We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited Cocobay for a 7-day honeymoon, and it was absolutely everything we wanted in a honeymoon trip. We had a Seaview pool room (Sugar Apple), which had a great view and perfect privacy in the pool and shower. Our goals for the week were to relax, spend as much time in the water as possible, read, and not plan or organize anything, and Cocobay was the perfect place for all of these goals. Our plunge pool had shade from about 2pm onward, so we would spend the morning on the beach and the afternoon in the private pool (one of the main reasons I would upgrade to a premium pool suite next time would be to get a fully shaded pool--I want to spend all day in the water without risking sunburn). We were never disappointed with the food in the restaurant (we did dine at Sheer Rocks on Thursday and Saturday nights, so we only had the normal seated dinner at the resort and didn't experience the BBQ). We loved how small the resort was and the personal service from the staff! We only left the resort once in the 7 days we were there, for a 3-hour reef rider excursion from Jolly Harbor with West Coast Tours. The tour was great, snorkeling and driving the boats, but we were very happy to relax at Cocobay for the rest of our trip! I read tons of reviews before booking our honeymoon, and can definitely say that Cocobay is the best possible resort if you're looking for the private villa/plunge pool experience in the Caribbean (hands down the best value for a room with a plunge pool). The service was amazing too, and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Plunge pool rooms definitely worth it if you like to spend a lot of time in the water, and they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitlinSumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    488
    144
    59
    59
See reviews for
91
1,759
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Cocobay. And what can I say, I read plenty of reviews for this before we booked up and all I can say is peoples expectations are all very different.This was our first trip to the Caribbean and certainly didn't disappoint, The beach, the sea, the location, the staff and so much more made this a memorable holiday, we traveled with another couple and we were given cottages number 38 and 39, both of which had an excellent sea view, the cottages are set in amongst beautifully planted gardens and have a large balcony area, sea view and upwards cottages have air conditioning. Breakfast and lunch are served as a buffet, while dinner in the evening is a four course meal with waiter service, you do have to book a time each day for this but on our first morning we made a block booking for 7.30 every evening and this worked well for us with time for a little apperatiffe in the bar before hand. All the staff looked after us very well, and i would like to mention Melissa in reception, who welcomed us on our arrival with cool towels and rum punch, Mr Gore who always showed us to our table for dinner, Sasha, Sonia and her wonderful eggs, and Pssst, Cheril I hope you read this, thank you for the wonderful service you gave us, even if we did confuse you by changing seats each day to take in the views from all angles. We would like to return to the Caribbean, and we would certainly consider returning to Cocobay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms only have a ceiling fan so do the upgrades of your choice if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screener10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a very nice relaxing week at Cocobay in April. Great weather, good food and drink, friendly staff, and views to die for from the restaurant, poolside and beach. We took a boat trip around the island one day, which allowed us to glimpse other resorts as we picked up passengers from the beaches - I would say that Cocobay compares very favourably at first sight with the others we saw. on another day we rented a car and drove around much of the island which gave us a sense of the 'real' Antigua. The other five days were spent by the poolside on the comfortable loungers, only stirring for the short walk to the bar for a cocktail - most agreeable!

Our only complaint was with our room's situation. We had booked and paid for a sea view room 10 months before our trip, and although room 54 was clean, comfortable and spacious, it most certainly did not have a sea view. When we pointed this out on the Saturday we arrived we were told to speak to the manager, who was not on duty until next day. On Sunday she told us that she could not move us until Wednesday, and on Wednesday she told us it would be Thursday. We finally got our sea view room (room 42) on Thursday, so we had it for 2 days out of 7. The on-site Virgin rep was unable to help us, but since our return home Virgin Holidays has compensated us for the problem.

Interestingly in the 2015 brochure for Cocobay 'sea view' rooms have been renamed 'deluxe' rooms, so presumably ours is not the first complaint Virgin has received. This rebranding will solve that problem.

Bob M

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I am extremely late in writing this review but it is in no way a reflection on the holiday we had.

We stayed in September 2013 and at first I was worried we may have booked at the wrong time of year given the weather reports. But we arrived to glorious sunshine, which apart from the odd shower here and there (which was much needed in the heat), we enjoyed lovely weather the entire week.

On arrival we stepped into reception and could see crystal clear, turquoise seas through the opening and I almost jumped for joy, it looked as though we'd arrived in paradise. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and seemed to enjoy their jobs, which I always think makes for a nice impression.

We stayed in a sea view cottage (without plunge pool) and although it was basic, it was perfect for what we needed. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and we had fantastic views from the balcony. The aircon helped during the night but whilst we were getting ready to go out, we had to stand directly underneath it to feel the cold, but I can't see how they could do anything to change that.

The food was very good, always something new to choose on the dinner menu and although we didn't get to eat at the sheer rocks restaurant (closed during september) the views from the main restaurant were amazing.

We stayed by the top pool most of the time, as the lower pool always seemed a bit noisy, but this was fine as again, the views were incredible and we were very close to the bar to make the most of the all inclusive drinks.

We wondered over to the long beach a couple of times, and went through the water rather than the back route which was fun. It was always very quiet here which was nice.

The only tiny downside to this resort (or island) is that there's not much to do. We thought the excursions were a little expensive and as we were only there for a week and happy to relax, we didn't venture out on any of them. But, if you're just looking for a place to relax, read, eat, drink and swim then this is definitely the place to go.

We had just got engaged before we arrived, so it was especially romantic for us, but I think whether you're on a honeymoon or just a romantic break away, we would 100% recommend Cocobay Resort and will look back at our holiday with very fond memories.

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend a seaview with aircon but we didn't miss the plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We would recommend this resort to everyone, my partner and I stayed there for 2 weeks from April 30th to 13th May 2014. The location and views are to die for and the sunrise and sunset were beautiful.
The food was very good and there were a lot of choices for breakfast especially Sonia omelettes etc. the lunch time menu was very varied and never had nothing twice on the menu in the fortnight we were there. The Al La Carte evening menu was very good as well and again varied.
The staff were very pleasant especially, Mr Gore, Kerry, Jetmaine, Kathleen, Sasha, Saskia and many more.
We went out for a day with Almond of Pelican Tours (Nice Man) he was a lovely man and made our day out with him very memorable so if you ever go to the island I would recommend him to take you on a tour. He made you feel very special and so much at home. He was so kind to me and bought me a black pineapple as I had not tasted one while I was on the island and once I had mentioned he stopped and bought me one and what a lovely very sweet pineapple it was as well..
I would return again but I do think that they need more W/C as there are not enough and there are always queues. Plus there should be more variety of beers and other drinks and as it is All Inclusive there should be a free mini bar for your stay and water as well.
Margaret & Dave x

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was a sea view cottage with plunge pool and it did not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

First time to the Caribbean and all I can say is wow, the Coco bay resort is perfect, you can't ask any more of a hotel.
The hotel the setting, the staff all excellent. Food was out of this world.
The staff were so attentive

Room Tip: Up grade to sea view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were so excited by all the reviews of Cocobay but were deflated during our 10 night stay.

The hotels location is lovey, and we did enjoy our holiday but with just a few changes it could have been so much better

Some of the staff are great, some don't look like they have smiled in years! And can be quite rude
The food is nice, but as others have said the choice during breakfast & lunch is fairly limited - but we enjoyed mostly of what we ate. The dinners are nice, and never struggled to pick something. We visited the sheer rocks restaurant twice during our stay, one night so we didn't have to go to another managers party!
I would have expected complimentary bottles of water at an all inclusive throughout our stay
The beach was a big issue for me - The lake/lagoon that some people have mentioned really gave off a disgusting smell that we gave up and retreated to the pool. We asked how to walk to the longer beach that you can see from the resort, and she wasn't very helpful so we didn't bother
The 'entertainment' in the evenings was ok, but during our 10 nights only 3 evenings had something on (not including the manager cocktail party) otherwise after dinner all there is to do is drink and enjoy each others company. Maybe there were others things, but because there is no welcome pack we weren't aware.
The rooms are basic, which is fine but a washing line would have been appreciated to air and dry anything. Take an eye mask if you sleep lightly due to now black out curtains, and ear plugs if you can't sleep through the fridge and toilet noises through the night.
The lighting in the bathrooms are rubbish, and hold your breath if you want to use the public toilets! These really need cleaning more often and maybe stick an air freshener in there

Our main aim from the holiday was to relax, and see Antigua which we achieved. Would go back to the island but not to Cocobay unfortunately. We enjoyed it, but have enjoyed cheaper holidays elsewhere

Room Tip: Avoid Room 30 - had no sea view and the fridge is abnormally loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susansunseeker987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are truly sorry to learn of your dissapointments after reading positive reviews and eventually choosing to stay with us. As Resort Manager, please accept our apologies for not meeting all of your expectations and I wish to reassure you that we are certainly commiitted to ensuring that we continously work towards making our product and guests' experience better.

Your review was useful and thank you for taking the time to share feedback.


Respectfully,

O'Neal
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
9.0 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.6 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
4.7 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua, Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing