We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful location”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful location”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a very relaxing 2 week stay at Cocobay (8th – 21st March). We chose the hotel after reading several reviews as we felt it would provide us with everything we were looking for in this particular holiday. For us, a smaller hotel with views, a nice beach and pool area, a cottage style room with views, a good food offering and a quiet environment was all we needed and the hotel did deliver for us. We stayed in Cottage 3 which was a Sea Front Pool Cottage with lovely views. We enjoyed waking up to see the sun rise from our very comfy bed each morning and found the facilities were ideal. Basically the more non-corporate the room, the better as far as we were concerned, so this room really worked for us even with its slightly odd storage set up and basic indoor/outdoor shower. We loved wandering around the resort gardens and really enjoyed the beach, pool and bar areas. Everywhere was peaceful and the guests were all very friendly and respectful of each other which we liked a lot.

We certainly agree that most of the staff were great. Much of the time we sat with Cherill for Breakfast and Lunch. She is terrific, a real professional and a lovely person who always manages her area very well. Not all of the staff were quite as good. No doubt every hotel has issues like this but maybe the team would benefit from a bit more supervision and a more consistent ‘order’ of service so that guests understand how things are intended to flow. We loved the restaurant layout and the food was pretty good most of the time. We particularly enjoyed the lunches - fresh and interesting every day. Eating breakfast and lunch meant that we were never too hungry in the evening so we found the portions to be more than adequate. Not every choice we made worked for us but most dishes were interesting and we definitely preferred not having to run off to a buffet. In fact the only food we didn’t like was the Thursday night Caribbean Buffet – the food quality really went downhill on that night. The quality of the house wine was good enough so we never needed to pay more and overall we had a really good bar service from some lively bar staff. At the beach bar we enjoyed being entertained by Davern and in any capacity Sasha kept us amused.

There are many, many great things about the resort and we are really pleased we chose to visit. We left in such a relaxed state, we slept for most of the flight and still felt chilled out when we got home. I doubt we’ll return as, for us, the build up to a holiday - the research and planning - is a big part of what we enjoy so we'll be looking for another new experience. We do however have no hesitation in saying thank you to the Cocobay team for looking after us. We had a really great holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandSDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    501
    147
    60
    60
See reviews for
91
1,821
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I can't say enough about how amazing and unforgettable our experience was at Cocobay. If you are looking for a more intimate and romantic all inclusive where you can relax, this is definitely the place to go. From the minute my boyfriend and I arrived, the staff was extremely accommodating and went out of their way to make sure we were having the best experience possible. We were greeted with cold towels and rum punch and were surprised with several unexpected perks, including a room upgrade for the first night, food upgrades for no additional charge and a bottle of rum, champagne and wine in the room. Both rooms were gorgeous and had spectacular views. I booked a deluxe pool cottage, which was definitely worth it because the views alone were breathtaking. We were in OL so it was very private as well. Rooms are very clean with views from all angles. Beaches are gorgeous and well maintained. Both infinity pools have stunning views and ample seating. All meals were delicious. Breakfast and lunch are both buffet style and offer many options including an egg station at breakfast and fresh fish everyday for lunch. The dinner menu changes every night but always offers a good selection of appetizers and entrees. I truly cannot compliment the staff enough because they always went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We took advantage of the kayaks and snorkeling at the resort, which are free. We also paid $50 for 30 min on a jet ski, which was so fun!

Overall, I highly recommend this resort if you're looking to relax and unwind. One thing I would recommend is to book directly through Cocobay because you seem to get better perks. Additionally, it is worth paying the extra money for a better room - not only because the rooms and views are gorgeous, but again you seem to get better perks.

I'd definitely go back to Cocobay in the future because it really was an amazing experience!!!

Room Tip: Recommend going with at least the deluxe pool cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just returned from a perfect holiday in paradise celebrating our Silver Wedding anniversary. 10 days at Cocobay was everything we had hoped it would be and more although I would have loved to have stayed for longer! It was a beautiful location and setting; our cottage, suite 34 had a stunning sea view and was not overlooked by any other cottage. It was so quiet and we did not feel like we were staying in a hotel at all, as it did not have neighbours that you were aware of at any time. You won't find glitz, glamour and gold taps here thankfully, as that is not what this gorgeous island is all about. You need to go somewhere else if luxurious trimmings are your thing! We loved sitting on our deck in the early evenings watching the hummingbirds and wildlife and nesting birds. The sounds all around are exquisite and are definitely a wonderful part of life here. The sunsets were stunning and views from both infinity pools amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and they all really seemed to want to make your holiday special and stopped to chat and find out how we were getting on. We were greeted everywhere we went with happy smiles and greetings. Service in both of the bars and restaurant was very attentive and the food excellent. I have no idea what some the negative comments previously were about and can only assume that they had not holidayed in Antigua before and maybe should book somewhere else next time as they completely missed the point of this beautiful and charming island and more specifically this wonderful resort. The food in the restaurant was very good- a wide range of salads and freshly cooked fish and meat at lunchtime and then an Al a carte menu in the evenings with 3 choices for each course. It was beautifully presented and delicious. I couldn't be bothered to queue for eggs and omelettes in the mornings at breakfast and was very content with all the other hot choices and wonderful fresh fruit, but my husband was more than happy to wait for his freshly cooked omelette or eggs and joined the queue every morning! The beach has lots of sunbeds and umbrellas and trees for shade, but it is necessary to get there earlyish. Snorkelling was possible from the resort but for really stunning coral reefs and fish , it's a good idea to take a trip. We went out with Creole Cruises for their lobster lunch trip which was lovely, with several snorkelling stops and also a lobster lunch on Bird island cooked on the beach. Delicious! It was great fun and well worth doing and only a small group of 9 when we did it. Driving in Antigua is very easy and most cars seem to come with sat nav, so not a problem navigating this wonderful little island. Lots to see and do and so many stunning beaches to explore. I think I can honestly say that this was one of the best holidays we have ever had and are definitely planning to go back to Antigua and would definitely stay at Cocobay.

Room Tip: Definitely book a seaview room if poss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmajwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I can't say enough about how wonderful our vacation was at Cocobay; the comfortable, relaxing room with the wonderful view, the delicious food including the breakfast omelette bar, the relaxing beach, and friendly, competent staff - and they kept surprising us with extra, unexpected niceties. When we arrived, there was a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room, then the porter who had brought our bags came back to our room to bring us a bottle of Antiguan rum and a snack. One night we returned from dinner to find flower petals strewn all over the floor of our room, interspersed with a dozen electric candles to complete the romantic setting. And everyone - everyone! - on the staff was friendly and attentive. It was so outstanding that we even tried to cancel our plans to stay at another resort on the island for the second half of our vacation and stay at Cocobay for the duration of our visit, but all of their rooms were booked. While we were waiting at the airport for our flight home we started making our plans to return. I can't wait!

Room Tip: Splurge for the cabin with the premium view - definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you are looking for a vacation where you can really get away from everything and truly relax, this is the perfect place to go. The beaches, the pools, the views - everything - was breathtaking, and the staff were singularly focused on making sure we had a great stay and would return again. Although not luxurious, our rooms was comfortable and had the basic modern conveniences (air conditioner, etc.). What it lacked in luxury was more than made up for with the amazing view, the privacy and the personal terrace and plunge pool (courtesy of the upgrade we received) that was simply incredible. We loved the resort and would recommend it highly for those looking less for action and adventure and more for relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EQP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent 2 nights in a Seaview Cottage with plunge pool upon our arrival in Antigua for the first time. Very friendly staff immediately made us feel special and welcome and informed us of upgrade to a cottage with pool. My wife & I were sharing the cottage with our adult son, and while sleeping quarters were a bit tight, it was excellent all around.
Many Brits, Canadians, Europeans throughout - the resort was full during our stay. A variety of pools, a good stretch of beach, very relaxed and adults only. [We were chartering a boat for cruising and on while a visit to the Jolly Harbor Marina stopped by the JH Resort gift shop and were totally put off by the (American) family groups over-running that place - totally appreciated our quieter, far more refined atmosphere at Cocobay.]
3 minor downsides:
- Dinner entrees included were not so numerous and the beef was shoe leather one night. The "supplemental" entrees looked good though. Otherwise all food was fine, included wine was good; Breakfast was great with omelets/eggs to order, etc., and lunch was fine and varied to suit most tastes.
- Beach chairs ran out quickly - if slow to claim them in the morning - but beach itself was lovely.
- One evening an employee went by our cottage with a pesticide smoke treatment - noisy and very smelly for a bit, and with no warning. Staff should have given us a heads up - not pleasant to be in the plunge pool coughing insecticide smoke. Upside: no bug issues whatsoever.

The rooms & amenities described by other reviewers sound right on - our AC worked well when needed and nice breeze kept everything comfortable otherwise. All in all a really GREAT place to be for R&R, and seemed perfect for couples looking for a quiet, well-maintained, unpretentious, no-kids get away spot. Kudos to management and staff for making our first visit so enjoyable and easy!

Room Tip: Our Seaview (Room 02) faced north and had nice view over bay - with just trees and a cottage roof in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEHSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Such a great resort, amenities, and a staff that had completely impressed me. I went to this resort for downtime and relaxation--as a single person, I didn't know what to expect being surrounded by all couples. Guests were from all over the world, were so kind, fun to be around, and I never felt lonesome. Booking late, I had to switch rooms four times, but I actually loved doing it! I got to experience the best room offered, and my other three rooms were also fantastic. Benefit for booking directly with Cocobay vs. travel agent--perks--mini-bar stocked daily, food upgrades for no additional charge--so worth it!
I had zero mosquito issues and I gladly shared my insect repellant with the Brits who were getting some bites --but not in the rooms! I rarely repeat resorts, but if given the chance, I would gladly visit Cocobay again. Hopefully, with a date the next time!

Special thanks to all of the staff---Mr. Gore, Keva, Duane, Cicely, Kerry Lynn, and Cheryl - thank you for taking such good care of me! I hope our paths will cross again soon!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly. They will help. Best room: Chantel House (premium waterfront ) Pepp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,859 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
457 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
818 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,332 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing