We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Wonderful resort. The service was top notch! The grounds and accommodations were lovely, very relaxed atmosphere, and good food. I really enjoyed this trip and rate it as one of my favorites! In the morning we would hit the beach and in the afternoon we'd be in the pool with drinks. It was my first all inclusive vacation and I loved it! The staff was so attentive and truly nice. Our cottage, although nothing fancy, was clean and had had a nice view. The last night we were surprised to find candles and flower petals scattered across the floor. Very nice touch! I definitely would love to go back.

Room Tip: Our cottage was a little hike (#41) but had a nice view and was a good value. There are cottages clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aguacaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 2,365 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed from 22nd March to 5th April to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and my husband's 60th birthday. We can honestly say it was the best holiday we have had. The resort is lovely and the beach and sea amazing but what made the holiday were the staff and wonderful food. The breakfast and lunch buffets were excellent but the evening meals were fine dining every night. We did eat at Sheer Rocks in the second week when it was buffet night and the food here was also amazing if somewhat over priced but you are paying for the atmosphere and it was lovely and relaxing. We would highly recommend and couldn't believe how many people were repeat visitors. Amazing memories.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saraje34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My new husband and I came to Cocobay for our honeymoon. They greeting us with delicious cocktails at checking. Then they had champagne waiting in our cottage. Late after dinner they had wine in the room when we got back. Then the next night they placed another drink, candles and flowers all over the cottage. Not to mention the inclusive breakfast, lunch, tea time and dinner... Oh and the amazing unlimited drinks! Even though this place is stunning it's the staff that really makes your stay great! Tamika (the asst manager) was the best, Phyillis and Patriea at the front desk were so sweet and kind! Sass at the bar was wonderful!!! Blaine and the young ladies at the restaurant (and the gentleman with the long dreads) were very nice and accommodating. Thank you all so much for help! We loved staying with you!
We recommend cottage 12, it's secluded with a great full sea view!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abrownperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you pick one place to holiday in Antigua this has to be the place. Amazing beaches, beautifully understated stylish accommodation (don't understand the negative reviews), super friendly staff - particular mention to Vincia, Oriel and the receptionist who helped out with the lost key, sorry I forgot her name but she was great. The food was far better than expected and was really tasty. Also, how could I forget Mr Gore ... and the rest of the staff, all so friendly and helpful. One point to note if you book through British Airways you don't get the mini bar service and also don't use the canoe with the room key in your pocket it will cost you $150 if you get wiped out by a big wave! The piña coladas curtesy of Oriel are far too good!! All in all a fantastic holiday and hope to go back there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a wonderful nine days at CocoBay. The beauty of the location never lost its power to amaze us. The sea was even lovelier than any brochure picture suggested, the food was imaginative and consistently delicious, the staff were wonderful and we long to return.

Room Tip: The hum of the osmosis plant is annoying so try and ask for a room on the other side of the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We traveled with Virgin, middle of Feb , private transfers.
I've waited a little while to write this review and on reflection we had a great time.

Other reviewers have waxed lyrical about the whole experience but I think the reality ,like all holidays, is that there are good points about Cocobay and some negatives.

On the whole the staff are very good (e.g. Sonya at breakfast , Phyllis on the front desk and Mr G/Christoph in the main restaurant) but there were one or two who were not quite as good (e.g some bar staff in the evenings, when I ask for a cocktail off the menu I don't expect to be told bluntly 'no -----' ---- = whatever ingredient they didn't have).

Some reviewers have mentioned room upgrades , gifts from the manager, candles, rum and flower petals on the last night etc. We did not see any of that, guess it depends on how often you have visited, how you book, who you book with etc. Just don't expect it as standard!

Having said that our room was fine, bed and bed linen were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was ready for an update but was clean. We could hear the constant drone from the Osmosis plant from our room, but slept soundly.
The unsung heroes are the garden staff, the grounds are truly stunning and they work hard to make them that way, the staff we saw always said hello.
Food-sometimes a bit of a wait at breakfast for eggs, but Sonya was like a ray of sunshine first thing despite being so busy. We ate in the main restaurant at lunchtime-always a good selection of fish, meat salad etc.
Dinner - generally very good. On one night service was very slow and we had to send the main course back as it was lukewarm at best. If we were to visit again we would avoid the managers cocktail night. Greeted with a free cocktail in an all inclusive and then a fashion show , selected local businesses advertising their wares and a buffet rather than than the usual menu service. In all honesty the buffet was not great, limited selection and poorly prepared. We heard lots of moans!

The views are really picture postcard, 3 stunning beaches within easy walk.
Excursions - the taxi staff operating from Cocobay were excellent. We went to St Johns (ok for an hour or two but basically just a bunch of shops catering for cruise ship passengers so a bit manic - imagine 50 different reps offering you excursions within 50 feet) and the Island Circumnavigation - good but don't expect a superb snorkelling experience.
Food and drink good though. Sandals guests seemed to get a good deal, picked up on beach by resort and dropped off at end of cruise, we went past St Johns to drop them off and then went back to drop off everybody else!

Entertainment - low key but good quality. Ebonites were v.good as as were band with female vocalist (sorry can't remember name).

So, on the whole some very good staff, some great food, great beaches and scenery but room for improvement.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank newford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

All I can say is, we will be back next year, and for probably several years to come. Cocobay is the perfect combination of what we were looking for. Absolutely gorgeous grounds, panoramic breath taking views, and a warm, wonderful staff that absolutely cannot do enough for you. Patrea in reception, Robert in beach concession, and Davern (who was everywhere!) were only a few of our favorites. O'Neal the manager could not have been better to us, and was always accessible. We booked through the hotel and were constantly surprised with lovely perks and upgrades. My husband is a skilled hobie sailor and we took many great sails. We met the loveliest couple from the UK. Before week's end we were sailing & dining together, and had great laughs over rum drinks on the beach! We thought the food was delicious, more than we needed. The cottages are lovely, private, and the beds SO comfortable. Dena in housekeeping did a wonderful job every day. The views and grounds are beyond beautiful. It was so relaxing it still resonates with me a week later. We brought repellent stick and wipes (Deet 30), only put it on our ankles for dinner, and we were fine. The only time we got bit was when we left the resort & went into town. Thank you to everyone at Cocobay. You will see us for sure next March!

Room Tip: Definitely at least a sea view or sea front with plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,927 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
504 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 8 in Saint Mary's
1,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
863 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: £311 - £665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, West Indies, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing