views of the beach all around us.

Once our room was ready, we were escorted to the room, and told about all the amenities. There was even a bottle of champagne in the mini fridge for us. The bathroom had a nice feature where you could open the door and practically feel like you’re showering outside, but it was private so no one could look in. Our cottage had a great view of the ocean, and it was nice to relax on the hammock and fall asleep. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked really well.

The beach is a bit small, so go early to grab a spot. It’s nice that there are different beach nooks, so you can pick an area that suits your mood. The bar was back by the hotel, so getting a drink took a while. There is no waiter service on the beach.

There is also a small pool at the resort that had a bar next to it, so it was nice to relax here.

For dinner, the food is served restaurant style, and there’s a great selection of meals to choose from. You do have to sign up for a time earlier in the day.

The best thing about this place is that you can party with everyone, including the staff. The rum punch is one of the best I’ve had in the Caribbean, so watch out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

From the moment we arrived it was obvious that this was going to be exceptional. The reception staff were outstanding. I had problems with the charger for my laptop. It was fixed the same day by Sherlock in maintenance. Nothing was to much trouble. The staff all seemed to know our names by the second day, what we liked to drink and where we liked to sit. Food good. Rooms wonderful. Not primped and perfect but that was their charm. Although the hotel was full it did not seem so. Always sunbeds available. I had deluxe seafront with pool. Room 1. Right by reception and all the facilities. Very quiet. Pool very cold. It only had the sun for a short period in the morning. I didn't use it much but was nice to sit and read with your toes in the water. The view and the outlook were superb. I would certainly return. This was my 8th or 9th trip to Antigua and this would be my favourite hotel. Restaurant and bar staff attentive and charming. Although I was with friends I was in a room by myself and felt 100% safe. Bed supremely comfortable. The rooms do make odd plumbing noises and the odd coconut may fall onto your roof at night but all part of the charm. A well managed property and the staff seemed to genuinely enjoy their work. It shows. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 1 excellent.However not much sun in the day. Room 12 right at the far end - quite a walk. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This place was absolutely amazing, exactly what we were hoping for!

First, the room: We went for the Oceanfront unit with plunge pool and slipper tub. The pool was a bit chilly for me but my husband used it every day. I enjoyed the slipper tub several times. We never used the air conditioning but enjoyed the netting over our bed so we could keep our french doors open and listen to the wind and the sea. Absolute Heaven!

The staff was as amazing as you may have read in other reviews. Everyone was so kind and helpful and responsive. The meals were great! Breakfast was basically the same each day but with a variety of nice options and eggs and omelets made to order. Lunch included a nice variety each day. Be sure to take advantage of the "Panini of the Day" at the lower pool bar. That was a wonderful option for us. They were all delicious. Dinner was fabulous! Portions are smaller, as they really should be, but we never left hungry. Try the soups each day..they are all amazing! The bars had basic drink options but no high end liquors. That was our only disappointment. But there were certainly enough choices to enjoy. Their house wines are nice wines from Chile.

There are 3 beaches within walking distance, all lovely. We swam in the ocean every day. Many times we were poolside with only a handful of people, sometimes we had the pool to ourselves. If you want the activity of Sandels, this isn't your place, but if you want a truely beautiful, quality, tranquil setting where you can be pampered and relax and enjoy the beauty around you then go for it. You won't be disappointed. I am a very young 50 years old and my husband is 54 and we both loved this place. We loved having no TV in the rooms! Internet is very sketchy so don't plan on using it much. It truly is a vacation destination!

We also highly recommend a sail on the Jabberwocky which can be booked right at the hotel. Nick and Kay own the boat and have taken guests sailing for 7 years. They are a delightful couple from England. We took the sunset sail with another couple from Coco Bay and enjoyed Champagne and canapes and great conversation.

We will be returning to Coco Bay next year, without a doubt. Loved it more than any other Carribean trip I have taken. As a former travel agent, that is saying a lot!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing