We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Victory Villas Antigua(Bolans)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Wild Lotus Antigua(Bolans)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$493
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Galley Bay Resort & Spa(Five Islands Village)(Great Value!)
US$531
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,503)
Filter reviews
2,503 results
Traveller rating
1,677
543
162
60
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,677
543
162
60
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr gorethe cottagescoco bayplunge poolbreakfast and lunchwaterfront suitesheer rockslower pooldeluxe cottagerum punchour honeymoonpaninislobstersea viewplantation housemosquito netbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,874 - 1,879 of 2,503 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Having booked our dream holiday at cocobay we looked forward to great service, happy staff, a clean hotel-cabin and a safe secure hotel. OH MY GOD, how wrong can one be! I do not have enough time to explain all the faults and problems we encountered at cocobay.Here is a brief synopsis.......
* Unhelpful, terse and ignorant staff(apart from Oriel)
* Fleas in the bed
* Total lack of security i.e. Following and DURING hurricane Omar, NO staff on site, NO telephones, 500 yds. from Cocosbeach resort, where English couple were shot in July.
You are not safe in this resort!
Sheer restaurant...... CLOSED
* Do NOT book any excursions from the beach as we were ripped off for 90 dollars for a riding trip that failed to matierialise (Sean) We waited for an hour... He didn't show!
* Having to wait 45 mins to be served at the bar some eves. 1 barman to serve the entire resort (Oriel was efficient but hugely overworked)
* Failure to provide beach towels on a daily basis
* None of the watersports allegedly available were forthcoming....
* No drinks available on the beach during our entire 2nd week
All in all, there was a general feeling of total disappointment amongst the guests.

Stayed: October 2008
10  Thank crapholWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

We stayed at the beautiful cocobay resort at the end of september and celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary there. The hotels location is outstanding, the service we received was nothing short of first class. The food was wonderful, don't believe those who write that its rubbish it was delicious and plentiful. You started the day with a buffet breakfast with a wonderful choice. Lunch was also buffet and again a very wide choice was available. Afternoon tea is available if you can drag yourself away from the gorgous deserted beach. Dinner was amazing, waiter service and lovely presentation. Kenroy the restaurant manager is a lovely chap and very accommadating to requests. The reception staff were extremely helpful especially Leondred, who personally brought us fresh towels down to the beach when they turned up late. The cottages are very pretty and have delightful views from the balconies. Watch out for the humming birds and the little ones that steal your sugar! The swimming pool has an amazing view across the bay, just right for watching the sun go down. The whole resort is clean and the gardens are beautiful and exotic. We can recommend the helicopter trip to Monserratt. It was an amazing experience. The vibrant capital St Johns is also worth a visit. Make sure you take 100% deet mossie spray with you. We also took garlic tablets a week before and it definately helped as we only suffered the odd bite. We fell in love with this place and will be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BartieNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We went with realistic expectations about the resort, we had booked it following a recommendation, we were looking for somewhere not big hotely with great food (no buffet at night!)

First impressions were good, welcoming at reception, although the person showing us to our room didn't offer to help with bags and I am 6 months pregnant! We were in room 42 which is a long way from reception.

We loved the rooms, not luxurious, but balcony and hammock great, bathroom fine, only 2 things which could be improved would be the addition of a mini bar (there is a fridge running but nothing in it- maybe some soft drinks free of charge would be an option? and chargeable food would have come in handy- see later!), and maybe an indoor seat- when you don't want to sit on balcony only option is under mozzie net on bed- no greaat shakes but a seat would just make it nicer..

Food great, absolutely loved dinner, high quality food, presented well, breakfast also good although the same every day so by day 7 a bit repetitive. Lunch not great, didn't seem to be brilliant quality and again a bit repetitive.Kenny (f&b Manager) stood out, he was fantastic, but shame the same couldn't be said for all of the waiters/waitresses some of who were surly and unfriendly, we regularly had to ask for wine/water to be topped up, and despite trying to be friendly and engage in conversation, got nowhere.

The 2(?) beaches at the property are not amazing- one is minute and can hardly be caled a beach, the other is ok, but I've been to much better- I know not Cocobay's fault, but something to think about when choosing to stay here. Pool nice, but lots and lots of sandflies which are vicious! Despite deet everyone we met was bitten to death.

The main issue we had was that there was a tropical storm during our stay, and I have to say I was not impressed with the way this was managed- the hotel didn't tell any existing guests that it was due ( we knew only because we were thinking of hiring a car the following day and the Manager said a tropical storm was approaching so we may want to leave it for a day- he gave no indication of the seriousness of the storm). There was a storm in the evening and I have to say I was really impressed at the fact the staff served dinner in the bar due to the restaurant being flooded, service was the best we had and it went really well. We got the storm overhead early the following morning and it was horrendous. Newspapers reported the worst rain in Antigua since 1970, at one point there were lightning flashes every minute, you could feel the cottage moving in the wind, it was awful. Lightning struck some cottages, some were flooded badly, trees were struck and one fell on a cottage etc.
When it finally calmed down, we made our way to get breakfast and were shocked to find only 1 Security Guard on the property (despite the management knowing the storm was approaching), we were told that staff couldn't get in, and there was no breakfast. Everybody was hungry ~(see earlier comment re mini bar!) and we finally convinced the guy to allow a few of us to make toast for everybody. Staff started coming in at 9, they had horrendous journeys in and were really grateful we had sorted ourselves out. Roads were damaged, but luckily nobody was hurt.
The owners came to check everybody was ok, which was a nice touch, but when we raised the fact that there had been nobody on the property we were assured by the Manager that 5 people had been there- I would like to know where they were....

To be fair, the clear up was amazing staff worked really hard to get everything up and running which was great, but I think there should have been more of a presence during the storm. We spoke to people whose bed had been soaked, they had asked only that the bedding be changed and had stripped the bed ready, When they returned, the dirty, wet bedding had been put back on the bed!!!!

On check out the questionnaire advised we could request a concierge to pick up our luggage which we did, but nobody turned up! We questioned this with reception, she shrugged and advised she'd asked them, again not a biggy but this was an indication of the service we received all week......

The last thing I will say is that the toilets by the bar are disgusting, and really need more regular cleaning, given they are the only option other than your room, this is quite a big deal!!

Overall, this could be a fantastic small hotel, but the staff, the lunches and the toilets let it down. Would I go back to the resort? Absolutely not, and I probably wouldn't return to Antigua. As I said, we went with realistic expectations, we weren't expecting luxury but we did hope to get friendly service and be looked after- we didn't feel we were......We have stayed in a variety of different hotels from backpacker to more luxurious in many places across the world, so we don't expect 5 star luxury however we do expect a ceratin level of service and friendliness and we didn't get either at Cocobay unfortunately...

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruisyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Resort was TERRIBLE, some staff were helpful, Oreil the bartender was the best, you needed to drink alot to make it each day. You had no phones, little communication, no air conditioning in room bugs everywhere, you had to stay under a mosquito net the whole time you were in your room. Before Hurricane Omar, we kept asking about the weather and were told that is was just a tropical wave, just rain "NO WORRIES". There were no papers to read or anything posted of the impending storm. The night of the hurricane the resort was not prepared. The resort had sustained major damage and when it was over, there were no staff members to be found. All guests were left on their own. When the owners/managers did get there, no apologies nothing, all cottages had flooding and some with holes in the roofs were lightning had struck and trees down were one guest was trapped. There were no other accommodations offered. As far as the food, if you are used to eating at scheduled times have at it, because you will not get anything else until 4:00 pm for tea. Best bet is to hit Dennis's next to the resort, wonderful food and great people. Also, you will need to make arrangements on your own to get around the island. The resort was rustic, awful and in need of being updated. NEVER AGAIN will we or tell anyone to go there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sun22002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I know it,s a lot of times going to one place and its not for everyone but my wife and myself just love it at cocobay i won,t write about the food or rooms that,s been done by others just to say six times at the same place cocobay can,t be all bad like some would have you belive we have been going since 2002 and yes their have been changes some good some bad but look at the prices you can get we have just come back, we had 14 days for around £2400 all in, hard to beat i would say a note on the subject of bugs yes they are there but if you take with you 100% deet and 2 wrist bands each, 1 on your wrist 1 on your ankle put deet on your body and onto your wrist bands then in the evening you can top up your deet by rubbing bands onto yourself this will help to keep the bites down (you can get 100% deet from Blacks camping stores) also take a good fly spray ,spray room when you go for dinner at night also tie a shoe to each corner at the bottom of the net over your bed this will keep the mossie net off you in the night. The nice thing about going to the same place is that you build a bond with the staff and most have been their since it opened they treat you like family (look out for Kenroy he,s the one who will show you to your table at night he is really nice) also i find the manager Mr Richards nice and he is very helpfull just treat all the staff nice and they will be more than willing to help you. so to sum up it,s not the ritz but as people have written you know what you are going to get any way we will be back next year in october.So if your going to cocobay all the best have a good time just say Richard & Christine sent you!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank patontheback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews